Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 26, 2004, 06:04 AM   #1
Farinmail I
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Question Switcher requires some tech help/advice

I've recently switched from a PC to a new 15" Powerbook and have a query about wireless internet. I got connected to Broadband, but my ISP (BT) only supplied me with a (free) USB modem. How do I connect this to my Airport Base Station? Can I buy a lead to connect the USB plug into an ethernet-ended cable to go into the Base Station, or do I need to get a new modem (if so, what sort?). I'm not sure if i need an ADSL Router or an ADSL Modem (with RJ45 Ethernet port). I though that the Airport Base Station was a router (is it? - what is the difference, if not?). Can I avoid buying another modem?

Great machine and operating system - I wish I'd switched ages ago (Always wanted a Mac and thought about buying one when PowerPC first came out!).

Thanks.
Farinmail I is offline   0
Old Aug 26, 2004, 06:07 AM   #2
Applespider
macrumors 603
 
Applespider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
See the thread in the forum about broadband and wireless (it's directly under this one at the moment!)

Basically, the free USB modem probably won't work with your base station - unless it's got an ethernet port (unlikely with most of the free ones). You need to get an ADSL modem that has a ethernet port on it so you can plug that into your base station.

The other thread has some details of an ADSL modem for 30 or so that will do the job.
Applespider is offline   0
Old Aug 26, 2004, 06:22 AM   #3
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applespider
See the thread in the forum about broadband and wireless (it's directly under this one at the moment!)
This one.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice regarding tech problem with SMC Fan Control BlakOpal MacBook Pro 2 May 11, 2014 09:30 PM
iPhone: APP REQUIRES 6.0 or above 5.1.1 here ANY TIPS? rhythmcontrol Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Feb 23, 2014 06:25 PM
10.9 DP5 requires 7.5 gb to install kensic OS X Mavericks (10.9) 14 Aug 23, 2013 12:10 AM
All iPads: iPad 4 requires iTunes 11... skillwill iPad 4 Nov 2, 2012 11:29 PM
Buying new tech regularly or keeping old tech longer, which is more cost-effective? MusicEnthusiast Community Discussion 7 Jul 26, 2012 11:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC