Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2010, 11:42 PM   #1
jman995x
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
The item ".Trash" is in use right now and cannot be opened.

I was about to lose my mind.

A couple of days ago I found that I couldn't empty my trash.
I kept getting the error message in the title of this post.
  • I have a program called "Smart Trash"...nope.
  • I tried "Super Empty Trash"...nope.
  • I ran some terminal commands followed by a Repair Disk Permissions...nope.
  • Option-Empty...nope.
  • I booted VMWare Fusion / XP, and did a CHKDSK...nope.
  • I tried creating an empty folder and dragging the files (17 of them) into the empty folder, then deleting the empty folder, but my computer wouldn't let me pull the files out of the trash and move them to the new folder.
  • I put the files into A Better Finder Rename and tried to rename them...nope.

Then, I did something that you'd never think would solve the problem, but for some reason it did.

I opened up the trash, did a Cmd-A to select all, then a Cmd-I to find out how (collectively) big all of these files were and when my Mac tried to access the files to see their size, they disappeared.
I have no idea why that was the thing that worked, but my Trash is empty and the paper in my trash icon is gone.

Just thought I'd share this because I know there are others out there that have tried everything as well. I'm not promising this will work for you, but what have you got to lose, right?

J.
jman995x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 12:57 AM   #2
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
I woulda suggested restarting, personally.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 07:01 AM   #3
JNB
macrumors 604
 
JNB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In a Hell predominately of my own making
Send a message via Skype™ to JNB
Or relaunching Finder.
__________________

JNB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 07:04 AM   #4
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Curious, if you have windows installed and you trash something doesn't it go into the windows recycle bin or no? I've never bothered with windows on my Mac. Sorry to derail, but I was curious and rebooting is the best option (which was said).
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 07:14 AM   #5
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Ah I got it. I was confused as I saw reference to windows there when he was trying to fix the issue.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 08:35 AM   #6
jman995x
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
I woulda suggested restarting, personally.
Yeah, that was a last resort as I had a lot of programs/browsers open and didn't want to shut them all down in order to restart.
jman995x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 04:34 PM   #7
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
Curious, if you have windows installed and you trash something doesn't it go into the windows recycle bin or no? I've never bothered with windows on my Mac. Sorry to derail, but I was curious and rebooting is the best option (which was said).
Yes it does.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The operation cannot be completed because the original item for "HD" cannot be found disasterdrone OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jan 24, 2014 01:45 PM
"Applications" menu command - "item cannot be found" - owner/permissions? (10.6.8) MacOSExustio OS X 2 Jul 20, 2013 05:05 AM
"X" can't be opened because you don't have permission to view it ... WTF?! eroxx iMac 1 Nov 1, 2012 10:51 PM
mail.app - all accounts share "Sent" and "Trash"? btownguy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 31, 2012 01:20 PM
Accidentally "opened" iphone on other computer, how to undo? Schtibbie iPhone 6 Jul 12, 2012 08:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC