Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2010, 02:42 PM   #1
ferrari486
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Send a message via Yahoo to ferrari486
how to make a os9 boot disc for imac g3

i have an imac g3 with no os on it and i need a way to make an os 9 boot disc
ferrari486 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 02:45 PM   #2
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Just out of interest, do you have a copy of Mac OS 9 already or a OS 9 partition on a Mac. If your iMac supports it, FireWire Target Disc Mode could be a way to boot the iMac (Works with my iMac G3/500 - and is how I put my copy os OS 9.1 on it).
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 03:19 PM   #3
ferrari486
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Send a message via Yahoo to ferrari486
i have an os9 disc that came with my mac mini and i have os9.2.2 running on an ibook
ferrari486 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 03:38 PM   #4
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
The OS 9 Disc that came with your mini is unsuitable for use on your Mini as it is designed to be used within the OS X Classic environment. One thing you could try is cloning your iBooks 9.2.2 drive to the iMac (use an USB enclosure for both, and something like Carbon Copy Cloner) to do this. Just out of interest, why dont you put OS X on the iMac (Mine has 10.3 and 10.4 on it and both work fine).
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 04:28 PM   #5
ferrari486
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Send a message via Yahoo to ferrari486
i would put osx in the imac if i had a dvd drive for it

so is there any way to make a boot disk
ferrari486 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 06:02 PM   #6
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
no legal way
you can purchase osx cd version , so you dont need a dvd drive
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make Safari stop using Acrobat for PDF preview? Dr_Maybe Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jan 15, 2013 04:30 PM
Screen Flickering on iMac G3 DV after upgrade to Mac OS X Coolmatt49 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 19, 2011 02:43 AM
How to make an Emgency Boot Disc duggram OS X 4 Jun 12, 2011 07:09 AM
I have an idea on how to make the PS3 work on an iMac... thiagos iMac 2 Dec 31, 2009 03:07 AM
Is there a way to make the default boot DR be iMac using BootCamp? WizardHunt Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 May 18, 2009 07:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC