Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2009, 06:13 PM   #1
Oca
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portugal
Send a message via Skype™ to Oca
eMac won't start!

After shut down or restart, my eMac has a hard time starting-up!!
No sound and one flash every some seconds, OR no sound but five flashes every some seconds.
After several attempts it will start.
Changed the two memories and problem remains.
tested Dimms (2G) but they'r ok.
What's up?? anyone?
Oca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 02:44 AM   #2
hughvane
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
Have you run a hardware test, preferably with the original OS Disk 1?

Which model of eMac do you have? Other than the 1.42 GHz, you may have the infamous eMac capacitor problem.
__________________
G4 eMac 1.25, 2 Gb RAM, OS 10.4.11
G3 iMac 600, 1 Gb RAM, OS 10.3.9
G3 PPC 350 b/w, dual drives, OS 10.3.9, OS 9.2.2
Numerous peripheral gadgets - all working.
hughvane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 05:09 AM   #3
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
very likely the bad cap issue which effected all eMacs with boards produced between end 2003 and end 2004 , most had been fixed under the extended repair scheme by apple in 2006/7 , but not all owners did care or did not even know about the scheme
the bad caps are
easy and cheap fix if you know how to use a small tip soldering iron
and the caps cost around 5 and the emac is running again
if you cant do it yourself look for a small tv repairshop ,who does still repair old crt tv`s .
they might do it for you if you bring the board and wont overcharge you as it takes if you got the board and caps and soldering iron in hand just about 20min to do the job
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Dec 30, 2009 at 05:17 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 03:47 PM   #4
Oca
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portugal
Send a message via Skype™ to Oca
Specs

Sory for not mentioning details:
eMac ATI Graphics, 1MHz.

You may be right! about the capacitors, I've read about it lots of times, but you know it's like diseases! we always think they happen to someone else but......
Any chance Apple still does the service...??
All the best.
Oca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 05:51 PM   #5
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
i dont think apple will repair it under the repair scheme thats too long ago , but
they may repair it . but i dont want to see your repair bill

like i said do it yourself or a tv repair center are your cheapest options
sorry
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 04:51 PM   #6
hughvane
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
do it yourself or a tv repair center are your cheapest options.
MH is right. If you can get the logic board out yourself, an electronics repair place can solder in new capacitors. You can check the condition of about 3 (or is it 5?) of the capacitors just by peering into the eMac via the RAM/battery access hatch. Use a pen torch.

To give you some idea of cost, to get my 1.25 GHz eMac logic board repaired here in NZ (hasn't proved necessary - yet!) would set me back about US$100. A replacement logic board from Apple, with caps already changed, would set you back about US$400 (about 280 euros).

Having said all that, bad caps *usually* result in the eMac seizing or freezing, things just stop working, and the machine does nothing. The fan keeps going, the monitor may keep showing a 'still' of what you were doing, but that's all. There's nothing to do but shut down.
__________________
G4 eMac 1.25, 2 Gb RAM, OS 10.4.11
G3 iMac 600, 1 Gb RAM, OS 10.3.9
G3 PPC 350 b/w, dual drives, OS 10.3.9, OS 9.2.2
Numerous peripheral gadgets - all working.
hughvane is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retail Tiger won't install eMac xtempo PowerPC Macs 13 Mar 29, 2014 08:14 AM
eMac won't reinstall OSX, Pkupman57 PowerPC Macs 1 Mar 24, 2014 03:09 PM
eMac won't boot OS9.2.2 disc nimraynn PowerPC Macs 5 Dec 1, 2013 09:50 PM
Post-spill MBP won't charge new battery, sometimes won't start jchall MacBook Pro 0 Aug 26, 2013 08:10 PM
eMac won't boot, even from original Software Install DVD jrippon PowerPC Macs 5 Sep 6, 2012 03:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC