Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2004, 06:01 PM   #1
Manzana
macrumors 6502a
 
Manzana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Leeching off neighbors WiFi

Hello Everyone,

So I just moved and I will be without telco and broadband access for 1-2 weeks until it is set up.

I live in a large apt complex where they provide access to T1. When I moved in two days ago, my PB found that there was an unprotected signal "linksys" available.

I'm using this today to ask if I have the firewall on, should I be worried about checking my email, banking info, changing addresses on my account?
Manzana is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 06:12 PM   #2
LeeTom
macrumors 65816
 
LeeTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
I wouldn't worry too much, but if you're worried about someone sniffing your packets, be sure that all your connections with sensitive information are secure. i.e. https connections in Safari, and secure connections in Mail if your provider supports it.

If they provide acccess to a T1 though, why are you going onto your neighbors internet, and why are you getting broadband? Can't you just plug in?

Lee Tom
__________________
iPhone 3GS <- iPhone 3G <- iPhone 8GB
MacBook Pro 2.5 <- PowerBook G4 1.67 <- PowerBook G4 1.25 <- iMac G3/400 <- Mac LC <- Mac Plus
LeeTom is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 06:30 PM   #3
Manzana
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Manzana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Thanks for the info LeeTom.

They will "turn on" my T1 in 1-2 weeks, it is an extra service that we pay $40 a month for. I don't think I will get a regular phone because I won't live here that long so dial-up is out.
Manzana is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 06:30 PM   #4
Calvinatir
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LA
I did the same thing at my apartment building when i moved in. The cable company took 2 weeks to get to my house so i leeched off my neighbor's connection....it was sweet
Calvinatir is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 07:11 PM   #5
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
shouldnt be any techinical problem, but if your neighbor finds out that your using his connection he may be a little less than pleased

but thats a diff issue altogether
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 07:20 PM   #6
nesuser2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NW Ohio
well, if this guy has an unprotected network named linksys...there could be a number of things going on.

#1 He's just not that smart, doesn't realize that there's ways to protect himself and whatnot.

#2 He does know there are ways to protect himself but he simply doesn't care.

In any case, I really don't think this guy is going to care that you're stealing a little bandwidth from him. If you're downloading things with torrent, then you could expect them to get pretty heated. Anyways, most people wouldn't care if you were using their wireless signal. All my signals are unprotected and I haven't given it a second thought.
nesuser2 is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 07:26 PM   #7
Timelessblur
Banned
 
Timelessblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Some times security the singels a lot more trouble than it worth. If you start sapping up a lot of bandwith he going to get pissed and when he starts snooping around he will find out that you are on it. (Not hard just have to look at the clinet table.)

My wireless network is unproctected mainly because I can not get it to work correctly and i gotten tired of messing with it so I gave up. Instead I just the mac address I say are ok are allowed on the network a much simpler solution. If a computer with an unathorized mac address tries to get on it is booted.
Timelessblur is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 07:43 PM   #8
Logik
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
i used to run mac address filtering and WEP on my router... i live in a suburban area.. the neighborhood i live in is mostly older people (i'm 21). when the power would go out my linksys would keep getting things messed up in it's configuration settings and give me weird DHCP IP's... so now i don't use WEP or MAC filtering simply because i got sick of entering it in all the time if the power goes out.. (it would remember the settings but mess up DHCP so i would have to restart it and thus erase everything in the process). but i have a hard enough time getting wireless in my house.. i'd be suprised if anyone within 10-20 feet of my house got a signal ... i know the security risks but i just dont' give a rip anymore.. if i lived in an apartment where lots of people lived it might be different... i'm sure i show up as one of those "unsecured" access points in those studies.. but i just don'tcare.. i figure if you're lucky enough to get a signal.. have a blast lol
Logik is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 07:58 PM   #9
Manzana
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Manzana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Thanks, yeah I won't suck their bandwith. Mainly just surf, run errands online and that type of stuff.

I do feel a little guilty "using" their bandwidth, but hey if it's unprotected running the default setup maybe they don't care. At the very least they should probably know that having unprotected WiFi in a high density area invites others to use it
Manzana is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 11:49 PM   #10
Timelessblur
Banned
 
Timelessblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
I willing to bet his is still using is default password.

Go to ip 192.168.1.1 when you are connected and see if the password is still admin. just enter "admin" in the password box no user name and see if you get in, If you get in there is no way in hell he would ever figure out that you are on because he clearly did not even bother reading the manual (I am guessing this because he still is using the defeult name)
Timelessblur is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 02:49 AM   #11
MoparShaha
macrumors 68000
 
MoparShaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timelessblur
I willing to bet his is still using is default password.

Go to ip 192.168.1.1 when you are connected and see if the password is still admin. just enter "admin" in the password box no user name and see if you get in, If you get in there is no way in hell he would ever figure out that you are on because he clearly did not even bother reading the manual (I am guessing this because he still is using the defeult name)
Ha! I've done this before. I was almost tempted to lock the guy out of his own connection, but I'm not that malicious.
MoparShaha is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 03:17 AM   #12
Timelessblur
Banned
 
Timelessblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
see it because of people that would is the reason I change the one on mine pretty fast.
Timelessblur is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 03:27 AM   #13
aussie_geek
macrumors 65816
 
aussie_geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Question where is the client table??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timelessblur
(Not hard just have to look at the clinet table.)
How do you look at the client table?
aussie_geek is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 04:15 PM   #14
sigamy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ USA
Why don't you go tell him that you can access this wireless network and work out a deal where you pay him $15 or $20 per month for full access?

Unless you need the speed of the T1 or want to create your own network...
sigamy is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 04:45 PM   #15
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigamy
Why don't you go tell him that you can access this wireless network and work out a deal where you pay him $15 or $20 per month for full access?

Unless you need the speed of the T1 or want to create your own network...
Or, go to him and tell him that you can see his network and the odds are that someone else probably can, too. Offer to show him how to secure the thing if he'll allow you access for $10 a month. He'll probably be getting better service because he won't have 8 other guys logging in through his wireless connection, and you'll get a good deal as well, especially if you aren't staying that long.
emw is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 11:01 PM   #16
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
well, now that you brought this up and i set up my air port express the other day. How do i protect my self from people using my connection? I would just like my computer (or others that i asign to be allowed to use the network) I clicked on the air port utility and clicked "create a closed network" also when i clicked the "change wireless secuirty" under the wireless tab and the wireless security is set to WPA personal.... is this good?
thanks
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
128GB iPhone 6+, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 11:11 PM   #17
18thTomorrow
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Alpha Quadrant
I love finding unprotected wireless networks and I thank the gods that be for people who leave theirs open, for whatever reason. It's just really handy to sit down with the iBook at a friend's apartment and realize that I can check my e-mail. I leave my network open for the same reason. I just watch that there aren't any unusual activity spikes or anything like that. Am I stupid for doing this?
18thTomorrow is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 11:51 PM   #18
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18thTomorrow
I love finding unprotected wireless networks and I thank the gods that be for people who leave theirs open, for whatever reason. It's just really handy to sit down with the iBook at a friend's apartment and realize that I can check my e-mail. I leave my network open for the same reason. I just watch that there aren't any unusual activity spikes or anything like that. Am I stupid for doing this?
It depends - do you have firewall(s) running on your Mac(s) and PC(s)? Do you have file sharing active?

I'd just be careful to opening up my network to someone who may be looking to do something a little more insidious than simply borrow bandwidth. I say it's always safer to be secure than to hope someone won't take advantage of the opening.
emw is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post photos of your neighbors TheGenerous Wasteland 0 Apr 27, 2014 09:43 PM
Need 2 block connection to neighbors wifi johndad OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Apr 12, 2013 09:23 AM
Soon I can spy on my neighbors ........ LIVEFRMNYC Community Discussion 4 Feb 26, 2013 06:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC