|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Warning to Application Developers: scammer asking for free codes
We would like to caution application developers that one or more scammers have contacted iPhone and iPod touch software developers by email, pretending they are from MacRumors and asking for free promo codes "for review." Accessory companies have also been targeted by the scammers.
Some of these messages claim to be making a request "on behalf of http://www.macrumors.com/". Others claim to be from Arnold Kim (owner of MacRumors). Some of the scammers use email addresses of the form macrumors@somedomain.com or arn.kim@somedomain.com, while others use unrelated addresses. These addresses have no connection to MacRumors and the messages are fraudulent. One known scammer going by the names of Alex Wilson and Novica Josifovski has been particularly proficient over an extended period of time. The scammer has used the following email addresses in their correspondence: haker_novica@hotmail.com and mate01@live.com. Any email from MacRumors, its owner, or its staff will come from @macrumors.com. Remember that email addresses can be forged too and we're not the only website that scammers pretend to represent. All businesses should be cautious about unsolicited requests for copies of their products. We have heard from several developers who were appropriately suspicious of scam email. If you doubt the authenticity of a message claiming to be from MacRumors, contact us. Last edited by WildCowboy; Aug 25, 2011 at 01:46 PM. |
|
|
|
3
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Not surprising, but sad to see nonetheless
Glad MR has been alerted to the scam and is being proactive to head it off |
|
|
|
2
|
|
|
#3 |
|
I received one of these the other day. It was very convincing (except for the @live email address). Luckily I thought to check with Dr Q before giving away a free copy of my app.
__________________
| MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz 4GB-RAM | iMac 24" 3.06GHz 4GB-RAM | iPhone 5 Black (32gb) | New iPad 32GB Wifi |
Second Shootr - The Digital Shoot Assistant For Modern Photographers |
|
|
|
3
|
|
|
#4 | |
|
Quote:
Anyway, thanks for the warning, and glad MR got a report about it. |
||
|
|
2
|
|
|
#5 |
|
sounds like people who can't even be bothered to shell out a dollar to try an app before cracking it.
Thats the only reason I dislike jailbroken stuff. |
|
|
|
-2
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Well, you can always reply to them that nifty app called Macdefender
|
|
|
|
2
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Really?! Can they not afford to buy the freaking app themselves? Sad that people do stuff like this. Geeze.
|
|
|
|
2
|
|
|
#8 |
|
its amazing what people will do to save 99 cents
|
|
|
|
2
|
|
|
#9 |
|
My guess is they are probably publishing the codes somewhere and attempting to make money with ad revenue, but I could be wrong. I just can't imagine someone going through all of that to save a couple of bucks.
Then again, I'm not a criminal so... |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Wirelessly posted
Man ppl are crazy.. |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#11 |
|
good to know this forum already knows
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#12 |
|
I received an email like this. Really convincing but i just notice that they are just using a yahoo account. Now that part is really strange, they should have used the company's email account and not just yahoo.
|
|
|
|
0
|
![]() |
|
| Tags |
| announcement |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| asking for source code | fabulass | Wasteland | 8 | Nov 14, 2009 10:47 AM |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.









Linear Mode

