Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:45 PM   #1
brendu
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
logic board upgrade for sawtooth g4?

so i have a powermac g4 sawtooth that ive done a number of upgrades to, but im wondering... is there a new(er) logic board that will fit into the powermac and possibly be intel compatible?
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:46 PM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
There was never an Intel Mac in that sort of case. So no.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:50 PM   #3
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
i know that, im just curious, would it be possible to fit a modern motherboard into that case? basically turning it into a hackintosh?
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:52 PM   #4
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Not without a lot of work. I'm pretty sure it's been done but those cases (and the Apple logic boards) are not ATX standard so it's not like the screw holes/apertures for ports etc line up.

Edit to add: for example
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 03:10 PM   #5
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
Not without a lot of work. I'm pretty sure it's been done but those cases (and the Apple logic boards) are not ATX standard so it's not like the screw holes/apertures for ports etc line up.

Edit to add: for example
yeah thats what i was wondering... thanks
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 04:01 PM   #6
goMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
The machine is probably done. Any way you look it it, buying a PC or a real Intel Mac is going to be cheaper.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 04:11 PM   #7
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
The machine is probably done. Any way you look it it, buying a PC or a real Intel Mac is going to be cheaper.
yeah your right about that.. really there is no point to it, im not going to, i was more or less just curious
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 04:50 PM   #8
ljonesj
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
i have 2 sawtooth g4 mac cases but they were actually when i looked up there specs the next version of the power mac which if i rember was quicksilver in the blue cases which are sawtooth

both of mine are the 4 slot pci models
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Mac_G4
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250

Last edited by ljonesj; Jan 1, 2010 at 04:56 PM.
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 05:10 PM   #9
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
You can do it but it's a lot of work. If it's a hobby type thing, I say go for it.

You'll need to pick up a new power supply as well, though, as even if you get a 20-pin ATX mobo, the wire configuration is different (I modded an ATX to work with a sawtooth, not a big deal but involved killing a line and splicing another).

Post pics if you decide to go through with it!
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 05:21 PM   #10
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Have a fried with an upgraded 500ghz Powermac G4 to Sonnet 1.8ghz G4 and upgraded video card.

He's very happy.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 05:23 PM   #11
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
Have a fried with an upgraded 500ghz Powermac G4 to Sonnet 1.8ghz G4 and upgraded video card.

He's very happy.
yeah ive upgraded the processor to a sonnet 1.0ghz and a nicer graphics card... the dual core 1.8 is so damn expensive it makes no sense to buy it at all IMO...
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1800 to replace MBP logic board? dmorgan Mac Basics and Help 7 Dec 10, 2011 11:56 PM
Logic Board Upgrade for iBook G3 Dual USB?? FNH15 PowerPC Macs 1 Jun 16, 2011 12:07 AM
Free Logic Board for MBP FSMBP MacBook Pro 15 Feb 12, 2011 08:30 PM
Wireless Problems after Logic Board Replacement machinesleet MacBook Pro 2 Dec 6, 2010 09:37 AM
Logic board replacement for emac g4 katelmesser PowerPC Macs 1 Sep 29, 2008 01:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC