Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:10 AM   #1
jph
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: urop - enjoying bavarian beer :-)
Canīt re-install panther from disc on G5

Hi there,

got my G5 1.8 GHz DP with Formac Gallery 1900 ADC, ATI 9600, 1 gig extra (3rd party, but reliable, from DSP - quality vendor in Germany) about 2 weeks ago.
I experienced occasional crashes (screen freeze, mouse arrow movable, hard restart required) just like so many other users (the crashes appeared even before the extra RAM was added).
Ran Apple Hardware test - nothing detected.
Repaired permission - problem remains.
Now I wanted to reinstall OS X (came with 10.3.4 out of the box, I upgraded via software update to 10.3.5) - and I noticed that upon restart the usual grey screen appears with the usual spinning circle, but then the screen goes black and the display gets in sleep mode, while the Mac apparently is still running. regardless of what I do (hitting space bar, moving mouse, pressing mouse button etc.) it doesnīt wake up. When I do a hard restart it keeps hanging at exactly the same point unless I remove the disc. As a result I wouldnīt be able to do a system reinstallation at all - which worries me quite a bit.

Any suggestion would be very wellcome!

Thanks in advance

jph
jph is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 11:09 AM   #2
Horrortaxi
macrumors 68020
 
Horrortaxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Not quite an on-topic answer but it might fix your problem. Create a new user account and transfer your documents, etc (but not preferences) to it. I can almost guarantee that the problems that lead you to try to reinstall the OS will be gone. It's almost never necessary to reinstall the OS.
Horrortaxi is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 11:21 AM   #3
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
If Horrortaxi's suggestion doesn't work, call Apple support - this is exactly the sort of thing they should help with. New system, nothing added but RAM (which, by the way, they will tell you to remove and then run without for a month, so, since the problem occurred before it was installed, you might want to remove the RAM before calling and not mention it).

But, obviously, try the above suggestion first. However, even if it works, I'd at least call to see if you can get a replacement set of CDs - maybe yours have problems.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 12:18 PM   #4
jph
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: urop - enjoying bavarian beer :-)
Thanks for your suggestions,

however, Horrortaxi's idea did not work, same effect.
Unfortunately apple has no 24/7 phone support here in Germany but I'll call them tomorrow.
I'm not sure if it has something to do with the formac screen (not waking up) or the Mac itself (not awakening the display during reboot). I'll try my old 17" crt tomorrow, that should clarify things a bit.

The funny thing is: I cannot reboot from the G5 install disc 1 - as described; and the same thing happens when I use the original panther installation disc from the OS X 10.3 retail package!
However, starting the apple hardware test CD (with holding 'c') is no problem at all...
jph is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you install the up-to-date disc on more than one Mac? lavinci OS X 12 Sep 3, 2009 12:27 AM
Can you play games from discs? Chanel Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 28, 2007 05:35 PM
Can I Use Panther Restore Discs To Install Classic On Tiger? Redline13 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 28 Dec 24, 2005 11:26 PM
Can I use iMac system discs on my iBook? Kyle Nerder OS X 6 Oct 18, 2005 06:07 PM
Can I use iMac Tiger discs on an iBook? Jody OS X 13 Sep 8, 2005 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC