Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2010, 07:59 PM   #1
ZhenyaF
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Stuck on "Edit Home Screen"

I just bought a 2g 16gb iPhone off eBay. Every time I turn it on, the message "Edit home screen To arrange icons...." with a "dismiss" option on the bottom pops up. The thing is, when I press dismiss, it doesn't go away. I can push the home button, but it doesn't do anything. The power button just brings the phone into the standby screen. I managed to put some songs on the phone and when i double click the home button from the standby screen the songs play, but I still cannot hit the dismiss button.

I tried restoring the phone to 3.1.2 and 3.1.3 several times. Also, before I jailbreak the phone I have a chance to get into the emergency screen and I can push all the buttons. This leads me to think thats its not the touch screen problem, otherwise that part of the screen wouldn't work in the emergency mode.

I've done a lot of reading on this problem today and people have SSH'd into their phone, however I cannot do that since I cant turn on the WIFI.

So, any suggestions on how I can fix this phone?

Thanks n advance
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 08:12 PM   #2
pcs are junk
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Take it to an Apple Store, and ask them if they know whats going wrong. If they do, then Yay! you fixed your problem. If not then I guess you bought an iPhone for spare parts. Did you read the discription?
pcs are junk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 08:18 PM   #3
ZhenyaF
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcs are junk View Post
Take it to an Apple Store, and ask them if they know whats going wrong. If they do, then Yay! you fixed your problem. If not then I guess you bought an iPhone for spare parts. Did you read the discription?
Its out of warranty.

It did state in the description thats its broken, I actually misread the auction as being for a broken 3g 16gb - which is what I'm looking for. So since I just paid $200 for a phone that I didnt need (because of my mistake ), I figured I'll try to salvage the situation
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 08:30 PM   #4
thelatinist
macrumors 603
 
thelatinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZhenyaF View Post
It did state in the description thats its broken, I actually misread the auction as being for a broken 3g 16gb - which is what I'm looking for.
I think maybe you don't understand English too well? What do you mean you wanted a broken 3g?
__________________
Late 2008 (Penryn) 13" White MacBook 2.4 GHz Core2Duo, 4 GB Ram, Samsung 840p SSD; iPhone 4S 64 GB, AppleCare+
thelatinist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 08:37 PM   #5
ZhenyaF
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelatinist View Post
I think maybe you don't understand English too well? What do you mean you wanted a broken 3g?
I understand english perfectly (or so I though )

I am looking to purchase a broken 3G 16gb iphone. I have my reasons for that.

I ended up purchasing a broken 2G 16gb iphone instead and am now looking for advice on how I can fix it.
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 09:09 PM   #6
ZhenyaF
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Actually, I've just fixed it. I restored via itunes to a previous back up from my iphone 3gs and the phone is now miraculously working fully. It was a software problem all along.
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi

Last edited by ZhenyaF; Feb 18, 2010 at 09:28 PM.
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 09:09 PM   #7
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZhenyaF View Post
I understand english perfectly (or so I though )

I am looking to purchase a broken 3G 16gb iphone. I have my reasons for that.

I ended up purchasing a broken 2G 16gb iphone instead and am now looking for advice on how I can fix it.
This forum is focused on firmware and software, not hardware.

Perhaps you have a bad touchscreen ??
__________________
Two iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here Jailbreak/Unlock Chart
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 09:37 PM   #8
ZhenyaF
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
UPDATE

I just restored it back to fresh 3.1.3 software and its back to the same thing.

So to sum it up, it works, as long as I use an old itunes backup...Any ideas on what this maybe?
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 10:16 PM   #9
gigapocket1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Send a message via AIM to gigapocket1 Send a message via Yahoo to gigapocket1
That is very weird.. Have u tried doing a dfu mode restore???
gigapocket1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2010, 06:28 AM   #10
ZhenyaF
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigapocket1 View Post
That is very weird.. Have u tried doing a dfu mode restore???
Yes

and I even tried different methods of jailbreaking
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2010, 07:14 AM   #11
ZhenyaF
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
any other suggestions?
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2010, 08:11 AM   #12
thelatinist
macrumors 603
 
thelatinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Yes. You bought a phone with a broken digitizer. Either replace the screen and digitizer (I don't believe you can replace the digitizer separately) or sell it to someone in need of some other parts.
__________________
Late 2008 (Penryn) 13" White MacBook 2.4 GHz Core2Duo, 4 GB Ram, Samsung 840p SSD; iPhone 4S 64 GB, AppleCare+
thelatinist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2010, 11:01 AM   #13
adouglas100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZhenyaF View Post
Actually, I've just fixed it. I restored via itunes to a previous back up from my iphone 3gs and the phone is now miraculously working fully. It was a software problem all along.
My iPhone has done the same thing. What software did you restore your iphone back to ?
adouglas100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 06:31 AM   #14
ZhenyaF
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by adouglas100 View Post
My iPhone has done the same thing. What software did you restore your iphone back to ?
I'm pretty sure it was 3.1.2
__________________
15" rMBP;TV2; Mine- iPhone 5 - 64GB/Black and iPad rMini 16gb/wifi; Wife's - iPhone 5s 32GB/Slate and iPad air 16GB/Wifi
ZhenyaF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 10:57 AM   #15
adouglas100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Question

Aw iv tried that and it still doesnt work. Does anyone have any ideas what else i could try ?
adouglas100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you're stuck on the "Connect to iTunes Screen" gpscar iOS 5 and earlier 0 Oct 12, 2011 05:33 PM
Iphone 3g stuck on edit home screen! Ihaveanose iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 22, 2011 06:27 PM
"Add to Home Screen" how to do it? Yojonas iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 21, 2010 06:30 AM
iMac Screen Stuck On Spinning Wheel?? SpartakChempion iMac 1 Nov 13, 2010 02:22 PM
Dismiss the "Edit Home screen" on iPhone 3G running 3.1.3 josephp Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Jun 8, 2010 11:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC