Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2010, 01:09 PM   #1
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Disable Dashboard?

Is it possible to disable the dashboard? I never really use it, and it would be nice just to disable it altogether and use the key for something else.
__________________
roadbloc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 01:17 PM   #2
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadbloc View Post
Is it possible to disable the dashboard?
No- I don't believe you can disable it.
pdjudd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 01:24 PM   #3
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Of course you can. Google around it is a free app, can't remember the name even though it is running on my own Powerbook.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 01:25 PM   #4
roadbloc
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjudd View Post
No- I don't believe you can disable it.
Well thats a bit rubbish, it does seem to take a fair chunk of RAM. Ahh well. Never mind.
__________________
roadbloc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 01:26 PM   #5
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What's preventing you from using the F key for something else? Go to System Preferences > Expose and make sure '-' is selected in the Dashboard area. Now reassign the key to whatever you want.

I suppose you could go to the Applications folder and delete the Dashboard app, then you have a plist file to get rid of also. Anything else? I'm not sure.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 01:30 PM   #6
roadbloc
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/14/how-t...ble-dashboard/


Got it. I guess I should have googled first. Thanks anyways.
__________________
roadbloc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 05:30 PM   #7
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Thanks for posting that link.

I wonder what would happen if I tried the approach I suggested? I use Dashboard, so I'm not gonna be my own guinea pig.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
change dashboard background AND dashboard background tile in mission control ? anonymous4a OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 18, 2013 04:01 PM
Is the Dashboard still there? printz OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Jun 11, 2013 08:12 AM
dashboard wont open and no com.apple.dashboard.plist files in preference pitipur Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 7, 2012 08:43 PM
Dashboard X 2.0 BrokeTechLover Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Aug 3, 2012 04:08 PM
Disable Resume (I mean REALLY disable it) (not a solution, i ask a question) /V\acpower Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Jun 13, 2012 11:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC