Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 23, 2004, 09:56 PM   #1
thecow
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Timonium MD
Send a message via AIM to thecow
PowerBook FSB overclock

I have a 400 MHz TiBook with pc133 ram in it and I was wondering if there is a way to overclock the FSB from 100 MHz to 133 MHz. It would be good if I could somehow do this without soldering on my logic board because I wouldn't feel very comfortable doing this.
__________________
Procrastinators of the world unite tomorrow!
thecow is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 10:03 PM   #2
jimsowden
macrumors 68000
 
jimsowden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecow
I have a 400 MHz TiBook with pc133 ram in it and I was wondering if there is a way to overclock the FSB from 100 MHz to 133 MHz. It would be good if I could somehow do this without soldering on my logic board because I wouldn't feel very comfortable doing this.
Instead of doing something that would do next to nothing, why not just get a new computer?
__________________
Maybe Apple's just keeping it simple
jimsowden is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 10:13 PM   #3
pyrotoaster
macrumors 65816
 
pyrotoaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oak Park, IL
Yeah, that really isn't a good idea.
If it works, it won't do much (if anything) to speed up your Powerbook.
If it doesn't work, your Powerbook is broken.
__________________
AppleWorks is DEAD!
Muwah-ha-ha...!
pyrotoaster is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 10:15 PM   #4
thecow
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Timonium MD
Send a message via AIM to thecow
I am waiting for the g5 powerbooks and while I am waiting I am trying to make my laptop as fast as I can without spending too much.
__________________
Procrastinators of the world unite tomorrow!
thecow is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 10:20 PM   #5
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
You'd be overclocking the FSB and reducing the multiplier on the CPU to keep it at 400MHz -- otherwise you'd kill the CPU and/or logic board.

Overclocking is generally not worth the risk unless the CPU is widely known for being stable at higher MHz -- which very few of the PPCs are know for.

And Motorola had a heck of a time at 400MHz.

Plus doing it in a notebook is rather crazy/risky.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2004, 10:48 PM   #6
musicpyrite
macrumors 68000
 
musicpyrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cape Cod
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked
Plus doing it in a notebook is rather crazy/risky.
Yes, there are reasons as to why, on average, notebook is clocked lower than a desktop, is because of the heat. And as we should know, heat WILL kill your processor.

So I wouldn't recommend overclocking ANYTHING on a laptop.

As for overclocking on a Mac, how do you change the multipliers or the FSB?
__________________
For SCIENCE!!
musicpyrite is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macpro3,1. The last FSB of its kind. FSB vs QPI, major difference? Korican100 Mac Pro 8 Jul 30, 2013 06:47 PM
Newbie Question - RAM deficiency or FSB bottleneck? jman995x Mac Basics and Help 3 Jul 2, 2013 08:06 AM
Possible to overclock 1,1s? GXPvince Mac Pro 3 Jan 10, 2013 07:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC