Help w/iMac g4/ new to forum - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2010, 10:58 AM   #1
stampylisa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: frozen IL tundra
Help w/iMac g4/ new to forum

Hi, I'm new here to this forum. I have an old (2002) iMac g4 powerpc running tiger.
First things first, Is there a way I can load Leopard w/o losing my stuff?

secondly- i am having LOTS of trouble w/my cd drive. It won't read a majority of the discs I try to load, either to iTunes or the digital software I want to load to do scrapbooks/calendars and cards. It gives me a warning that I loaded a blank DVD even though I know it's not blank. it attempts to load onto my friend's MacBook that has Leopard and now Snow Leopard on it, and it loaded just fine onto my work Dell pc. I can't afford a big fix or a new iMac at this time so I'm hoping that if my drive is failing, that I can affordably replace it in this machine.

Is there a guru out there that can help out a newbie?!?

thanks,
Lisa
stampylisa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 11:11 AM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
You can do an upgrade installation of Leopard so everything will stay the the same. How about buying an USB DVD drive? That should work and they cost like 20$
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 11:13 AM   #3
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Your iMac may be a little slow to run Leopard. There are hacks to get around the minimum requirements.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2010, 01:24 PM   #4
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
yes leopard will walk (i avoid calling it running) when you hack a bit , but slow and even leopard is not able to fix a broken drive
and changing the drive is not a big or expensive thing on the iMac lamp
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll: Which iMac is more widely used by forum members, 21.5" or 27"? yjchua95 iMac 24 Nov 12, 2013 08:22 PM
The - "should I be asking my question in the iMac forum" thread (possible sticky) jmpage2 iMac 0 Feb 7, 2013 12:47 PM
Is this forum as up tight as Apple iPad Forum? MIKES3 Site and Forum Feedback 11 Feb 5, 2013 01:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC