Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2004, 12:59 PM   #1
Jason_Bryan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Send a message via AIM to Jason_Bryan
New Hard Drive Support

Can anyone tell me if my 2002 PowerMac G4 800Mhz will support ATA-133 Hard Drives. Also can any one recommend any particular brand Hard drives. Thank you.
Jason_Bryan is offline   0
Old Sep 1, 2004, 01:03 PM   #2
maxvamp
macrumors 6502a
 
maxvamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Somewhere out there
The only ATA-133 Hard Discs out there are from Maxtor. The rest are ATA-100.

I am sure that your machine will support them, since my 2001 PM DA can use ATA-133 disks on the internal ports. I prefer Wester Digital, but others may had luck with other brands. I am using two WD 120 GB drives on my machine.

Max.
maxvamp is offline   0
Old Sep 1, 2004, 01:17 PM   #3
krimson
macrumors 65816
 
krimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
Send a message via AIM to krimson
i have a 120Gb Western Digitial in my QS too, works great.
__________________
"Maybe in order to understand mankind, we have to look at the word itself: "Mankind".
Basically, it's made up of two separate words - "mank" and "ind". What do these words mean ? It's a mystery, and that's why so is mankind."
-Jack Handy

Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding, and be a part of the Mac Folding team!
krimson is offline   0
Old Sep 1, 2004, 01:20 PM   #4
boxerchip
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to boxerchip
I have

2 WD 120s
2 Maxtor 160s
1 IBM 120
1 Seagate

I like the IBM the best... it has liquid ball bearings so its quiet and the controller on it makes it operate like a SCSI drive... aka ALOT faster. I am not up to date on the newst hard drives but I got these about 6 months back and I like the IBM the most. They really make a great drive.
boxerchip is offline   0
Old Sep 1, 2004, 02:08 PM   #5
Jason_Bryan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Send a message via AIM to Jason_Bryan
Is 120 the biggest Hard drive I can use, I am running OS X.3.5, but after reading some posts I am confused by some people saying the space on Hard Drives above 120 is not usable.
Jason_Bryan is offline   0
Old Sep 1, 2004, 04:02 PM   #6
maxvamp
macrumors 6502a
 
maxvamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Somewhere out there
I don't think that there is a problem with using a larger than 120 GB drive on your QS.

On my DA, however, there may be, without the assistance of a HD controller, such as the ACard.

Also, while you can use a large drive in your Mac, you will get better performance if you buy another HDD controller card, such as a SATA or a ACard IDE controller. These are higher performance cards, and are reasonably cheap. ( go to macsales.com and you will see what I mean. )

Max.
maxvamp is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extend built-in hard drive with external hard drive? booyahbooyah OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Dec 4, 2013 10:37 AM
Which hard drive does a Mac mini 2006 support MacHaris Mac mini 1 Jul 2, 2013 10:02 AM
Mac partition is smaller than hard drive? How to reformat the entire hard drive? diablo9333 OS X 6 Mar 12, 2013 12:15 AM
Make external hard drive default hard drive utahman130 PowerPC Macs 4 Dec 26, 2012 10:51 AM
Dead hard drive - need temporary external hard drive solution Gwenyn iMac 20 Jun 14, 2012 07:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC