Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Original poster
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
I'm in the market again for a tripod and am looking for some recommendations. I travel a lot by plane and also move around a lot on foot, so I would like the tripod and head to be relatively compact and fairly lightweight, especially now that the airlines have all reduced their baggage allowances for international flights. Carbon fiber appeals, but I'm not sure if it's really stable enough (I have no experience with it). My heaviest camera and lens combination right now weighs about 4.5 pounds (about 2kg).

I'd like the head to be very good at doing both horizontal and vertical orientations. I nearly dislocated my thumb last week trying to get my little Manfrotto ballhead to stay tight enough while doing verticals. It's the smallest ballhead, and it just can't handle the weight I'm putting on it. I'm very nervous when doing verticals because it looks like the head is ready to come undone and drop the camera at any minute. I don't want to have to fight with the head to get the exact framing I want.

My budget is around $500 max.

Your thoughts??

Thanks!

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
Hmm, since compactness and weight is a decision factor for you, why don't check out the Gitzo Traveller series?

Hmm, I'm not that familiar with tripods, but who is Gitzo Traveller competitors? Just wondering

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Mar 25, 2009
Folding space
Here is what I have and I'm pleased with it. Manfrotto 055XPROB aluminum tripod 6.4 lb. weight/15.4 lb. max load. Manfrotto 488RC2 Midi Ball Head 1.5 lb. weight/18 lb. max load. The 488 has been replaced by the 498 which is 1.3 lb. in weight.

It's a studio class beast and solid as a rock. Very good for me as I am 6 ft. tall. This would kill your travel budget, but it's what I have fwiw.