Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2004, 02:21 PM   #1
mulletman13
macrumors 6502a
 
mulletman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles.
Send a message via AIM to mulletman13
More Info in About this mac... greyed out??? help???

Hey there... I click on About this Mac, and notice the "More Info" is greyed out and unable to be clicked....

What did i do wrong with this?

Also, when I try to change the colorsync colors... I am unable to do this, as it won't let me calibrate the 'generic RGB' profile. I kindof want the colors to appear as they do on an eMac, but I cant get it to do this. Any help would be appreciated.
mulletman13 is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 02:54 PM   #2
seamuskrat
macrumors 6502a
 
seamuskrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey USA
Send a message via AIM to seamuskrat Send a message via Yahoo to seamuskrat
Are you an administrator on the account? Some kiosk mode apps, and some restrictions could be in place. i.e. is it a Lab computer?

If this is your Mac, then try rebooting, and running Disk Utility and repairing permissions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulletman13
Hey there... I click on About this Mac, and notice the "More Info" is greyed out and unable to be clicked....

What did i do wrong with this?

Also, when I try to change the colorsync colors... I am unable to do this, as it won't let me calibrate the 'generic RGB' profile. I kindof want the colors to appear as they do on an eMac, but I cant get it to do this. Any help would be appreciated.
seamuskrat is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 03:13 PM   #3
mulletman13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
mulletman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles.
Send a message via AIM to mulletman13
Thanks for the help, but it is still greyed out even after repairing the hundreds of permissions it had to repair.

Hrmmm could it be because I moved System Profiler? *shrugs* =(

^^^ and if it was, where is the default place for the App.... Colorsync utility?

Thanks
mulletman13 is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 03:37 PM   #4
seamuskrat
macrumors 6502a
 
seamuskrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey USA
Send a message via AIM to seamuskrat Send a message via Yahoo to seamuskrat
Umm, yes it could be because of that. Its never wise in OS X to move apps around. I have never tried moving System Profiler, but it makes sense it would break the About this Mac screen.

As for color sync go to System Preferences, go to Monitors/Displays and select Calibrate.

Put ASP back and see if it works better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulletman13
Thanks for the help, but it is still greyed out even after repairing the hundreds of permissions it had to repair.

Hrmmm could it be because I moved System Profiler? *shrugs* =(

^^^ and if it was, where is the default place for the App.... Colorsync utility?

Thanks
seamuskrat is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 03:48 PM   #5
lisius_kent
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bend, Oregon
Send a message via AIM to lisius_kent
Yup..

Thats exactly your problem. Im applecare certified and during training apple worns you of that exact problem.
lisius_kent is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 04:28 PM   #6
mulletman13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
mulletman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles.
Send a message via AIM to mulletman13
Yes that was the About this mac problem... thanks all who helped.

And about the colorsync thing.... it won't let me calibrate it because

"The factory display profile for this monitor could not be found."

I assume I'm getting this because I have a DVI-VGA adapter on it... but i'd think I would still be able to calibrate the colors.

Ah well I guess I can still adjust RGB values on the monitor itself.
mulletman13 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wifi greyed out and MAC address missing johnay iOS 6 0 Sep 4, 2013 12:03 AM
How to remove greyed out ".local" suffix from name in mac 10.8.3 Harrison.S Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 4 Mar 17, 2013 07:49 AM
Info About Mac Pro's harry*333 Mac Pro 2 Oct 24, 2012 06:42 AM
About This Mac info incorrect Dreamer2go OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Aug 29, 2012 12:58 PM
Why Activity Monitor and Finder's Get Info gave different info? su0301 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Aug 6, 2012 09:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC