Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2010, 12:41 AM   #1
sirN
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern CA
G5 PowerMac - RAM Problem?

I heard this awhile back and I don't remember where but it was in regards to an issue with G5 Powermacs not booting and giving the blinking lights of death (memory issue?).

I have a G5 1.8 DP that quit working almost 2 years ago. It wont boot and gives the blinking lights which according to what I've read means some type of RAM issue. Obviously I swapped out the RAM but still had the problem.

The G5's been sitting in my closet ever since and I never felt like shelling out another grand or so to repair. So I bought an iMac.

Then I heard something about others having this issue. Does anyone know anything about it?

Also, great forum you have here. Thanks for letting me in!
sirN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2010, 06:17 AM   #2
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I noticed yo posted in my other thread. If you try out my approach, let me know if it works out for you.

Apple and their cheap solder joints. Anyone remember the iBooks, Powerbooks, even the 8600 MBPs
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2010, 01:26 PM   #3
quantum003
macrumors 6502a
 
quantum003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Superposition
G5's are REALLY picky about RAM. I just had a serious and confusing problem myself with a G5 single 1.8Ghz processor that wound up being a RAM issue. The son of a gun would boot and then start doing something and then realize it didn't like the RAM, kernel panic, crash. I would recommend trying it out with some really, really decent RAM. Purchase a Kingston 512MB x2 (1GB kit) PC3200, 400Mhz matched set, something you know for certain is good and matches. You might have a better result. Also, there's those red error code lights inside the box you should watch for. Those can tip you off as well.
__________________
busratio=22
quantum003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2010, 03:46 PM   #4
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
They are INSANELY picky about RAM; the G4 and later (imac and b/w era) G3s as well. For any of those models I always suggest using a seller from RamSeeker specific to your model, or at least get the specs from one of them. ramseeker.com, pull down menu in the upper right.
__________________
Mac Mini 4x2gHz i7/16gb/240gb R0 OCZ Vertex450/10.9.2
Mac Mini 2x2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb OCZ Vertex4/10.9.2/server
Macbook Pro retina 2x2.4gHz i5/8gb/256gb/10.9.2
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2010, 08:48 PM   #5
sirN
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern CA
Thanks. I'll try it out.
sirN is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: RAM help with PowerMac G5 KeegM480 PowerPC Macs 2 Nov 4, 2013 10:10 PM
G5 PowerMac RAM DanElusive PowerPC Macs 12 Sep 1, 2013 02:50 AM
PowerMac G5 RAM issues zackkmac PowerPC Macs 4 Aug 29, 2013 06:08 PM
PowerMac Pro Ram Magone10 Mac Pro 13 Oct 28, 2012 05:32 PM
Powermac g5 ram solder Zeke D PowerPC Macs 9 Jun 6, 2012 11:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC