Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2010, 11:18 AM   #1
glossywhite
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
eMac 1.42Ghz - missing screen resolutions in list - help!

Hi there. I just installed "SwitchResX" (stupidly - IMPOSSIBLE to get rid of! ) and now two of the default eMac screen resolutions are missing in:

System Preferences >> Displays:

Please someone, tell me how to rid myself of this crappy software, and also how to get back my default resolutions in SysPrefs - I am losing my mind here!.

Thanks so much!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	18
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	214904  
glossywhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 12:09 PM   #2
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
dont know anything about switchresx , have you tried to reset to factory settings under geometry in the screen settings ?
reseting pram?


btw switchresx says
Simply choose the Uninstall item from the "SwitchResX Control" menu in the Preferences application, and all components will be removed.


or you could try it with displayconfigx if the above does not help , i used it to give my eMac the resolution of the external monitor (screen spanning ) 1280x1024 but was not ideal so i lowered res again to 1024x768 on both
http://www.3dexpress.de/ dont worry english language available
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Feb 15, 2010 at 12:31 PM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 12:40 PM   #3
glossywhite
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
dont know anything about switchresx , have you tried to reset to factory settings under geometry in the screen settings ?
reseting pram?


btw switchresx says
Simply choose the Uninstall item from the "SwitchResX Control" menu in the Preferences application, and all components will be removed.


or you could try it with displayconfigx if the above does not help , i used it to give my eMac the resolution of the external monitor (screen spanning ) 1280x1024 but was not ideal so i lowered res again to 1024x768 on both
http://www.3dexpress.de/ dont worry english language available
Yes I tried the so-called "help" on their site, but there is no option to uninstall - I later found you have to use the installer package to uninstall it so zero stars for their "FAQ".

I also tried geometry settings to default - no joy

[EDIT] I even did a safe boot, but the resolutions are STILL MISSING!. Help!

I also tried CMD-OPT-P-R and then:

reset-nvram
set-defaults
reset-all


in open firmware, and it still didn't fix it!.

I am getting a bit pissed now tbh.

Last edited by glossywhite; Feb 15, 2010 at 01:17 PM.
glossywhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 01:49 PM   #4
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
ah i forgot one thing

1 uninstall whatever is to uninstall in both programs (resolution settings ) then both programs in the trash and empty trash and restart , no changes yet you will still have the programns resolutions as options ,dont worry,
now
go in "finder" macintosh hd (or how you called it)
go in system
go in library
go in displays
go in overrides
delete all with the dates that match the install of switchresx and displayconfigx (do NOT delete "overrides" folder itself )
(need to be admin with password in order to delete )
and your native resolutions should be back after restart
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 02:41 PM   #5
glossywhite
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
ah i forgot one thing

1 uninstall whatever is to uninstall in both programs (resolution settings ) then both programs in the trash and empty trash and restart , no changes yet you will still have the programns resolutions as options ,dont worry,
now
go in "finder" macintosh hd (or how you called it)
go in system
go in library
go in displays
go in overrides
delete all with the dates that match the install of switchresx and displayconfigx (do NOT delete "overrides" folder itself )
(need to be admin with password in order to delete )
and your native resolutions should be back after restart
Argh - I deleted the sub-folders of /System/Library/Displays/Overrides that corresponded to today's date - I guess I should have expanded them, and removed the individual FILES within them?.

I'm not blaming you, but one of the original resolutions is still missing, and I didn't find your post to be particularly accurate, but never mind.

Thanks for trying
glossywhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 03:51 PM   #6
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
oh

just one thing ,ok a bit late now, but for the future get a external firewire harddrive
make a backup with carbon copy cloner of your harddrive , after you reinstalled your system and apps , so it does not need to be a 1tb drive a small one depending how many apps and personal files you got will do the job
that way you got a working backup, which you can always use
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 04:04 PM   #7
glossywhite
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
oh

just one thing ,ok a bit late now, but for the future get a external firewire harddrive
make a backup with carbon copy cloner of your harddrive , after you reinstalled your system and apps , so it does not need to be a 1tb drive a small one depending how many apps and personal files you got will do the job
that way you got a working backup, which you can always use
I've been making DMGs for years, and yes, I should have done that - isn't hindsight annoying?!.

Fwiw, I don't see what all the fuss is about with CCC - I've always used Disk Utility, either from OS X or from the DVD; same outcome - a DMG of my Mac .
glossywhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 04:48 PM   #8
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
ccc makes a exact copy a bootable one , means you can direct boot from the copy on the external drive, or in other words you could experiment with the external osx while the internal stays untouched
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 06:09 PM   #9
glossywhite
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
ccc makes a exact copy a bootable one , means you can direct boot from the copy on the external drive, or in other words you could experiment with the external osx while the internal stays untouched
... as does Disk Utility.
glossywhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instead of increasing screen resolutions... Cod3rror Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 9 Mar 2, 2014 01:40 PM
2012 Mini - List of supported resolutions Fishrrman Mac mini 8 Jun 18, 2013 10:53 AM
Question About Different Screen Resolutions thejackinthepac MacBook Air 2 Sep 25, 2012 04:17 PM
iPad Mini Possible screen resolutions. zeetee96 iPad 9 Aug 13, 2012 07:02 PM
Beamer and missing stretched resolutions jurgenp OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jul 30, 2012 08:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC