Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2010, 05:42 AM   #1
MacintoshMaster
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
New Powermac G4!!!! I Want To Upgrade!!!!!

Hello everybody,
I am new on this forum and I must say,it looks awesome!

I have been using macs for 2 years now and they are the greatest!
I run software like Sibelius 6 and Logic Pro.

Now,
I have just bought a Powermac G4 from ebay and here is the item description:

Apple Power Mac G4 in Good Condition, few small scuffs to case.

Mirrored CD Drive Doors

Currently has Mac OS X Leopard Installed.

Two Hard Drives:
1x 200GB
1x 40GB

1.75GB RAM
1.25GHz Processor

No Screen, just Tower included in auction



Is there anyway I could upgrade the processor in the computer?
A intel duo would be nice, or even a Xeon!!!

A new Graphics card and sound would be cool too!

What are all the things I could upgrade on the computer and where can I buy them in the UK?

Thanks!
John.
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 05:54 AM   #2
macuser154
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
You can't put an Intel processor in it, as it is a PPC Mac and only supports the G4 processor (AFAIK). However, if you strip the PowerMac out and put PC components in it, then you can have upgradeability, and you could run OSX86 on it.

You may be able to bump the RAM up a bit more. There are graphics cards available for it (I think ATI make one). You can upgrade the storage and optical drive. And you also have PCI.

It's worth taking into mind though that it is an old computer and it's limits, in terms of upgradeability, may become very apparent once you start buying stuff for it.
__________________
'07 MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz - '09 Mac Mini 2.53GHz - '09 iPhone 3GS 32GB - '10 iPad WIFI + 3G 64GB
macuser154 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 05:57 AM   #3
MacintoshMaster
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by macuser154 View Post
You can't put an Intel processor in it, as it is a PPC Mac and only supports the G4 processor (AFAIK). However, if you strip the Mac out and put PC components in it, then you can have upgradeability, and you could run OSX86 on it.

You may be able to bump the RAM up a bit more. There are graphics cards for the available (I think ATI make one). You can upgrade the storage and optical drive. And you also have PCI.

It's worth taking into mind though that it is an old computer and it's limits, in terms of upgradeability, may become very apparent once you start buying stuff for it.
Hi,
What if I put a new motherboard into it?

What is OSx86?

How would I do this?

Last edited by MacintoshMaster; Jan 16, 2010 at 06:13 AM.
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 06:16 AM   #4
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
OSx86 creates what commonly gets known as a "Hackintosh", namely Mac OSX running on non-Apple hardware. It's forbidden under Apple's EULA for OSX, and tends to always be a version or so behind the official release as Apple breaks things that the OSx86 people then have to fix.

TBH I think you'd be better off re-selling the PowerMac to someone who specifically needs to use Mac OS Classic software, then trying to get an Intel mini or second hand iMac. I don't think a PowerPC Mac meets your needs.
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 06:18 AM   #5
MacintoshMaster
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Queso View Post
OSx86 creates what commonly gets known as a "Hackintosh", namely Mac OSX running on non-Apple hardware. It's forbidden under Apple's EULA for OSX, and tends to always be a version or so behind the official release as Apple breaks things that the OSx86 people then have to fix.

TBH I think you'd be better off re-selling the PowerMac to someone who specifically needs to use Mac OS Classic software, then trying to get an Intel mini or second hand iMac. I don't think a PowerPC Mac meets your needs.
Hi,
I have a eMac and it does all the things I want and that is a G4 processor.

I am just wondering, if I could upgrade it.

How do I do OSx86/Hackintosh?

Thanks
John.
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 06:21 AM   #6
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
You've bought a computer that's at least 6 years old and technology has moved on in the meantime. Upgrades for your PowerMac are very limited, you can upgrade the RAM to a maximum of 2GB for example. Video card upgrades were limited 6 years ago, you would have to buy second hand if you want one now.

Upgrading to a modern motherboard and processor is not straightforward. For a start it won't just drop into the case, you will have to do some cutting, fabricating and drilling to make it fit. You will also need a new power supply, a new graphics card and some new RAM to work with the new motherboard.

Then you have to load the operating system. You will have to go the Hackintosh route because you are no longer using Apple hardware. Read this to get an idea of what you need to do.

If this sounds a bit much, listen to the good advice offered by Queso and get yourself an Intel Mac.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 06:41 AM   #7
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster View Post
I am just wondering, if I could upgrade it.
Technically the answer is yes...but unless you want to start massacring the case and intend to throw out most of the innards you are limited to only the G4 processor. The G5 used a different architecture, and the Intel processors are completely different beats entirely.

Maximum speed that machine will give you easily is a dual 2.0GHz G4, using NewerTech's upgrade card. However, it's still going to be a lot slower than a Mac mini. It's not a good cost/benefit ratio.
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 07:02 AM   #8
MacintoshMaster
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Queso View Post
Technically the answer is yes...but unless you want to start massacring the case and intend to throw out most of the innards you are limited to only the G4 processor. The G5 used a different architecture, and the Intel processors are completely different beats entirely.

Maximum speed that machine will give you easily is a dual 2.0GHz G4, using NewerTech's upgrade card. However, it's still going to be a lot slower than a Mac mini. It's not a good cost/benefit ratio.

Than newtech thing sounds great!

I don't need an intel - a PPC is fine!

Could I get that newtech thing in the UK?
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 07:05 AM   #9
iMpathetic
macrumors 68030
 
iMpathetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IMBY
Send a message via AIM to iMpathetic
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster View Post
Than newtech thing sounds great!

I don't need an intel - a PPC is fine!

Could I get that newtech thing in the UK?
I assume you could, but it might be a little bit expensive for not so much of a gain in performance. What I would do is use your Power Mac for a while and if you feel like it's too slow, sell it on craigslist or eBay, save up a little extra money, and buy a newer Intel Mac. If you think it's fast enough for you, don't worry about it!
__________________
13" Air 1.8GHz i5/4GB RAM/256GB/HD 4000/10.7.4 ; Alienware M17 T9300@ 2.5GHz/4GB/160GB/Mobility HD3870/Win 7
Samsung Galaxy Nexus rooted/Android 4.0.4
iMpathetic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 07:12 AM   #10
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster View Post
Is there anyway I could upgrade the processor in the computer?
A intel duo would be nice, or even a Xeon!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster
Than newtech thing sounds great!

I don't need an intel - a PPC is fine!


Anyway, the $400 upgrade from NewerTech is a waste of money.
You can get an Intel Mac Mini for that price and these machines run circles around a G4!
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 07:28 AM   #11
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Clearly the computer you've bought is nothing like what you want. Sell it and buy something else.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 08:34 AM   #12
macuser154
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster View Post
Hi,
What if I put a new motherboard into it?

What is OSx86?
You can't just put any-old motherboard in a Mac, you need an Apple one or else Mac OS won't work.

However... OSX86 allows you to run OS X on regular old PC hardware, so you could built a new computer inside the G4 case, and run Mac OS X. Although I have never tried this, your better off asking someone else on the forum.
__________________
'07 MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz - '09 Mac Mini 2.53GHz - '09 iPhone 3GS 32GB - '10 iPad WIFI + 3G 64GB
macuser154 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 08:48 AM   #13
Salavat23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
$400 for the CPUs is a waste of money. You can build a solid C2D Hackintosh rig for ~$500 that will be leagues ahead of that G4.
__________________
8 GB iPod Touch 2G
Salavat23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 09:56 AM   #14
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
To OP

Max out the ram and maybe get a new graphics card and have fun with it.

Put Leopard on it with a graphics card that can handle it and I think you'll have a lot of fun.

It's not a bad machine at all.

I have a friend who upgraded his Powermac G4 500 mhz to a 1.8ghz machine and he loves it.

At the moment I am on a borrowed 2.0 Powermac G5 (granted, with eight gigs of ram) which is PPC or PowerPC as well, running Leopard and it is as fast if not faster than my 2.26ghz mac mini.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:19 AM   #15
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Sounds like you should buy a Mac Mini.

I use my PowerMac G4 as a server, not my main computer.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:20 AM   #16
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
The fastest compatible G4 processor is a dual 1.8ghz, they also make a 2.0ghz CPU. Both more expensive than the MDD is worth and it's worth it for the amount of performance you get in return. The slow frontside bus of the G4 is a bottle neck. 2gb is the max which looks like you just need to upgrade one of the 256mb to 512mb. A ATI 9800 Pro 128mb is a good graphics card to get while it's cheap and powerful.

Just wait until your power supply fails, that's gonna be more to fix than the whole MDD is worth.

I'd say just use it as it is without dumping too much money into it. Also being in the UK will also just make it even more expensive to buy upgrades.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:29 AM   #17
JacaByte
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Just sell the silly thing, it's going to be more cost effective to get something newer that will do what you want it to than to try and make do with that G4 tower.
JacaByte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:34 AM   #18
fromthealder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I've had a single cpu MDD 1.25Ghz Mac since they were new. As others have said, there really isn't much sense in paying for a CPU upgrade, but a few years ago I did read about a way to get a free boost in CPU speed from 1.25 to 1.5 Ghz (or possibly higher). I tried it and it worked. It's not a great boost in speed but it doesn't cost anything (other than the risk of ruining your logic board, which I suppose could be considered a cost). If you are at all handy all you need to do is remove resistors from the logic board following the directions here:

http://aquamac.proboards.com/index.c...lay&thread=767

The guy who posted that got his MDD up to 1.67Ghz - this was about a year ago. A few years ago I used the directions from another site I can't find now to do essentially the same thing but because the computer was newer then I only pushed it to 1.5Ghz.
fromthealder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:34 AM   #19
brendu
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
you cant put a PC motherboard in the g4 towers, i looked into it once... It would take a lot of custom work and would ruin the case... the ATX motherboards will not just screw into place...

A processor upgrade as others have said is a huge waste of money. I upgraded to a sonnet encore g4 1.0ghz a few years back but that was before ppc was obsolete.. today they still cost the same, which is insane... I would use it as is... maybe max the ram out, but thats it.. don't spend much money on it... As others have said the Mini would run circles around it... and be MUCH quieter.
brendu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 11:44 AM   #20
lannister80
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicagoland
About all you can do is put in a dual-processor G4 1.25GHz.

You'll need a different processor daughterboard and a dual processor heatsink.
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, 8x2.8GHz, 3.25TB, 18GB RAM
UnRAID NAS, 9TB storage, 3TB parity, 400GB cache
lannister80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 01:57 PM   #21
MacintoshMaster
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
The fastest compatible G4 processor is a dual 1.8ghz, they also make a 2.0ghz CPU. Both more expensive than the MDD is worth and it's worth it for the amount of performance you get in return. The slow frontside bus of the G4 is a bottle neck. 2gb is the max which looks like you just need to upgrade one of the 256mb to 512mb. A ATI 9800 Pro 128mb is a good graphics card to get while it's cheap and powerful.

Just wait until your power supply fails, that's gonna be more to fix than the whole MDD is worth.

I'd say just use it as it is without dumping too much money into it. Also being in the UK will also just make it even more expensive to buy upgrades.
Hi,
Please could you tell me what that 2.0GHz CPU is called (So I can search for it)

I can't afford a mac mini - I wanted an old, cheap, jazzy computer and the spec of this computer will run my software - I have a eMac and that runs it.

I would be very happy with 2.0GHz on this computer.

I like the PowerMac G4 MDD and would be happy with 2.0GHz and 2GB RAM.

So, will somebody tell me what 2.0GHz processor my Mac will take.

Thanks!
John.

Please Help.

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Jan 16, 2010 at 05:43 PM. Reason: No bumping!
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 02:52 PM   #22
iMpathetic
macrumors 68030
 
iMpathetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IMBY
Send a message via AIM to iMpathetic
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster View Post

I can't afford a mac mini
I would be very happy with 2.0GHz on this computer.
Okay, look: if you wanted a CHEAP computer, you got one. Upgrades cost MONEY, and the fastest upgrade for your computer is DUAL 1.8GHz processors. Here it is. It costs $599. THAT IS AS MUCH AS A BRAND NEW MAC MINI.
__________________
13" Air 1.8GHz i5/4GB RAM/256GB/HD 4000/10.7.4 ; Alienware M17 T9300@ 2.5GHz/4GB/160GB/Mobility HD3870/Win 7
Samsung Galaxy Nexus rooted/Android 4.0.4
iMpathetic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 05:40 PM   #23
MacintoshMaster
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMpathetic View Post
Okay, look: if you wanted a CHEAP computer, you got one. Upgrades cost MONEY, and the fastest upgrade for your computer is DUAL 1.8GHz processors. Here it is. It costs $599. THAT IS AS MUCH AS A BRAND NEW MAC MINI.


But the mac mini is not as cool as a powermac...

But thanks!
I'll look into that!
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 07:37 PM   #24
MacintoshMaster
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
To OP

Max out the ram and maybe get a new graphics card and have fun with it.

Put Leopard on it with a graphics card that can handle it and I think you'll have a lot of fun.

It's not a bad machine at all.

I have a friend who upgraded his Powermac G4 500 mhz to a 1.8ghz machine and he loves it.

At the moment I am on a borrowed 2.0 Powermac G5 (granted, with eight gigs of ram) which is PPC or PowerPC as well, running Leopard and it is as fast if not faster than my 2.26ghz mac mini.

Wich Graphics card?
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 07:43 PM   #25
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster View Post
Wich Graphics card?
I already mentioned it, ATI 9800 Pro 128mb.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G4 MDD Powermac RAM upgrade Bru90 PowerPC Macs 2 Apr 10, 2014 11:51 AM
New to Me! 1.2Ghz (OWC upgrade) PowerMac G4 Quicksilver eyoungren PowerPC Macs 10 Nov 18, 2013 09:07 PM
OS X 10.3.9 on PowerMac G4 upgrade tampasteve PowerPC Macs 7 Jun 2, 2013 08:24 AM
PowerMac G4 MDD Upgrade options LeoTheLion89 PowerPC Macs 3 Aug 12, 2012 06:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC