Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2010, 03:08 PM   #1
scooterguitar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Logic: Buying elsewhere and ease of use?

Is there any reason I shouldn't be looking at fleabay to purchase Logic Studio 9 and save around $150 opposed to purchasing from Apple when I order my new iMac?

Also, coming from Garageband, for basic ease of use and quick recording, is Logic fairly easy? I want to use Logic as it has all the jampacks, but mainly for the amp designer and added effects.
scooterguitar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2010, 03:53 AM   #2
seisend
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Switzerland, ZG
Logic 9 is a great program and has some nice fuctions for Pro's . The new guitar features are great too. The interface isn't the same as in Garageband, but has many similarities... It's still easy to use for recording some vocals or instruments.

Just make an audio channel, set the input and press record and you are good to go. I can't tell you about Logic Express. I don't know the features of this programm. But you can surely look at it on apple.com . Although , I think Logic 9 Pro itself is very cheap. 150 bugs is not much for a professional program and you have no limitations.
__________________
- MP 2009, 8x 2.26 GHz, 24GB Ram, Vertex 3 120GB + 7.6TB HDD, nVidia 285 GTX, 2x 24" Screens
- MBP 15" 2011, 2.2 GHz, 8GB Ram, Vertex 3 120GB + 500GB HDD
Check out my music on www.seisendsix.com
seisend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2010, 12:38 PM   #3
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterguitar View Post
Is there any reason I shouldn't be looking at fleabay to purchase Logic Studio 9 and save around $150 .
It is a real copy or counterfeit? How do you know? If you are sure you are getting the real thing and a serial number that allows for upgrades then yes, just buy from whoever has the lowest price.

If you pay be credit card, direct to the seller, not through paypal then your bank will protect you and you can charge back if you get a bogus copy.

Logic does have a bit of a learning curve. Much steeper then GB.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2010, 03:05 PM   #4
scooterguitar
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks Chris.
Now a few people are telling me they only paid $179 for the academic version (not express) this past fall on their campus. This seems way too low.
scooterguitar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2010, 04:23 PM   #5
hakukani
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hawaii
No upgrade path for the academic version.
hakukani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2010, 01:04 PM   #6
SFXsource
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Logic is an incredible program and the learning curve isn't bad, if you move to it you'll never regret it for a second, its amazing, versatile and can do pretty much anything except make coffee
__________________
SFXsource.com Sound Effects and Royalty Free Music Library
SFXsource is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2010, 07:29 PM   #7
scottlinux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakukani View Post
No upgrade path for the academic version.
Oh there's an upgrade path: buy the new version for $179 academic.

I've seen Logic 9 for $159 academic but in .edu bookstores only.
scottlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2010, 08:16 PM   #8
scooterguitar
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks.
Right, I;m a teacher and college student, still I only get the $50 off! I've been hearing the $179 at bookstore prices at other bookstores, but no luck for me. AT that price I wouldn't care about upgrades. Looks like I'm stuck going ebay or direct I guess.
I might end up going wiht the 21.5" imac opposed to the 27 15, but I read earlier that would be enough for running it?
scooterguitar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2010, 11:39 AM   #9
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterguitar View Post
I might end up going wiht the 21.5" imac opposed to the 27 15, but I read earlier that would be enough for running it?
Logic can really eat up screen space. If you have a lot of tracks and then open up a media browser. It will rn on a small 13" screen but yu get to see more at once with the bigger screen.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My logic for buying the S4 over the HTC one. Bankaimadness Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 43 Sep 5, 2013 07:55 PM
Laptop buying advise Logic Pro & live DJ Freshmode7 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Aug 22, 2013 11:00 AM
Buying Help - Logic Pro X & 13" MBA mrjohnnyglass MacBook Air 2 Jul 20, 2013 03:07 PM
Ease the burden of HOME uumart iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 22, 2013 06:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC