Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:09 PM   #1
stoid
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
What to do with an old iMac.

I recently was given an old-ish 400Mhz Ruby iMac slot-loaded and FW with 128MB of RAM. I already have a 1.25Ghz 15 inch PowerBook, so it is certainly not my main computer. Since it can boot into 9, it is nice for playing some games that require it. What else can I do with this? Is it possible to use it's monitor as a second monitor for my PowerBook. It does have a VGA port (certainly for mirroring) in the 'butt'.
stoid is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:18 PM   #2
dotnina
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I'm not familiar with older Macs, so I'm not sure what 400MHz might do for you.

Maybe you can use it to back up files / music, in case something ever happens to your PB.

You could always go the charitable route, too, and give it away to a classroom or charity that needs it.
dotnina is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:21 PM   #3
stoid
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
It only has a 10GB hard drive, smaller than the non-music space on my iPod! I also have a LaCie 250GB FW external to store my video projects on, so I'm set in that department.
stoid is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:23 PM   #4
Duff-Man
macrumors 68030
 
Duff-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Duff-Man says....it looks to me like you don't really need it so I would say donate it somewhere...there are lots of places that would get some really good use out of it and you'll get a nice warm-fuzzy and maybe even a tax deduction....oh yeah!
__________________
Duff-Man computes with...Mac Pro 3.2GHz 8 core 18GB RAM + MacBook Pro 2.5GHz C2D + 16GB iPod Nano + iPhone 4S 32GB...Oh Yeah!
Duff-Man is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:28 PM   #5
stoid
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
I do have a use for it though. Playing my plethora of Mac OS 9 games that don't jive with Classic.

Looks like the only other use would be to perform 'mods' on it I guess. Nothing $$$-wise as I am a poor college student.
stoid is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:35 PM   #6
Macmaniac
macrumors 68040
 
Macmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile in area, somewhere on the outskirts of town by the railroad tracks
This is a cheap Mod to make your iMac look sweet.
http://www.applefritter.com/hacks/illuminatedmac
Attached Images
 
__________________
The customer is NOT always right
Macmaniac is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 09:51 PM   #7
musicpyrite
macrumors 68000
 
musicpyrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cape Cod
fold
give to charity/church/school
mod it
take a sledge hammer too it

comon! use your imagination!

Personally, I would put in a 160 or 200GB hard drive, new speakers, and use it to listen to music/or backup.

If I were you with a PowerBook, I'd use it as a dual display thing you mentioned earlier.
__________________
For SCIENCE!!
musicpyrite is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 10:00 PM   #8
stoid
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
That neon blue mod is rather nice, and I would REALLY REALLY like to use it as a second display for my laptop. Is such a thing possible?
stoid is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 10:18 PM   #9
Horrortaxi
macrumors 68020
 
Horrortaxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicpyrite
Personally, I would put in a 160 or 200GB hard drive, new speakers, and use it to listen to music/or backup.
Not to be overly picky, but it won't see much over 120GB. Good idea otherwise. Put it on your home network for all your music or something.
Horrortaxi is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 10:26 PM   #10
Cheese
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In the refrigerated section at your grocer
A 400 iMac is great in every way. It is my ONLY computer presently, and there is nothing I can imagine better for the money than my iMac DV400. YOu could donate it to me, if you are really desperate for something good to do with it, but I am sure that it will be a great computer fopr you as long as you wish to use it.
__________________
Cure Autism Now
LOOK, I'm a 6502!!!!!
Cheese is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 10:42 PM   #11
jtgotsjets
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lawrence, KS
Send a message via AIM to jtgotsjets
I could always buy it from you.
__________________
-24" iMac, 2.66 GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM
jtgotsjets is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 10:42 PM   #12
QCassidy352
macrumors G3
 
QCassidy352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
I'd sell it, but that's just me...
__________________
"If Jesus Himself came back to earth and turned water to wine, half of MacRumors would say 'meh, this is red. I wanted white.'"
QCassidy352 is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 11:06 PM   #13
sigamy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ USA
yeah, put that iMac to work! Install Folding@home or even SETI@home and let it run 24x7. Keep a record of the uptime, it'll probably never crash.
sigamy is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2004, 11:56 PM   #14
Coca-Cola
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WA
Send a message via AIM to Coca-Cola Send a message via Yahoo to Coca-Cola
Sell it on ebay, get some cash, buy a new application for your powerbook.
__________________
12-inch Powerbook 867, Rev a iPod,
Coca-Cola is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 12:23 AM   #15
FredAkbar
macrumors 6502a
 
FredAkbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigamy
yeah, put that iMac to work! Install Folding@home or even SETI@home and let it run 24x7. Keep a record of the uptime, it'll probably never crash.
Ya never know, with OS 9 ...is there even a folding@home client for OS 9? I know there's a seti client for it though. Personally I would upgrade the RAM (at least to 256 MB) and put OS X on there if you have a copy (besides the one that came with your PowerBook, as that might not work). I used a 400 MHz iMac with 256 MB of RAM for over a year (we still have it, but I have a newer iMac, see the sig), it's not as slow as some people will tell you.
__________________
Fred
27" iMac / 3.4 GHz Core i7 / 8 GB / OS 10.10 PB3
AdiumX | FreeRice
FredAkbar is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 12:32 AM   #16
ltgator333
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Albion, MI
Send a message via MSN to ltgator333 Send a message via Yahoo to ltgator333
ok...
I see you like using it to play your written for OS 9 games, so really selling it when you have a good use for it to me seems kinda like a not so good idea. At that time an iMac wasn't all that poorly performing computer, and if your games are written for OS 9 then they can't have too big and bad of system requirements really, and the iMac should be able to satisfy those adequately. I agree about the hard disk thing, I don't beleive that it will recognize a disk any bigger than let's say there about 120Gb, but really even a 80Gb or 40Gb disk should do you fine, and you can pick them up pretty cheap even from your local PC shop. Then, I would suggest at some point sticking another 128Mb or RAM in it, but not necessarily right away.
To make the machine more useful right away though, you could set up the iMac to act as a file server and acess your data on the firewire disk via a LAN between the two machines. This way, your PBook never has to 'deal' with data storage. Also using it for a jukebox isn't a bad idea.
Just use your imagination and you can make this thing quite useful.
__________________
I just want a 64 proc IBM- at least if it dies I can use it for a table...
ltgator333 is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 01:44 AM   #17
paxtonandrew
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: I Come From A Land Down Under
Send a message via MSN to paxtonandrew
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredAkbar
Ya never know, with OS 9 ...is there even a folding@home client for OS 9? I know there's a seti client for it though. Personally I would upgrade the RAM (at least to 256 MB) and put OS X on there if you have a copy (besides the one that came with your PowerBook, as that might not work). I used a 400 MHz iMac with 256 MB of RAM for over a year (we still have it, but I have a newer iMac, see the sig), it's not as slow as some people will tell you.
There is no OS9 client for Folding@Home. Personally i agree, and would perform the upgrades and then run Panther (or Jaguar) I have to say, the G3 will have a hard time folding. I could only run that by itself with my iMac.
__________________
People Trust Holwoo
paxtonandrew is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 02:15 AM   #18
crap freakboy
macrumors 6502a
 
crap freakboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: nar in Gainsborough, me duck
Send a message via AIM to crap freakboy
Panther runs fine on my 3 year olds imacdv 400 FYI.
__________________
"It's grim oop North!"
I reserve the right to change my mind

pudong50member
crap freakboy is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 03:44 AM   #19
5300cs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicpyrite
...take a sledge hammer too it...
Gee, there's a good idea

Are you interested in Linux? Partition off the drive and fool around with Linux maybe?
__________________
5300cs is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 04:10 AM   #20
punkmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
ruby iMac

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoid
I recently was given an old-ish 400Mhz Ruby iMac slot-loaded and FW with 128MB of RAM. I already have a 1.25Ghz 15 inch PowerBook, so it is certainly not my main computer. Since it can boot into 9, it is nice for playing some games that require it. What else can I do with this? Is it possible to use it's monitor as a second monitor for my PowerBook. It does have a VGA port (certainly for mirroring) in the 'butt'.
How much would you ask for it?

I have 2 sons and another on the way a crt iMac would be perfect for them.


Just for a reference Apple sells 1 ghz G4 eMacs for $549.



Thanks,


I.
punkmac is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:20 AM   #21
mattthemutt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Send a message via MSN to mattthemutt
I'd buy it cuz I'm in need of a Mac in my household which is all PCs.
__________________
Mac Mini OS X, 1.5 GHz, 1024MB, 80GB, Combo Drive
MacBook Core 2 Duo 1.83Ghz
mattthemutt is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:31 AM   #22
Sol
macrumors 65832
 
Sol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to Sol
Jukebox and LAN games

Those 2nd generation iMacs are really good. They are completely silent, making them ideal as music jukeboxes connected to a hi-fi system.

If you like playing then you can network the iMac with the PowerBook and invite friends to play LAN games on it. Quake 3 and Aliens vs Predator should provide months of amusement. Those iMacs accept Airport cards, Firewire and Ethernet so you are spoiled for networking choices.
__________________
DOWN WITH BIG BROTHER
Sol is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:43 AM   #23
win_convert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aus.
I am sure that micro$oft will be happy to take it off your hands to use it in there "computers for the poor" or whatever program.
win_convert is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 08:28 AM   #24
cubist
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Muncie, Indiana
Send a message via AIM to cubist
If you upgrade the HD, watch out as the cooling is limited down there. I think the model you have takes DIMM RAM, so you can put a 512MB in there and run Panther not too badly. It'd be a good word processor/web machine - heck, it'll run 90% of what people run very nicely.

Plus I might note that the "Ruby" color is somewhat rare. You'll find that this model goes for surprising amounts of money on eBay.
cubist is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 08:39 AM   #25
wPod
macrumors 68000
 
wPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, CO
partymac

in one word. . . partymac. . . drop in a larger drive (larger than your iPod) and then hook it up to your stereo system. dump all your music on it then listen to the music at parties. and to be really cool, invite all your friends over to drop in their own CDs or mp3s and make a huge party list from all of your friends. you can get some cool vizualizers or just use apple's stock vizualizer to dazel your guests. this way you can have a cool party w/o getting crumbs on your nice 15" PB. . . i just had an airport express party this weekend with my new airport express and my 12" PB. i let people pass around the PB and pick a song to put on the party shuffle. i was sooo worried about my PB . . . with an old iMac you wont have to be worried about something bad happening, and im sure its much easier to fix!
wPod is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got an email from apple about my new iMac? I didnt buy a new iMac lol wtf? aPple nErd Community Discussion 19 Sep 16, 2014 11:20 PM
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 09:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 09:27 AM
iMac clicking/static sound when screen if off but iMac still working in background MartinAppleGuy iMac 0 Dec 12, 2013 09:41 AM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 08:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC