Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:04 PM   #1
thecow
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Timonium MD
Send a message via AIM to thecow
Help with an old Mac clone

I have a Power Computing Power Center 132 that I am trying to revive. It sat in my basement for about 2 years and it was never turned on during that time. Before I put it down there it ran OS 9 perfectly well. I brought it up because I wanted to use it as a printer server for the Apple laser printer that I have. The first time I pressed the power button, the only thing that happened was the fans turning on. I jiggled the ram a little bit and made sure all of the connections were good. Than when I pressed the power button it showed a picture of a disk with a question mark on it. I tried booting from the cd that came with it and it still showed the question mark. I played around with the SCSI jumpers and it still didn't work. I am out of ideas. Can anyone help?

Edit: It has a sonnet G3 upgrade card in it, but when I pulled it out it didn't even get to the question mark.
__________________
Procrastinators of the world unite tomorrow!
thecow is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:09 PM   #2
vraxtus
macrumors 65816
 
vraxtus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Send a message via AIM to vraxtus
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecow
I have a Power Computing Power Center 132 that I am trying to revive. It sat in my basement for about 2 years and it was never turned on during that time. Before I put it down there it ran OS 9 perfectly well. I brought it up because I wanted to use it as a printer server for the Apple laser printer that I have. The first time I pressed the power button, the only thing that happened was the fans turning on. I jiggled the ram a little bit and made sure all of the connections were good. Than when I pressed the power button it showed a picture of a disk with a question mark on it. I tried booting from the cd that came with it and it still showed the question mark. I played around with the SCSI jumpers and it still didn't work. I am out of ideas. Can anyone help?

Edit: It has a sonnet G3 upgrade card in it, but it didn't even get to the question mark.

I don't know about desktops but I had an old Duo 280C that used to work fine, then one day after a year or two of non use I pulled it out and it wouldn't even start up... the comp may just be dead.
__________________
"Whenever you read a good book, it's like the author is right there, in the room, talking to you, which is why I don't like to read good books."
vraxtus is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:24 PM   #3
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
lol, pulling out the G3 upgrade card leaves the machine sans CPU since its been using that to startup (even if there is another CPU, computers often have problems going from add-on card back to primary CPU).
__________________
Macbook Air 2010
Core 2 Duo 2.13Ghz
4GB DDR3 RAM
iPhone 5 Black
crazzyeddie is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:40 PM   #4
thecow
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Timonium MD
Send a message via AIM to thecow
After I pulled the CPU, I put it back in after I shut it down. I was just pulling pieces to see if anything was bad. It did the same thing with the old CPU.
__________________
Procrastinators of the world unite tomorrow!
thecow is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:44 PM   #5
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Ever think of checking/changing the battery?

Some of the machines built during that period have bad reactions to dead batteries.

---

Edit: As crazzyeddie mentioned, the add-on card can be a problem -- especially with a dead battery.

The card may have required something to be loaded into PRAM, and the dead battery means it's no longer there.

May have to redo the entire upgrade card sequence after the new battery is installed.
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.

Last edited by Sun Baked; Aug 23, 2004 at 06:47 PM.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 06:56 PM   #6
thecow
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Timonium MD
Send a message via AIM to thecow
I didn't think of changing the battery. The battery is just a 3.7v lithium battery that I should be able to get at a camera store. I will try that tomorrow.
__________________
Procrastinators of the world unite tomorrow!
thecow is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone have experience with an old MBP with old ssd? Ulf1103 MacBook Pro 0 Jun 25, 2011 05:24 AM
need some help with an old hard drive iWinnipegger Mac Basics and Help 1 Jul 2, 2008 07:26 PM
Need helping with an old apple game erykah Apple Collectors 8 Feb 18, 2007 08:31 PM
Need Help Identifying An Old Mac Adam Chase Apple Collectors 12 Oct 11, 2005 11:20 PM
Need Help Finding an Old Mac Game mgiddy911 Games 5 Aug 6, 2004 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC