Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 24, 2004, 09:36 PM   #1
Ja Di ksw
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Send a message via AIM to Ja Di ksw
airport password and transfer speeds

Hi all. I have an airport extreme that works, for the most part, well. The only problem with it is that when my girlfriend comes over, her powerbook won't work with it unless I take off the password. If the password is gone, it works. If I turn the password on, it won't. We know we're typing it in correctly on her computer, its a short password all in lower caps, and we've done it over and over. Why can't her computer get through the password? My computer is the newest 15" pb, 1.5 GHz, her's is the same com, just one generation earlier. I doubt that stuff matters, but might as well put it.

The other thing is, with the airport extreme, it says it can transfer at up to 54 Mbps. I've never come even close to this. Sending something 150 or so Mb to another computer on the airport network, such as through Rendevous, takes not that much time, but definitely a lot longer than 3 seconds. How can you get 54 Mbps? Is there a good program to get that speed between winblows (roommate, sigh) and mac?

Thanks
__________________
Fetch Daddy's blue fright wig! I must be handsome when I unleash my rage.

Last edited by Ja Di ksw; Aug 24, 2004 at 09:38 PM.
Ja Di ksw is offline   0
Old Aug 25, 2004, 02:07 AM   #2
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
If you click the apple icon on the top left and look under location is the PB on automatic. Also, if she has an basestation with the same name as your basestation, but without a password and saved under a location that would cause the problem as well.
superbovine is offline   0
Old Aug 25, 2004, 03:26 AM   #3
geeman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: At My Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ja Di ksw
The other thing is, with the airport extreme, it says it can transfer at up to 54 Mbps. I've never come even close to this. Sending something 150 or so Mb to another computer on the airport network, such as through Rendevous, takes not that much time, but definitely a lot longer than 3 seconds. How can you get 54 Mbps? Is there a good program to get that speed between winblows (roommate, sigh) and mac?
You're not comparing like with like.

54mbps is "fifty four mega BITS per second"

150Mb is "one hundred and fifty mega BYTES"

54mb is a little less than 7Mb. While you're never going to get the full 54 megabits, 150/7 is around 21 seconds. Does that sound nearer to the transfer rate you're getting?

Also bear in mind that the Airport Extreme drops down to 11mbps if you're further than about 50 feet from the base station.


Hope that helps
__________________
Gray hair is a sign of age, not of wisdom.
geeman is offline   0
Old Aug 25, 2004, 12:02 PM   #4
Ja Di ksw
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Send a message via AIM to Ja Di ksw
Quote:
Originally Posted by geeman
You're not comparing like with like.

54mbps is "fifty four mega BITS per second"

150Mb is "one hundred and fifty mega BYTES"

54mb is a little less than 7Mb. While you're never going to get the full 54 megabits, 150/7 is around 21 seconds. Does that sound nearer to the transfer rate you're getting?

Also bear in mind that the Airport Extreme drops down to 11mbps if you're further than about 50 feet from the base station.


Hope that helps
Ah, it does, didn't know it was Bits, not Bytes. Thanks

I'll try superbovine's tips when she comes over next with her pb, thanks.
__________________
Fetch Daddy's blue fright wig! I must be handsome when I unleash my rage.
Ja Di ksw is offline   0
Old Aug 25, 2004, 01:14 PM   #5
macjersey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
On the password problem- check your encryption. If you configure an airport base using 10.3, it defaults to WPA encrption. Then if a 10.2 machine tries to join, it'll have a problem. WPA wasn't built in to 10.2 or in most PC OSs.
macjersey is offline   0
Old Aug 25, 2004, 03:41 PM   #6
Ja Di ksw
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Send a message via AIM to Ja Di ksw
Quote:
Originally Posted by macjersey
On the password problem- check your encryption. If you configure an airport base using 10.3, it defaults to WPA encrption. Then if a 10.2 machine tries to join, it'll have a problem. WPA wasn't built in to 10.2 or in most PC OSs.
It's on WPA, but she has OS 10.3
__________________
Fetch Daddy's blue fright wig! I must be handsome when I unleash my rage.
Ja Di ksw is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very slow transfer speeds jcschlic Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 23, 2014 09:22 AM
?USB 3.0 gives 2.0 Transfer Speeds? LeicaM8 Mac Pro 10 Apr 15, 2013 08:54 PM
Very slow transfer speeds from one HDD to another Xzag Mac Pro 4 Jan 21, 2013 11:18 AM
Checking transfer speeds jc244 Mac mini 5 Nov 12, 2012 12:35 PM
Wireless transfer speeds? ggulliver Mac Peripherals 5 Aug 15, 2012 11:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC