Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2010, 06:44 AM   #1
askfareed
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
How can i use my Laptop's internet on my iPhone?

Hi,
i have seen a lot of threads on tethering from your iphone to your laptop, but i want to know the easiest way i can use my laptops internet on my iphone. As i am trying to download some things of cydia but because my carrier has really bad internet speeds it keeps getting errors. And if i download with a better internet connection it will be successful.

So can anyone tell me the easiest way to use my laptop's internet on my iPhone 3GS 3.1.2 (Blacksnow unlocked)?

Thanks.
askfareed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 06:56 AM   #2
edmartin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by askfareed View Post
Hi,
i have seen a lot of threads on tethering from your iphone to your laptop, but i want to know the easiest way i can use my laptops internet on my iphone. As i am trying to download some things of cydia but because my carrier has really bad internet speeds it keeps getting errors. And if i download with a better internet connection it will be successful.

So can anyone tell me the easiest way to use my laptop's internet on my iPhone 3GS 3.1.2 (Blacksnow unlocked)?

Thanks.
Just go into System Preferences/Sharing and turn on Internet Sharing. Using your airport, it will turn your laptop into a wifi hotspot (just remember to set a password so it's not a free wifi hotspot for everyone). When you turn on internet sharing, you select how the input & output work (e.g. in via ethernet and out/shared via airport).

The one caveat is that it would use your airport as the wifi so you would have to be connected to the internet with a wire in order to share.
edmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 09:28 AM   #3
askfareed
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
im using windows mate!
askfareed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 09:55 AM   #4
thelatinist
macrumors 603
 
thelatinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by askfareed View Post
im using windows mate!
Then do the same thing on windows. It's called Internet Connection Sharing.
__________________
Late 2008 (Penryn) 13" White MacBook 2.4 GHz Core2Duo, 4 GB Ram, Samsung 840p SSD; iPhone 4S 64 GB, AppleCare+
thelatinist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 09:04 AM   #5
Kahnyl
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
How's your laptop connected to the internet?
Kahnyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 10:41 AM   #6
askfareed
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
through a usb mobile internet, which uses cdma.
askfareed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 10:09 AM   #7
g2tegg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
That might be a bit more difficult then. I did it using a linksys wrt54gAP. I connected the AP into the ethernet port on the computer, and used static IP's and internet connection sharing. It was some time ago and dont remember the whole procedure. But it did work and had no issues.
If want the easiest and simplest way purchase a Cradel Point Router.
http://www.cradlepoint.com/products/...dband-n-router

Yes they arent cheap but you need to pay to play, right? If I recall correctly DLink came out with a router that had USB support. Which its advertised use was for plugging in external hard drives, printers etc. I read somewhere that with either a firmware update through DLink or possibly a hacked version would enable 3g support.
g2tegg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 10:25 AM   #8
pw1500
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oxford, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by askfareed View Post
through a usb mobile internet, which uses cdma.
I used to achieve this by creating a adhoc network and sharing the dongles connections over wifi.
pw1500 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 01:12 PM   #9
askfareed
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by g2tegg View Post
That might be a bit more difficult then. I did it using a linksys wrt54gAP. I connected the AP into the ethernet port on the computer, and used static IP's and internet connection sharing. It was some time ago and dont remember the whole procedure. But it did work and had no issues.
If want the easiest and simplest way purchase a Cradel Point Router.
http://www.cradlepoint.com/products/...dband-n-router

Yes they arent cheap but you need to pay to play, right? If I recall correctly DLink came out with a router that had USB support. Which its advertised use was for plugging in external hard drives, printers etc. I read somewhere that with either a firmware update through DLink or possibly a hacked version would enable 3g support.

no way am i paying that much to do something that should be so easy.
askfareed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 01:13 PM   #10
askfareed
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pw1500 View Post
I used to achieve this by creating a adhoc network and sharing the dongles connections over wifi.
yes, thats what i think i need to do, i will google some tutorials, thanks.
askfareed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 02:34 PM   #11
g2tegg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by askfareed View Post
no way am i paying that much to do something that should be so easy.
Obviously it isn't. Good luck.
g2tegg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2010, 03:04 PM   #12
Sparky9292
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by askfareed View Post
no way am i paying that much to do something that should be so easy.
that's why I jailbreak my iPhone and use PdaNet.
Sparky9292 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2010, 03:16 PM   #13
dynamitee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by askfareed View Post
no way am i paying that much to do something that should be so easy.
Easy... on a mac. Have fun.
dynamitee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting iphone to Internet via laptop newbielife iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 May 22, 2014 11:45 AM
37GB of pictures, laptop, iPhone, iPad - eliminate laptop InfoTime iCloud and Apple Services 3 Dec 7, 2012 01:58 AM
How can laptopís internet connection on my iPad? Trance iPad 2 Jun 6, 2012 11:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC