Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 7, 2010, 11:39 AM   #1
C00KiE
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Why do I have to click so many times????

This started yesterday. I have a macbook pro that I purchased less than a year ago. Yesterday I was looking on the web and every time I clicked something else it wouldn't do anything. I would only have to click once on my mouse pad. Now I have to click multiple times. Sometimes I think it's back to normal cause it works with just one click, then I click another thing and I would have to click it like 10 times. What's wrong? I thought if I just restarted my computer it would be fine. I did that and it's still the same
C00KiE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 11:41 AM   #2
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Have you checked your mouse click sensitivity? Perhaps the double click speed is wrong. System Preferences>Mouse
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 11:54 AM   #3
C00KiE
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
There's no sensitivity option for the trackpad. I know I said mouse but I meant trackpad.
C00KiE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 11:57 AM   #4
entatlrg
macrumors Demi-God
 
entatlrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
check batteries
__________________
iPhone 5S, iPad Air, 13" rMBP, Mac Pro
Line 2 -G Nexus, HTC One X, GS III, HTC One S, Nexus 4, BB Z10, HTC ONE, BBQ10 back to HTC ONE
entatlrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 12:03 PM   #5
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by C00KiE View Post
There's no sensitivity option for the trackpad. I know I said mouse but I meant trackpad.
Well, I know trackpads (or whatever they're called) on other computers go bad, which is why I never use them, unless I have to, so maybe that's the case with yours. Take it to Apple?
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 02:30 PM   #6
TrulyYuki
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by C00KiE View Post
This started yesterday. I have a macbook pro that I purchased less than a year ago. Yesterday I was looking on the web and every time I clicked something else it wouldn't do anything. I would only have to click once on my mouse pad. Now I have to click multiple times. Sometimes I think it's back to normal cause it works with just one click, then I click another thing and I would have to click it like 10 times. What's wrong? I thought if I just restarted my computer it would be fine. I did that and it's still the same
Which macbook pro do you have? older style or unibody? and is it still under warranty? Here's the situation, some older style macbook pros had some issues with the cable under the trackpad/keyboard. It comes loose. Nothing you've done. OR its the battery. Some batteries in the older style macbook pro have expanding issues. It may not be noticeable right away, but take out the battery and inspect it. put it on a flat surface and see if it wobbles. If so then that may be the issue entirely. I would check the battery, try using the trackpad without the battery installed (use power adapter of course). You don't want to walk into the apple store and have them replace the trackpad if the issue is just the battery. If it is unibody than it most likely the trackpad. They can go bad, not a big issue. I hope this was helpful.
Just to let you know, if your machine is out of warranty and you need the trackpad replaced, it will likely be very pretty penny. Make sure to get quotes for in-store and out of store repairs (they'll send it out to a repair facility.)
__________________

27" 3.4ghz quad core iMac
White 16GB iPad 2
Verizon White/Silver 64GB iPhone 5
TrulyYuki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 03:31 PM   #7
C00KiE
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
^^^^ It's not an old laptop I bought it in august or september of last year. What's a unibody? I think they come with a year warranty. How do you check the battery? My last notebook wasn't a pro. It was a white one and i think I was able to remove the battery from the bottom. I can't from this one. I guess i'm gonna have to take it to apple. Thanks for the info though.

Last edited by C00KiE; Mar 7, 2010 at 08:23 PM.
C00KiE is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do i have to click twice? kidwithdimples Mac Basics and Help 8 Nov 7, 2011 03:12 PM
Why do you store/buy/rip so many TB of movies / Tv Shows? djrod Apple TV and Home Theater 41 Aug 1, 2011 05:19 PM
Why do I have to restart my Airport 3 times before I can connect to the Internet? jake4ever Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Mar 12, 2011 06:01 AM
why do i have to login every time i go to... pachyderm OS X 7 May 30, 2008 09:28 AM
why do i have to reset my safari cache so much? emsaas123 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jul 22, 2007 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC