Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2004, 03:58 PM   #1
Bobcat37
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colorado
Send a message via AIM to Bobcat37
iPod Dock Question - 3G vs 4G

Ok, does the dock for 3G iPods really not work with the 4G iPods, like Apple's site claims?

If so... why!?!?! They look exactly the same to me... I don't get it.

(I'm asking because I have a 3G iPod, but am probably going to upgrade to a 4G, and I don't want to buy a new dock)
Bobcat37 is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 04:17 PM   #2
jxyama
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
if apple site says so, i tend to believe it...

but it is annoying. it's getting to be like the palm pilot accessories. every single new palm had new set of accessories and it was just ridiculous.

i realize it's an easy way to make money for apple, but i wish they'd be honorable and make iPod designs so that accessories as compatible as possible across different generations... (or just use "standard" sockets, like gen. 1 and 2 iPods used FW.)
jxyama is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 05:54 PM   #3
mms
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CA
The only reason I can think of is that the difference in the iPod widths (with 4G being noticeably thinner) since they should all use the same Dock Connector port.
mms is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 07:11 PM   #4
Bobcat37
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colorado
Send a message via AIM to Bobcat37
But if the 4G is thinner, you think it would still fit fine in a 3G dock. And also, I thought it was only like 1 millimeter thinner! That is nothing!
Bobcat37 is offline   0
Old Sep 3, 2004, 07:29 PM   #5
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
im sure they would work, but my 40gb 4g wont fit in my 15gb 3g, simply cause of size. other than that they are exactly the same. if apple says it doesn't work i still don't believe them until i see for myself. apple used to say their displays wont work with pc's, which wasn't true either.

iJon
iJon is offline   0
Old Sep 6, 2004, 07:37 PM   #6
Bobcat37
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colorado
Send a message via AIM to Bobcat37
So, is the consensus that Apple is full of it?

I guess I'll know for sure when my 4G iPod arrives hopefully next week. I just don't want to stick it in my 3G Dock and have it explode or something, lol.
Bobcat37 is offline   0
Old Sep 6, 2004, 07:41 PM   #7
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobcat37
So, is the consensus that Apple is full of it?

I guess I'll know for sure when my 4G iPod arrives hopefully next week. I just don't want to stick it in my 3G Dock and have it explode or something, lol.
i mean think about it. if each dock's didn't work other than size, then every 3g accessory would not work as well.

iJon
iJon is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dock question rockinrocker MacBook Pro 2 Feb 11, 2014 05:43 PM
Elevation Dock Question joekim1026 iPhone Accessories 1 Jun 2, 2013 01:26 PM
Why do I keep getting this question mark on the Dock? 420benz iMac 3 Mar 27, 2013 10:14 PM
Question about iPhone dock and sound. definitive iPhone Accessories 2 Oct 15, 2012 06:50 PM
Question about Mac Dock Jack25 Mac Basics and Help 3 Jul 13, 2012 01:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC