Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 28, 2004, 04:28 PM   #1
ntscan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
new 40g ipod buffer size?

is it still 32mb like in the 3rd generation?....you wonder why apple doesn't put this info on its web site.....
ntscan is offline   0
Old Aug 28, 2004, 06:11 PM   #2
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
Why wouldn't it still be 32MB? Its a pretty good size from what most people have said.
__________________

Macbook Pro 15"
8GB DDR3 RAM
iPhone 6 Silver
crazzyeddie is offline   0
Old Aug 28, 2004, 07:17 PM   #3
musicpyrite
macrumors 68000
 
musicpyrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cape Cod
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazzyeddie
Why wouldn't it still be 32MB? Its a pretty good size from what most people have said.
Apple needs to use a larger buffer. It takes a lot less power to read from a buffer than from a hard disk.

Using a larger buffer would drastically improve battery life. Just look at these flash players that get 40+ hours on a single AAA battery.

And by the way, I think the 3rd gen iPods have a 60 MB buffer, I don't know about 1st or 2nd though.
__________________
For SCIENCE!!
musicpyrite is offline   0
Old Aug 28, 2004, 09:59 PM   #4
Abstract
macrumors Penryn
 
Abstract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location Location
No, the 3rd and 4th Gen both have the same buffer. Not sure about the 1st and 2nd Gen, but the 1st Gen had a 7 minute buffer, I believe.

Also, if the buffer size was increased, it means that the HDD would have to spin for longer in order to fill it, which results in a greater probably to skip during a shake. I think the remedy is to give it a bigger buffer, but also increase the HDD speed. That way, it doesn't take 50% longer to fill a buffer that's 50% larger.
__________________
"Hard? It's supposed to be hard. Hard is what makes it great!" - Tom Hanks.
Abstract is offline   0
Old Aug 28, 2004, 10:16 PM   #5
toughboy
macrumors 6502a
 
toughboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Izmir, Turkey
Send a message via ICQ to toughboy Send a message via MSN to toughboy
WOW

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntscan
is it still 32mb like in the 3rd generation?....you wonder why apple doesn't put this info on its web site.....
is it really 32mb on all iPod 3Gs??? isnt that HUGE?!
__________________
12" PB G4 Rev A ~ "Ice" (what an irony!)
15.2" PB G4 ~ "DevIce"
17" MBP 2.5GHz/4GB/ Hi-Res LED Screen FTW! ~ "BigMac"
toughboy is offline   0
Old Aug 28, 2004, 10:33 PM   #6
Abstract
macrumors Penryn
 
Abstract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location Location
Well its 256Mb (Megabits), or 32 MB (MegaBytes).
__________________
"Hard? It's supposed to be hard. Hard is what makes it great!" - Tom Hanks.
Abstract is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV 3 6.1 Update Buffer Issue kittonian Apple TV and Home Theater 176 Oct 1, 2014 02:37 PM
Youtube buffer resets on Safari dguay Mac Basics and Help 1 Mar 28, 2014 07:59 AM
live feed buffer problem isabel1958 MacBook Pro 0 Feb 19, 2014 04:04 PM
to buffer or not to buffer Global High Scores? IDMah iPhone/iPad Programming 2 May 31, 2013 09:25 AM
iPhone: Buffer crashes with ios6.1 jailbreak 1.2 hulk2012 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 8, 2013 11:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC