Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2010, 12:09 PM   #1
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Disable Dashboard?

Is it possible to disable the dashboard? I never really use it, and it would be nice just to disable it altogether and use the key for something else.
__________________
roadbloc is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 12:17 PM   #2
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadbloc View Post
Is it possible to disable the dashboard?
No- I don't believe you can disable it.
pdjudd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 12:24 PM   #3
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Of course you can. Google around it is a free app, can't remember the name even though it is running on my own Powerbook.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 12:25 PM   #4
roadbloc
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjudd View Post
No- I don't believe you can disable it.
Well thats a bit rubbish, it does seem to take a fair chunk of RAM. Ahh well. Never mind.
__________________
roadbloc is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 12:26 PM   #5
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What's preventing you from using the F key for something else? Go to System Preferences > Expose and make sure '-' is selected in the Dashboard area. Now reassign the key to whatever you want.

I suppose you could go to the Applications folder and delete the Dashboard app, then you have a plist file to get rid of also. Anything else? I'm not sure.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 12:30 PM   #6
roadbloc
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/14/how-t...ble-dashboard/


Got it. I guess I should have googled first. Thanks anyways.
__________________
roadbloc is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2010, 04:30 PM   #7
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Thanks for posting that link.

I wonder what would happen if I tried the approach I suggested? I use Dashboard, so I'm not gonna be my own guinea pig.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recover or disable lost password on iPhone sclomps iPhone 0 Nov 19, 2011 11:58 AM
Disabling Dashboard in 10.6? duelingdragons OS X 0 Aug 29, 2009 05:14 PM
disabled dashboard want to re-enable pdoddy12 Mac Basics and Help 2 Jul 17, 2009 03:57 AM
Disable Dashboard fall3n OS X 7 Nov 27, 2006 02:04 PM
How to disable Dashboard spaceballl OS X 32 Dec 25, 2005 11:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC