Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 19, 2010, 10:40 AM   #1
aaronstephen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
unlocked 3GS w/prepaid att sim..... no service???

just what the title says. I have an unlocked 3gs that I have been using with Tmobile for some time now and I needed to get att for better coverage at our new house. I activated the sim card with the prepaid phone then popped the sim in the iPhone and now all I get is "No Service." shouldn't this work just fine since my phone is unlocked? what am I doing wrong?
aaronstephen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2010, 01:03 PM   #2
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronstephen View Post
just what the title says. I have an unlocked 3gs that I have been using with Tmobile for some time now and I needed to get att for better coverage at our new house. I activated the sim card with the prepaid phone then popped the sim in the iPhone and now all I get is "No Service." shouldn't this work just fine since my phone is unlocked? what am I doing wrong?
In order to use the T-mobile sim, you hacktivated the phone when you JB it. Once hacktivated, the phone will not be able to use the official carrier sim.

You will need to re-jailbreak, keep official AT&T sim in the phone during JB. If you use Pwnage Tool, uncheck the activate phone box. Do not unlock after JB.
__________________
Two iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2010, 01:34 PM   #3
aaronstephen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
[HTML]i jailbroke my phone without a sim installed. I did not hackivate my tmobile sim. I activated the tmobile sim with a prepaid tmobile phone. I read somewhere that AT&T locks there sim to the phone it was activated in for 180 days is this true? and is this why my phone won't recognize the sim?[/HTML]
aaronstephen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2010, 01:40 PM   #4
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronstephen View Post
[HTML]i jailbroke my phone without a sim installed. I did not hackivate my tmobile sim. I activated the tmobile sim with a prepaid tmobile phone. I read somewhere that AT&T locks there sim to the phone it was activated in for 180 days is this true? and is this why my phone won't recognize the sim?[/HTML]
You do not activate a sim card, you activate or hacktivate the phone. The ONLY way to get an iPhone to turn on after jailbreak without putting an official carrier sim into it is thru hacktivation.

Since you claimed the T-mobile sim worked in the phone and the AT&T sim does not, that means the phone (not the sim) was hacktivated. Otherwise the un-official sim would never have worked in the phone (and yes, hacktivation is different from unlocking). Hacktivation prevents an official carrier sim from working in an iPhone. Unlocking does not, however unlocking won't be required (obviously) with the AT&T sim

My advice still stands, you will need to restore in order to use the AT&T sim, then you can re-JB if you wish to get the bells & whistles.
__________________
Two iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 06:02 AM   #5
aaronstephen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
ok I hear what you're saying and here's another question. I have heard AT&T locks there sims to the phone it was activated in for 180 days. is this true? and if it is does that mean I would have to wait that time frame before it would work?
aaronstephen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 06:20 AM   #6
SpaceKitty
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronstephen View Post
ok I hear what you're saying and here's another question. I have heard AT&T locks there sims to the phone it was activated in for 180 days. is this true? and if it is does that mean I would have to wait that time frame before it would work?
This is only true if the GoPhone that you activated included credits such as $50 in airtime.
SpaceKitty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 11:23 AM   #7
aaronstephen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I did come with airtme so it looks like I'll have to wait. but I still don't understand why if my phone has been unlocked thru blacksnow why the AT&T sim wouldn't work. anybody?
aaronstephen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 12:37 PM   #8
SpaceKitty
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronstephen View Post
I did come with airtme so it looks like I'll have to wait. but I still don't understand why if my phone has been unlocked thru blacksnow why the AT&T sim wouldn't work. anybody?
As I said above, the sim is locked to that GoPhone for six months. An unlocked iPhone won't change that fact. You can either Go to AT&T and tell them you need a new sim for that GoPhone or activate a new GoPhone account with a new sim from AT&T and start all over again. This time, the sim will work in the iPhone.
SpaceKitty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 01:34 PM   #9
aaronstephen
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
thanks.
aaronstephen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2010, 01:27 PM   #10
rchaput
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Unlocked 3gs w/prepaid activated SIM - No Service

I have a JB (JailBreakMe), unlocked iPhone 3gs (4.0) that is functional using a T-Mobile SIM.

I bought and activated an ATT SIM under a pre-paid plan. With the ATT prepaid SIM I get the No Service indication.

I can't "re-jailbreak" since JailBreakMe is no longer functional.

If I restored the iPhone, will the activated ATT SIM just work? Seems to good to be true.

If I restored the iPhone and used RedSn0w to JB but did not unlock will it work?

Please advise

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.
rchaput is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help number port- Iphone 5 att prepaid to att postpaid family plan donkeycrushr iPhone 8 Apr 1, 2014 01:39 AM
Carrier: No Service on Unlocked 3GS Luriden iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jan 6, 2014 03:48 PM
I have ATT service would unlocked sprint or verizon 5s work? utbaseball30 iPhone 9 Sep 23, 2013 04:06 PM
Traveling to England - No service with local carrier SIM for AT&T unlocked phones dylanursula iPhone 21 Aug 22, 2012 09:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC