Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2010, 10:32 AM   #1
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Unity 3D Game engine and Macbook Air (I know it sounds stupid but please read :D )

Hi guys.

I have a macbook pro and will be purchasing a mac pro tower for using Maya, Photoshop, Unity 3D, Corel Painter etc.

Well, a friend of mine finally decided he wanted to work on a game with me but the problem is a lot of my software is mac only so hes going to be taking my macbook pro (that is in my sig) as a loaner while I work on the mac pro.

That leaves me laptopless except for my netbook.

I was looking at the macbook air because its PERFECT for everything I use a laptop for. My only question was if anyone was familiar with the Unity game engine if the macbook air could run it. I would only be doing scripting on the macbook pro and importing already made meshes from my server. The games I make are not graphics intensive by any means so I believe this will work just fine.

Basically my macbook air would be for coding and scripting when I'm away from my desktop. Does anyone use their air for this? I would be getting the max specs on the air.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 09:07 PM   #2
Thunder82
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
I have a buddy that codes on his air and loves it. He doesn't use Unity, so i can't speak for that however. As long as you don't expect quite the same performance from the air as your currently getting from your Pro, I can't imagine you'll have any problems.

You may want to wait until they refresh the airs (hopefully this month) before purchasing one. Many people are hoping they'll bump the ram to 4GB, which will help a ton :-)
Thunder82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2010, 05:01 AM   #3
chrono1081
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Thank you for the response

I too hope the ram is increased and there is a refresh this month. Coding in XCode and internet and email would be mostly what I would use the air for. Scripting in Unity wouldn't be that often because when I'm in Unity usually I have Maya and photoshop open as well and that would be done on my (future) Pro. (I use the mbp in my sig for it now and it works wonderfully).

My laptops are always my "lay in bed and work" machines so power isn't a top priority and I don't need a ton of harddrive space because everything I need would be pulled off of my server. I think the Air is the perfect fit for what I am looking for
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2010, 08:40 AM   #4
Thunder82
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrono1081 View Post
I think the Air is the perfect fit for what I am looking for
I think so too I love the air - certainly not a powerhouse, but it's a great little machine for many tasks.
Thunder82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro and Macbook Air have electricity short? aaps59 MacBook Pro 13 Dec 6, 2012 11:48 PM
Drobo on Macbook Air Shutting Down (?!) turbobass Mac Peripherals 4 Apr 12, 2011 03:32 PM
How to start up a new mac? (I know this sounds stupid, you'll see why though) chrono1081 OS X 10 Mar 28, 2008 11:18 AM
Cut and Paste I know it sounds simple but IChing Mac Basics and Help 0 Nov 12, 2007 09:56 AM
I know this sounds stupid but.... reykjavik Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jan 7, 2005 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC