Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2010, 03:15 PM   #1
jcb815
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Opening ports on OS X Snow Leopard - HELP!

Hey, I just got a 27" iMac i7 and want to forward my ports for downloading torrents. I can't find any websites that clearly show me how to open the ports. I have a Belkin F5D8235-4 router. I'm having trouble setting up the static ip address.

If you can find any sites that can show me or if you can please help!

Also I need help finding my DNS! Thanks.
__________________
27" iMac, i7 core, 4 gb
3rd gen 4g iPad, 16gb
iPhone 5, 16gb
jcb815 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 03:44 PM   #2
NewMacbookPlz
macrumors 68040
 
NewMacbookPlz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Not sure about the ports, but for DNS settings:

System preferences-->Network-->(choose your network connection on the left)-->Advanced-->DNS tab at the top
__________________
Collector's Edition 2.0ghz Aluminum MacBook, 8 GB iPhone EDGE, Canon 450D/50mm f1.8
NewMacbookPlz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 04:10 PM   #3
Chris.L
macrumors 6502a
 
Chris.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Have you looked at PortForward?

To set yourself a static address can either be done as a DHCP reservation on your DHCP server or you can go into Network Settings on your iMac and set a static address by changing the IPv4 field from DHCP to manual and then port the necessary settings in. This may cause conflicts in the future tho.

To allow OS X to open the port, you should be able to just modify the Firewall and list that application as allowing incoming transmissions
__________________
New to forums?
Chris.L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 04:30 PM   #4
Denarius
macrumors 6502a
 
Denarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gironde, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcb815 View Post
Hey, I just got a 27" iMac i7 and want to forward my ports for downloading torrents. I can't find any websites that clearly show me how to open the ports. I have a Belkin F5D8235-4 router. I'm having trouble setting up the static ip address.

If you can find any sites that can show me or if you can please help!

Also I need help finding my DNS! Thanks.
For the ports you need to go to System Preferences>Security, then the firewall tab, then Advanced, then the + sign and chosse the relevant app. That said, I prefer to enable uPNP in the torrent program and in the router, which saves a lot of unecessary hassle. Snow leopard doesn't seem to offer specific port forwarding, only allowing it for specific applications.

For static IP, just pick something on the same subnet as your router, so if your router is 192.168.1.1 then you'd set:

router: 192.168.168.(any number between 2 and 254 that's not already used by a device on the network)
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Router: 192.168.1.1
DNS: 8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4 (Google DNS servers),
__________________
-MacBook Pro 15" 2.2GHz Santa Rosa 4GB 320gb 7200rpm (slightly dented from having a shelf land on it and from a rather unfortunate tumble from the table)
-OS 10.5.8 (XBench score 134)
Denarius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 10:08 PM   #5
kwdaye
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: cincinnati, OH
What if the what I am trying to port is not an application. I have an IP camera and I need to port 554, when I goto the firewall to add it there is no application for it. So again how do you open port 554.


Thank you,
Kevin
kwdaye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 10:57 PM   #6
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwdaye View Post
What if the what I am trying to port is not an application. I have an IP camera and I need to port 554, when I goto the firewall to add it there is no application for it. So again how do you open port 554.


Thank you,
Kevin
This is your first post in this thread. How do you expect people to answer your question before you ask it? What is more, you didn't bother to give the model of your router. You have to give information to get information

Now to get you a little bit further down the road: I assume that your router is similar to my Linksys. If this is the case, then you are not restricted to ports assorted with common protocols. The router's administrative web page for access restrictions allows any port to be opened. You may type in the name of any application and the range of ports associated with that application that you want opened. You may then add this (these) port(s) to the existing set of open ports.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac was running Snow Leo; Genius put Mtn Lion; I NEED Snow Leopard back; have disk SophiaSapphire Mac Basics and Help 14 Oct 20, 2013 12:17 PM
Leopard to Snow Leopard on MBP 2009 - worth it? uncleMonty OS X 6 Feb 17, 2013 12:28 PM
Downgrading from Lion to Snow using time machine and USB (Snow Leopard) djarsalan2006 OS X 0 Jan 18, 2013 11:37 PM
Upgrade Leopard to Snow Leopard 2008 iMac? roberttrussell MacBook 1 Nov 18, 2012 05:02 PM
Syncing iPhone 5 on PPC Leopard via a Snow Leopard Macbook Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 2 Oct 2, 2012 08:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC