Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

craig1410

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 22, 2007
Scotland
Hi guys,
I've just bought a Powerbook G4 12" 1.5GHz on eBay which is reported as having a charging fault caused by dropping the machine on the charge port corner from about 0.5m. I've also bought a DC-In board because I am assuming that the DC In board is damaged.

I should get both in a few days and would really appreciate any advice regarding the DC In board replacement. I'm an electronic engineer and IT consultant and have successfully repaired two iBook G4's and a bunch of PC laptops over the years and I have all the necessary tools and equipment. I have also looked at the repair guide on iFixit.com and powerbookmedic.com and although it is a more difficult repair than on the iBook, it doesn't look too bad.

However, this is my first dealings with the Powerbook G4 and I was wondering if you have any tips for me to avoid any silly mistakes? I believe I will require some thermal paste to reseat the heatsink but are there any other parts or consumables required to carry out this repair? Are there any other things I should do while the machine is in bits? Common faults etc?

Many thanks,
Craig.

ps. I'm looking forward to owning one of these highly regarded little machines. I love my iBook so I hope this will be even better! :apple:

sjinsjca

macrumors 68020
Oct 30, 2008
Ooooh. We have one of those here. It is a marvelous machine, one of the most coveted.

I've got no help or advice to give you, just compliments on your good taste! Good luck, and please post back your progress onto this thread.

rowsdower

macrumors 6502
Jun 2, 2009