Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2010, 01:40 AM   #1
CurtisEnergizer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Question Should i get a eMac

I have been saving up for a new iMac but ive only got $300 so i had a look on Trade me which is New Zealand's version of eBay and i came across this eMac http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=276015569

I would like to use it for video editing and surfing the web.
The software i would like to put on it is Final Cut express and Garage band.

Do you think its good for that.

Please help.
CurtisEnergizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:09 AM   #2
Sambo110
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
I would say no.
__________________
rMBP 2.6 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD 10,8 ; 20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, 2400 HD, 10.8 ; iPod Touch 4G 32GB
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:13 AM   #3
ADent
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Which eMac? I like the 800/1000 w/ATI graphics - you can hook up a second monitor. The 700/800 machines with NVidia are a smidge lower in my book.

It should be able to boot OS 9 if its 700/800. Only some 1GHz machines can - see everymac.com for an exact list, if OS 9 is important.


It has a USB 1.0 port - very slow filling up iPods.


Try and get the OS cds with the machine.

The originals will be for OS 10.1 (for NVidia, 10.2 for ATI).

If it currently is running Tiger (10.4) and something happens w/o the disks, you may be looking at $99 to $250 for legitimate disks.
__________________
3x Mac mini C2D, G4 mini (dead), eMac G4 800 MHz, older retired units
ADent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:21 AM   #4
CurtisEnergizer
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADent View Post
Which eMac? I like the 800/1000 w/ATI graphics - you can hook up a second monitor. The 700/800 machines with NVidia are a smidge lower in my book.

It should be able to boot OS 9 if its 700/800. Only some 1GHz machines can - see everymac.com for an exact list, if OS 9 is important.


It has a USB 1.0 port - very slow filling up iPods.


Try and get the OS cds with the machine.

The originals will be for OS 10.1 (for NVidia, 10.2 for ATI).

If it currently is running Tiger (10.4) and something happens w/o the disks, you may be looking at $99 to $250 for legitimate disks.
Hey i didn't really understand what you were saying. This is the emac
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=276015569

It has OS X, 1gb RAM and thats all i know.
I would like to use it for video editing.
CurtisEnergizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:22 AM   #5
Bennieboy©
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboy©'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboy©
certainly not, my sister has a eMac G4 and it's painfully slow for anything, my advice is save up more money and get a mac mini or an old intel iMac if you need the screen, G5's are mildly better but they will still struggle with what you want to do
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboy© is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:23 AM   #6
Pachang
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CurtisEnergizer View Post
Hey i didn't really understand what you were saying. This is the emac
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=276015569

It has OS X, 1gb RAM and thats all i know.
I would like to use it for video editing.
You can't use an emac for any modern software. You will have to use old versions that were made when computers were as crap as that computer.

You should not buy that computer. It is actually worth like $30.
__________________
I have a Quad G5 PowerMac - The best mac ever made!
....and a c2d 27" imac
Pachang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:30 AM   #7
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
if it comes with tiger and the discs fine , it will handle garageband just fine , but as its the powermac 4.4 means either 700mhz or 800mhz or 1 ghz make sure its the 1ghz model as for handling final cut
Final Cut Studio System Requirements
Macintosh computer with 867MHz or faster PowerPC G4, PowerPC G5, or Intel Core Duo processor; HD features require 1GHz or faster single or dual processors (authoring HD DVDs requires a PowerPC G5 or Intel Core Duo processor)
512MB of RAM; HD features require 1GB of RAM or more (2GB recommended)
Display with 1024-by-768 or higher resolution
AGP or PCI-E Quartz Extreme graphics card
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:45 AM   #8
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pachang View Post
You can't use an emac for any modern software. You will have to use old versions that were made when computers were as crap as that computer.

You should not buy that computer. It is actually worth like $30.
that comment is a bit harsh, i sold my powermac g5 quad 2.5, because there was nothing my emac could not handle too , and i prefered the emac because of its design
emac's are still fine computers , maybe not a fast as the last g5 powermacs or latest intel's, but nobody who is considering buying a eMac is expecting it to be faster

and when i look at the prices for used mac's ... the emac offers good value for the money
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:47 AM   #9
Sambo110
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
There's also a 1.25 ghz eMac, I used to have one.
__________________
rMBP 2.6 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD 10,8 ; 20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, 2400 HD, 10.8 ; iPod Touch 4G 32GB
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:54 AM   #10
adrian.oconnor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nottingham, England
Can you save a little bit more or sell something?

I just had a quick scan down the buy-it-now desktop Macs on that site, in price order, and this stood out:

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/A...-275576431.htm

For an extra $100 it'd be so much better. I had one of those eMacs years ago, and it was dreadfully slow, even then. You can use it for video editing (not HD video, mind), but it'd be a painful experience, and you might also find that you're better off running an older version of FCE, which was designed with that kind of hardware in mind.
adrian.oconnor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:02 AM   #11
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
i even would consider this one
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/A...-275954306.htm
ok its not working , but if you get it for under 100 new zealand dollars it might be worth to repair it ,depending if the seller can explain what went wrong , as i seen working 1.42 ghz models go for over 600 dollars in new zealand
you could use this one for the spares needed looks battered with speaker grill missing but working
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/A...-276957017.htm
i mean if the broken parts in one match the working parts in the other you could have for nz dollars under 200 a working eMac 1.42

and keep in mind only the 1.25 and 1.42 models offer usb 2.0 , but actually not a problem as all emac offer firewire 400 which is faster then usb 2.0 (if you connect external harddrive or dvd burner) (there was a 1ghz model with usb 2.0 and the faster bus of 167mhz too but only sold to the education market )

i prefer the eMac over the imac g5 , but thats me , but if emacs 1.42 sell for over 500 in new zealand i would be very suspicious about someone selling a imac g5 for less then 400 (looks good in advert , but if someone sells for less then others i always get careful)it COULD be a bargain
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Mar 10, 2010 at 03:51 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 04:12 AM   #12
mtnDewFTW
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: California
... video editing? Are you kidding me? On THAT eMac?
I'm sorry, but that would never work. If you're trying to get REALLY old software for it, then maybe, but you also have to think how much that software had advanced over the years. So most likely you would never be able to do any decent video editing on there.

Seriously, just save up more money and do yourself a favor. Don't waste your money on this thing.
__________________
"Everything is amazing and nobody's happy."
iPhone 5/iMac 27"/iPad 3
AT&T
mtnDewFTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 05:52 AM   #13
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnDewFTW View Post
... video editing? Are you kidding me? On THAT eMac?
I'm sorry, but that would never work. If you're trying to get REALLY old software for it, then maybe, but you also have to think how much that software had advanced over the years. So most likely you would never be able to do any decent video editing on there.

Seriously, just save up more money and do yourself a favor. Don't waste your money on this thing.
typical answer of a intel mac owner ,there are people out there who cant safe up that sort of money a intel mac cost ,even used as the owners charge more then these are worth , so starting with a eMac to get into mac world is a perfect solution
if final cut says minimum 867mhz g4 then a 1 ghz eMac will be just fine if you give it a bit more ram and for some it is not necessary to have the latest software to edit some home made films for example, the latest software is not always the best anyway
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 07:44 AM   #14
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
$300 you can get a cheapo PC that is a lot faster than an ancient emac
alent1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 07:54 AM   #15
mabaker
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Exactly my sentiments! Some of the Mactel owners here do NOT realize that there are still PPC users out there with machines that boot and get things done faster than the brand new unibody boxes!

Having said that an eMac for web surfing is very good. I’d put Flash Player 8 on it, too, to guarantee flawless Flash playback, tho.

As far as video editing is concerned, I’d be rather cautious. To get good results you’d need at least 1.42 GHz CPU and 1 GB of RAM. Depends however what exactly you understand by saying “editing”? Will it be your usual family DVD or some more serious stuff? iMovie 6 HD would be fine for the first option.
mabaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 07:58 AM   #16
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I believe anything with an Intel Core2Duo processor will suit you.

Anything that is labeled G3, G4 or G5 is simply too old and the architecture is no longer supported.

Find a MacBook, those things go for major cheap.
__________________
-I read your post, that'll be 99¢-
IT'S OK! I'm from the internetz!
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 08:11 AM   #17
nicroma
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Midwest, USA
Keep saving that money for a new iMac. Just think how great your computer will be when you have enough! I'm sure the next generation will be out by then.
__________________
2013 15" Macbook Pro Retina w/ 16GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2009 iMac 27" w/ i7, 16GB RAM, 2TB HDD, 128GB SSD iPhone 5
nicroma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:54 AM   #18
CurtisEnergizer
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnDewFTW View Post
... video editing? Are you kidding me? On THAT eMac?
I'm sorry, but that would never work. If you're trying to get REALLY old software for it, then maybe, but you also have to think how much that software had advanced over the years. So most likely you would never be able to do any decent video editing on there.

Seriously, just save up more money and do yourself a favor. Don't waste your money on this thing.
I already have a hackintosh witch is Laptop PC running Mac OS X 10.5.2
It has a 2.13 GHz Intel Core Solo
With 2 GB RAM.
But it is slowly dyeing and i want this mac so i can slowing upgrade it like eventually put more ram and make it all pro.
My music teacher at school said there great little things. He has 2 of them.
CurtisEnergizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 02:59 PM   #19
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
your teacher is right trust him
after the slot loading iMac g3 the eMac is the best AIO computer apple has ever produced
the new ones might be faster , but just to big and to fragile
the emac is well made and heavy and looks rugged and at the same time just beautiful , and with it you get a perfect display
no dead pixel , no stripes, no pressure marks ( and i don't refer to the problems with the latest iMacs 27" ) just look on ebay uk and ebay .com and other ebay sites worldwide and look how many faulty eMacs are listed and compare with how many faulty imac g5 and imac core duo and core 2 duo are listed most of them with screen trouble , they didn't build them to last
thats why i don't consider the newer imac's worth buying used ,faster processor doesnt help if the screen doesn't show a proper picture or none at all and is more expensive to replace then the value of the whole computer , ok some might cry out now that theirs is perfect , but for how long? when even new imacs with up to 7 dead pixels ? are no argument for replacement ? ....i dont like gambling , i stay safe with the eMac


and for all friend of the iMac G4 dont worry yours is not a computer its a design icon
so its worth to replace a faulty screen at any cost

this post reflects my opinion , you dont have to share it and i dont force you to agree, so you are allowed to have your own
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Mar 10, 2010 at 03:29 PM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:02 PM   #20
ppnkg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
save a little more and get a mini, you won't regret it
ppnkg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 06:58 PM   #21
definitive
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
is op serious? what a waste of money.
definitive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 08:11 PM   #22
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by definitive View Post
is op serious? what a waste of money.

a emac is never a waste of money , what is more a waste of money buying a 5 year old computer which works flawless for £200 or buying a new computer for near £ 2000 which gets one problem after the other ... i prefer to buy some more eMacs ...
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:31 PM   #23
CurtisEnergizer
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
a emac is never a waste of money , what is more a waste of money buying a 5 year old computer which works flawless for £200 or buying a new computer for near £ 2000 which gets one problem after the other ... i prefer to buy some more eMacs ...
Hey thanks man. Ive just go to wait until the guy gives me more info on the eMac like the processor.
CurtisEnergizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:42 PM   #24
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Garage Band should work on it, I've seen it done quite a lot before. Though Final Cut might not work too well on it... To better your chances of it working though you could try sticking some more RAM in it, since its only got 1GB. 2GB would help greatly

eMacs are pretty great computer running Tiger, I've had one and it smokes my iMac white Intel Even though the eMac's specs aren't nearly as good...lol
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:43 PM   #25
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Good luck!

Last edited by mrsir2009; Mar 10, 2010 at 11:51 PM.
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I get iPad 2 or wait for next-gen? TheHirstyUK iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 15 Dec 12, 2011 06:52 PM
Which eMac should i get? which of these are better please help!!! danielpoole06 PowerPC Macs 12 Jan 25, 2007 07:04 AM
Should I sell my eMac and get the iMac 20"? johnbro23 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 15 May 3, 2005 08:19 PM
Should we get this eMac? niter Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 5 Jun 29, 2004 08:40 AM
Whick imacor emac should i get? applemacdude Mac Help/Tips 11 May 7, 2003 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC