Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 28, 2010, 09:41 PM   #1
Apple2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
Powermac G5 Boot Problems

Hello All:

When I tried to boot my dual 1.8 ghz Powermac G5, it does something very strange:
After pressing the power button, it displays the blue network globe on the screen in a small grey box. This flashes for about thirty seconds, then switches to a folder with a question mark, which flashes question mark, Finder logo. Then, it goes into the grey apple startup screen, where it stays until I turn the computer off. The G5 is running 10.5 and has 2gb of RAM installed. When I select Macintosh HD from the startup disk selection screen - I got to it by holding down option on boot - the G5 goes directly to the grey apple startup screen - no network symbol or folder. I have not used this computer for 2 months.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2010, 09:51 PM   #2
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
I could be wrong, but it sounds like your hard drive is about to bite the dust.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2010, 10:50 PM   #3
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Does it boot with your Mac HDD? If so, go to system preferences and then to Startup Disc. Select your HDD as the boot disk. That globe you see is a network boot option which you obviously don't want.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2010, 10:00 PM   #4
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Does it boot with your Mac HDD? If so, go to system preferences and then to Startup Disc. Select your HDD as the boot disk. That globe you see is a network boot option which you obviously don't want.
No, the G5 does not boot at all. When I select my internal drive as the startup disc using {option} on boot (My internal drive is the only HDD that is connected to the computer), It progresses to the grey apple startup screen, skipping over the network logo and folder and remains there until I turn the G5 off. The computer still won't boot into Mac OS - X.
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powermac G5 1.8 DP Won't Boot - Help? OChrisJonesO PowerPC Macs 3 Mar 27, 2014 12:59 AM
PowerMac G3 Boot problems ChrisFerri Apple Collectors 7 Mar 6, 2014 08:40 PM
Plz help. I screwed up the boot, powermac g4 2poniorb PowerPC Macs 5 Nov 22, 2013 09:21 AM
PowerMac G5 boot issues? Navare PowerPC Macs 19 Feb 24, 2013 01:36 PM
Powermac G4 PCI Gfx will not boot... Nameci PowerPC Macs 0 Feb 10, 2013 09:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC