How to connect DirecTV DVR to my wireless network - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2010, 05:35 PM   #1
goldfishcracker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
How to connect DirecTV DVR to my wireless network

Hello,

I was hoping someone on here would be able to provide some assistance.

I just had a new DirecTV DVR (model: HR22-100) installed and noticed there was a USB port on the front side of the DVR. I searched online on DirecTV's website and noticed to connect the DVR to the my wireless network I would need to order an $80 Linksys Wireless Adapter. The goal of connecting the DVR to the Internet is to access DirecTV's ON DEMAND service.

Would a USB Wireless Adapter serve the same function? If so, is there a preferrable brand/model I should buy? How would then the Airport recognize the USB adapter (as my network is password protected)? Does anyone have any experience with this? I currently have a Macbook with the latest OS (10.6.2) connected to my Airport connected to my DSL modem.

I am extremely new to adding new devices (especially non-Apple devices) to my wireless network and will appreciate any and all assistance.

Thank you!
goldfishcracker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 06:08 PM   #2
mojohanna
macrumors 6502a
 
mojohanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cleveland
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldfishcracker View Post
Hello,

I was hoping someone on here would be able to provide some assistance.

I just had a new DirecTV DVR (model: HR22-100) installed and noticed there was a USB port on the front side of the DVR. I searched online on DirecTV's website and noticed to connect the DVR to the my wireless network I would need to order an $80 Linksys Wireless Adapter. The goal of connecting the DVR to the Internet is to access DirecTV's ON DEMAND service.

Would a USB Wireless Adapter serve the same function? If so, is there a preferrable brand/model I should buy? How would then the Airport recognize the USB adapter (as my network is password protected)? Does anyone have any experience with this? I currently have a Macbook with the latest OS (10.6.2) connected to my Airport connected to my DSL modem.

I am extremely new to adding new devices (especially non-Apple devices) to my wireless network and will appreciate any and all assistance.

Thank you!
This is what I did. I bought a airport express, ran the cat 5 cable from that to the DVR. Works perfectly easy without messing with the USB ports on the DVR. As far as I know, they are non-functional anyway, at least to an end user. In the end you will end up paying about as much for the APE as you would the $80 on the USB thing that probably won't work. Plus, you can set up the APE from your laptop or desktop in about 5 seconds.
__________________
Al MB 2.4 2G ram
mojohanna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 07:30 PM   #3
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldfishcracker View Post
Hello,

I was hoping someone on here would be able to provide some assistance.

I just had a new DirecTV DVR (model: HR22-100) installed and noticed there was a USB port on the front side of the DVR. I searched online on DirecTV's website and noticed to connect the DVR to the my wireless network I would need to order an $80 Linksys Wireless Adapter. The goal of connecting the DVR to the Internet is to access DirecTV's ON DEMAND service.

Would a USB Wireless Adapter serve the same function? If so, is there a preferrable brand/model I should buy? How would then the Airport recognize the USB adapter (as my network is password protected)? Does anyone have any experience with this? I currently have a Macbook with the latest OS (10.6.2) connected to my Airport connected to my DSL modem.

I am extremely new to adding new devices (especially non-Apple devices) to my wireless network and will appreciate any and all assistance.

Thank you!
My understanding is that those USB ports are only good for service techs. (troubleshooting, updating firmware, etc.)

UPDATE: A quick google search shows that they ports can only be used to connect to an RS232 serial adapter to control the DVR with a PC.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 09:58 AM   #4
goldfishcracker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojohanna View Post
This is what I did. I bought a airport express, ran the cat 5 cable from that to the DVR. Works perfectly easy without messing with the USB ports on the DVR. As far as I know, they are non-functional anyway, at least to an end user. In the end you will end up paying about as much for the APE as you would the $80 on the USB thing that probably won't work. Plus, you can set up the APE from your laptop or desktop in about 5 seconds.
Thanks for your help. I will have to try this option. I appreciate it!
goldfishcracker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 04:49 PM   #5
Nanookfan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojohanna View Post
This is what I did. I bought a airport express, ran the cat 5 cable from that to the DVR. Works perfectly easy without messing with the USB ports on the DVR. As far as I know, they are non-functional anyway, at least to an end user. In the end you will end up paying about as much for the APE as you would the $80 on the USB thing that probably won't work. Plus, you can set up the APE from your laptop or desktop in about 5 seconds.
I also chose this route and it works without any problems at all. Plus it is very easy to set up.
Nanookfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 01:14 PM   #6
elijahpurcell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
4G Hotspot

Will this same setup work when my wireless home network is my 4G mobile hotspot?

I just purchased a netgear ethernet bridge and set it up, but Direct TV will not connect to it...

Thanks
elijahpurcell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect Security DVR to my IMAC gomiket Mac Peripherals 7 Jan 13, 2014 09:52 AM
How do I stop people from attempting to connect to my wireless network? ozreth OS X 8 Nov 17, 2012 06:55 AM
.dvdmedia extension: NAS to play videos on PS3 or w/DirecTV HD DVR tuner? bozz2006 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Nov 2, 2012 10:26 PM
Windows 7 won't connect to Time Capsule wireless network...? MasterHowl Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 5, 2012 10:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC