Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:45 PM   #1
brendu
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
logic board upgrade for sawtooth g4?

so i have a powermac g4 sawtooth that ive done a number of upgrades to, but im wondering... is there a new(er) logic board that will fit into the powermac and possibly be intel compatible?
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:46 PM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
There was never an Intel Mac in that sort of case. So no.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:50 PM   #3
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
i know that, im just curious, would it be possible to fit a modern motherboard into that case? basically turning it into a hackintosh?
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 02:52 PM   #4
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Not without a lot of work. I'm pretty sure it's been done but those cases (and the Apple logic boards) are not ATX standard so it's not like the screw holes/apertures for ports etc line up.

Edit to add: for example
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 03:10 PM   #5
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
Not without a lot of work. I'm pretty sure it's been done but those cases (and the Apple logic boards) are not ATX standard so it's not like the screw holes/apertures for ports etc line up.

Edit to add: for example
yeah thats what i was wondering... thanks
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 04:01 PM   #6
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
The machine is probably done. Any way you look it it, buying a PC or a real Intel Mac is going to be cheaper.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 04:11 PM   #7
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
The machine is probably done. Any way you look it it, buying a PC or a real Intel Mac is going to be cheaper.
yeah your right about that.. really there is no point to it, im not going to, i was more or less just curious
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 04:50 PM   #8
ljonesj
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
i have 2 sawtooth g4 mac cases but they were actually when i looked up there specs the next version of the power mac which if i rember was quicksilver in the blue cases which are sawtooth

both of mine are the 4 slot pci models
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Mac_G4
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250

Last edited by ljonesj; Jan 1, 2010 at 04:56 PM.
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 05:10 PM   #9
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
You can do it but it's a lot of work. If it's a hobby type thing, I say go for it.

You'll need to pick up a new power supply as well, though, as even if you get a 20-pin ATX mobo, the wire configuration is different (I modded an ATX to work with a sawtooth, not a big deal but involved killing a line and splicing another).

Post pics if you decide to go through with it!
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 05:21 PM   #10
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Have a fried with an upgraded 500ghz Powermac G4 to Sonnet 1.8ghz G4 and upgraded video card.

He's very happy.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2010, 05:23 PM   #11
brendu
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
Have a fried with an upgraded 500ghz Powermac G4 to Sonnet 1.8ghz G4 and upgraded video card.

He's very happy.
yeah ive upgraded the processor to a sonnet 1.0ghz and a nicer graphics card... the dual core 1.8 is so damn expensive it makes no sense to buy it at all IMO...
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic board upgrade satinsilverem2 MacBook Pro 0 May 5, 2014 11:07 AM
Change logic-board or upgrade to macbook pro logic-board ? sweetmaanu MacBook 5 May 5, 2014 05:18 AM
17" MBP logic board upgrade bill3000 MacBook Pro 5 May 6, 2013 02:08 AM
MacBook logic board upgrade bch mac MacBook 2 Apr 27, 2013 01:48 PM
Swap the logic board in a macbook pro mid 2010 for an early 2011 logic board croma Mac Basics and Help 4 Jan 12, 2013 12:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC