Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Old Aug 20, 2004, 01:53 AM   #1
spaceballl
macrumors 68030

I got lucky... Apple repaired my modified iBook for free :-)

Just thought I'd share a happy little story. So last January, my iBook 700 was getting all messed up. It would crash sporadically. Sometimes it wouldn't boot up properly. I took it in, and it was identified that I had a faulty logic board, which by http://www.apple.com/support/ibook/faq/ , was covered as a free repair. I got my iBook repaired no problem.

A few months ago, I decided that neither the current nor next generation of Powerbooks would suit me and that in order to hold myself over until laptops that i felt were acceptable came out (7200 rpm standard drives, higher performing CPUs and GPU, 64 bit, etc), I would upgrade my stock 4200 rpm 20gb harddrive to one of the nice hitachi 7200 rpm 60gb drives. I'm an Electrical Engineer so i'm fairly experienced w/ taking apart hardware so the upgrade wasn't too bad. I finished it, and it was well worth it.

Three weeks ago, I was experiencing iBook problems. I was worried because while they ensure their motherboards for six months after replacement, because I had changed the HD, the warranty was void. I took it in, and they asked me if I had every messed with it. I lied. They totally missed the fact that I had upgraded my HD. They also found a problem w/ my optical drive and screen. The fact is this...

I have an iBook 700 with a brand new LCD screen, a brand new logic board, a brand new optical drive, a 7200 rpm hard drive, 640mb RAM, airport, and it is now under warranty for six more months, WELL after the initial warranty expired. The best part (and i opened it up to verify) is that all of the Apple seals have been re-sealed. My 7200rpm drive is sealed in under Apple warranty now :-). When I eventually sell it, this will surely increase the resale value.

-Kevin
spaceballl is offline   0