Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 19, 2010, 06:59 AM   #1
Freshmixture
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hudson Falls, NY
Send a message via AIM to Freshmixture Send a message via Yahoo to Freshmixture
Access Airport Extreme router settings over internet

I 've owned a Netgear and a D-Link route before and with those, you could access all your router settings and statuses over the internet

The Login would usuallly be the ip address and the password would be one of your choice.

I can't seem to find any settings to enable this on my Airport Extreme.....any ideas?

Thanks a bunch in advance,

Freshmixture (Doug)
__________________
Always adding to my Apple orchard
2008 15" Unibody MacBook Pro, iPad 1 WiFi (32gb), iPod Touch 3 (32gb), Apple TV 2, Verizon iPhone 4 (32gb)
Freshmixture is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2010, 07:59 AM   #2
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freshmixture View Post
I 've owned a Netgear and a D-Link route before and with those, you could access all your router settings and statuses over the internet

The Login would usuallly be the ip address and the password would be one of your choice.

I can't seem to find any settings to enable this on my Airport Extreme.....any ideas?

Thanks a bunch in advance,

Freshmixture (Doug)
What do you mean "over the internet"? Do you mean that the Netgear and D-Link routers are accessed using a web browser, or that you can access it from a remote location by logging in through the internet?

Either way, I don't think you can do that with an AEBS. To access the AEBS, you need to use the Airport Utility application. I have never seen any settings to allow access from a remote location. Nor have I seen any way to access it from a browser.

As for accessing it from a remote location (if that's what you want to do), I don't think that's such a good idea. Routers typically have to "reboot" to get settings changed ... wouldn't that knock you off the connection if you're remote? It would seem like a hassle to do it that way. Also, it's probably a security issue ... but the likelyhood that someone hacks your network is probably small anyways.
__________________
Flickr
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2010, 08:22 AM   #3
Full of Win
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ask Apple
...in theory, you could used Remote Desktop to control a mac on the network that you want to configure. For example, say your mom has an Airport router with her Mac Mini that needs to be altered; in theory, you could use a Remote Desktop on your computer to access her computer and configure the router that way.
Full of Win is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to access a HD connected to a AirPort Extreme over the internet? Jorg1312 OS X 4 Jan 31, 2014 04:57 PM
Airport extreme Internet access to photos, videos, music? zBernie Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 20, 2013 09:16 AM
Lost Internet access when I installed new router CyberCrone Mac mini 8 Aug 23, 2013 05:23 PM
AirPort Extreme dont sharing internet with a router dockBR Mac Peripherals 7 Apr 2, 2013 11:31 AM
Connected to router and Internet, but can't access from network ljjeriko OS X 0 Nov 20, 2012 11:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC