Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2010, 09:31 PM   #1
Glenn.955
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Question After reboot always wants to connect to iTunes

I am on vacation and traveling overseas. (Buenos Aires if anyone is interested). I rely on the iPhone and oMaps to get around and back home again.

Was in an internet cafe and tried to connect to the internet but it wasn't working so I thought I'd just give it a restart. On starting up I get the "Connect to iTunes" screen.

In a strange part of town - with no maps - and I don't speak spanish at all! Was not happy...

By fluke I managed to get home and then connected the phone and all happy. Thought I don't want this to happen again - so turned it off to check. Sure enough on reboot - Connect to iTunes.

Even flick to Airplane mode - Connect to iTunes.

This is unacceptable when your phone locks you out completely.

In case it makes any difference here are the details:
iPhone bought outright in Australia and unlocked by Optus from their network.
I normally use a Three sim in the phone - which shows it is unlocked.
Got a Claro SIM in Argentina. It is prepaid.
3GS with latest OS

Any ideas on why this is happening?

Thanks.

Glenn.


The iPhone works great until apples paranoia/greed for cash screws ya at the most inappropriate time!
Glenn.955 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2010, 09:42 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Is your phone jailbroken or on stock firmware?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2010, 09:55 PM   #3
Glenn.955
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Not or ever has been jailbroken.

Modem Firmware 05.11.07 if that matters...

Glenn.
Glenn.955 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2010, 11:30 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
So it locks up and you have to do a restore each time thru itunes to get it back up and running?
Sounds like you might have to bring it to Apple for an exchange.
Dann, I forgot its officially unlocked.
Im not sure where you would exchange it.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2010, 11:10 AM   #5
Glenn.955
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Not actually doing a restore. It just has the connect to itunes screen. When I am at home it connects to the WiFi and downloads mail (can see the AirPort logo up the top). So the thing is running - just wants to call home for some reason before it will let me in.

Once connected to iTunes it only takes a few seconds and it is back to normal. Until it restarts that is...
Glenn.955 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2010, 04:32 PM   #6
Moi un Mouton
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bracknell UK
Did you buy it new, or did you buy it from someone who told you it was officially unlocked?

If you bought it new, what was the process you followed to get it unlocked?
Moi un Mouton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2010, 04:54 AM   #7
Glenn.955
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
It was bought new. I contact the Telco and asked them to unlock it. And they did. In Australia I don't use the phone with the telco I purchased it from - clearly showing it was unlocked. And if it wasn't unlocked I doubt connecting it to iTunes in Argentina would somehow get it working albeit until a reboot.
Glenn.955 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2010, 06:33 AM   #8
Glenn.955
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Did what I probably should have done first. Restored... Now it is happily restarting without phoning home...
Glenn.955 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect to SMB share on reboot ks-man OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Mar 24, 2013 01:21 PM
Deleted system folder and can't reboot with iTunes because it's password protected sir.billdavid iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 7 Mar 17, 2013 05:53 PM
Bootcamp after reboot i have non-system disk press any key to reboot vigorito MacBook Pro 2 Mar 11, 2013 11:25 PM
iPhone 5 - Does Reboot actually reboot or just restart? davehutch iPhone 14 Nov 13, 2012 10:41 AM
Can't connect to iTunes Rtr iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Sep 20, 2012 01:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC