Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2010, 12:29 PM   #1
ljonesj
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
using a power mac g4 digital audio

i have tiger runnning on this machine i was wondering how to get this machine to be a print server for my computers which is a mix of windows xp, vista and linux 9.10 ubuntu and a mac mini late 09 model its the 2.53 ghz and 4 gigs of ram. i have were my vista machine is seeing the machine but i am not able to access the share so i was wondering how to get my vista machine to access it i dont know about the xp machine yet thou
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 02:45 AM   #2
ljonesj
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
bump I have also got my windows vista machine actualy access the machine as a share i just want to get my windows vista machine to use the old g4 as a print server but it keeps on saying it does not have the right printer drivers on the g4
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 05:19 AM   #3
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Then download the drivers.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 09:03 AM   #4
acluett89
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
You might also consider some ducting between the CPU heatsink and a fan, or between the mounted heatsink fans and the outside world. This will ensure that there is at least some airflow that is dedicated to cooling the CPU.
__________________
Toronto Mortgage
acluett89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 02:22 AM   #5
ljonesj
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
huh to last poster why would i do that as its a g4 digital audio its max is a 533mhz proc and i do have the drivers for the printer installed on the vista machine as it was hooked up to it but i wanted more desk space so i done it this way and it says the server does not have the drivers for my linux machine and the osx machine when i try to use the printer from vista and the osx machine has the latest updated drivers from hp
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 02:23 AM   #6
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljonesj View Post
huh to last poster and i do have the drivers for the printer installed on the vista machine as it was hooked up to it but i wanted more desk space so i done it this way and it ays the server does not have the drivers for my linux machine and the osx machine when i try to use the printer from vista
You answered your own question.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 02:58 AM   #7
ljonesj
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
ok i must be missing something drivers are installed on the osx box for the printer and they are also installed on the windows machine for the same printer but when i try to connect the windows machine to the osx box that is hooked up to the printer with all the file and print sharing on it still says i need the proper drivers so now how do u explain that and dont say i answered my own ? as i have not
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 05:05 AM   #8
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Go the the manufacturer website and get the latest drivers.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 10:28 AM   #9
ljonesj
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
lol i have for both and just for giggles how do u set up a print share in general for a windows vista that the printer is hooked up on a osx machine running tiger
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: digital audio out of lightning connector to mac? hugodrax iPad 3 Sep 3, 2014 10:26 AM
New Mac: Power Mac G4 466MHz Digital Audio gavinstubbs09 PowerPC Macs 16 Apr 30, 2014 09:35 AM
Digital audio problems with new Mac Pro cfshelor Mac Pro 4 Mar 22, 2014 10:50 AM
USB Digital Audio Adapter and Mac 5.1/dts VideoBeagle Digital Audio 3 Mar 25, 2013 04:15 PM
Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio) CPU upgrade Navare PowerPC Macs 23 Feb 2, 2013 10:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC