Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2010, 05:38 AM   #1
Egal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
How to get 2560x1600 on external display from MBA?

Hello,

I recently (in December) got an MBA (Model Identifier MBA2,1) 2.13 GHz. According to spec. this device should display 2560x1600 on an external screen.
But I never get to choose this resultion in the display settings. All I get is 2560x800.

Any ideas what could be done to get the MBA to show me all its possible screen resolutions up to and inclusing it's full resolution?
Egal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 05:47 AM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
What external monitor do you have, what resolution does it support, what adapter are you using to connect the display to your MBA?

Do you use this adapter?
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...co=MTA4MzU1ODY

It's needed for 30" monitors.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 05:56 AM   #3
Egal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I use a Matrox TrippleHead2Go set to 2 X 1280x800 @ 60Hz connected through a MiniDisplay Port to DVI (http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...co=MTA4NTYxMDQ).

The screens are two Fujitsu P22W-5 with a native 1680 x 1050 resolution connected both via DVI at the TrippleHead device.
Egal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 06:02 AM   #4
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egal View Post
I use a Matrox TrippleHead2Go set to 2 X 1280x800 @ 60Hz connected through a MiniDisplay Port to DVI (http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...co=MTA4NTYxMDQ).

The screens are two Fujitsu P22W-5 with a native 1680 x 1050 resolution connected both via DVI at the TrippleHead device.
I don't think you can power both screens at their maximum resolution with the MBA, as the maximum resolution is 2560x1600 and not 3360x1050, which you need to fully use the two external monitors' native resolution.

If you want just the 2560x1050 on your external monitors, you need the Dual Link adapter I linked to.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 06:14 AM   #5
Egal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Thank you. I will try that. 2560x1050 would do ok. I always new I would not get full native resolution. Is there any reason as to why the normal Mini Port to DVI does not work?
Egal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 08:55 AM   #6
gnasher729
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egal View Post
I use a Matrox TrippleHead2Go set to 2 X 1280x800 @ 60Hz connected through a MiniDisplay Port to DVI (http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...co=MTA4NTYxMDQ).

The screens are two Fujitsu P22W-5 with a native 1680 x 1050 resolution connected both via DVI at the TrippleHead device.
2 x 1280x800 = 2560x800.

The Matrox TripleHead2Go is set to pretend to the Mac that it is a single display as big as two 1280x800 displays. If you put two of these displays side by side, you get 2560x800 pixels. For 2560x1600 you would need four displays.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2010, 04:21 AM   #7
Egal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I purchased the connector mentioned above and a USB hub. I connected the USB hub and the new cables MiniDisplay Port to the MBA. The new cable also required some UBS connection, that went into the USB hub. Now the new connecter cable got connected through DVI with the Matrox TrippleHead2Go Digital. The Matrix device also got connected through the USB hub - A moshi USB/FireWire hub.

Now I could select 3360x1050 in the device settings for my external display. Immediately afterwards, however, the screens showed a scrambled display of the video output. I was unable to restore a clear screen output by switching to lower resolutions or lower refresh rates (something that often helped me with X11 when I over engineered the config files).

Magically, when I disconnected the Matrox device from the USB hub, waited for like 20sec, and plug it in again I got a nice a crisp 3360x1050 video output - Never knew the MBA would do such a high resolution. Even while my MBA is open (at 1280x800). Nice!

The only issue remaining is that when ever screen resolution is changed I get a scrambled output again and need to reconnect the Matrox device.

Thanks for your hint to the other connector cable!
Egal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Retina 13" two external monitors both 2560x1600, possible? rousya MacBook Pro 9 Sep 26, 2014 04:01 PM
nMP display resolution issue 2560x1600 akrantz Mac Pro 18 Jan 10, 2014 12:58 PM
MBA 11" with HP ZR30w @ 2560x1600 resolution ELYEN01 MacBook Air 4 Dec 16, 2013 12:48 PM
MBA 2013 and 2560x1600/1440 display performance kegler MacBook Air 12 Jun 27, 2013 03:26 PM
Retina MBP two 2560x1600 + one 1920x1200 external displays? TechViking MacBook Pro 4 Jun 13, 2012 12:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC