Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 13, 2010, 07:40 AM   #1
fairbanx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
iMac G3 400 MHZ CPU accessory

My Kids are using an old iMac G3. When I open the iMac, I recognized, that one of the two pins (?), which holds the cpu-cooler is missed. I don't know the exact name of that, and wonder, where I can buy one to fit the cooler again into the right position. I don't wont to buy another logicboard to exchange the parts. Any suggestions? Thanks a lot
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 07:52 AM   #2
Badger^2
macrumors 68000
 
Badger^2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sacramento
Is there something wrong with their iMac?

you could buy an entire 400 mhz iMac for about $40.
__________________
27" 2.93 iMac/24 gigs/1 TB+24" Dell 2405
24" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/640 gig+20" Dell 2405
20" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2001
20" 2.13 iMac/3 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2007
Badger^2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 08:05 AM   #3
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badger^2 View Post
Is there something wrong with their iMac?

you could buy an entire 400 mhz iMac for about $40.
no, it run's great with Mac OS X 10.2.8. I tried Mac OS X Tiger, but the system freezes (512 MB RAM installed). maybe because of lack of cooling!?
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 08:09 AM   #4
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
badger means why not buy another one and use it for spares? G3 iMacs really are cheap right now, specially in america, have a look on craigslist
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 08:23 AM   #5
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
yes, I understand. but in germany there are not as cheap as in the US. mostly. ok, I bought mine some weeks ago for only 25 EUR. very cheap. but when I looked on the "bay", there are more expansive. an iMac g3 500 MHZ DV was sold yesterday for about >100 EUR.
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 08:25 AM   #6
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
dont look on ebay then, try craigslist as i suggested

or what about this > iMac G3 on german ebay 29 euros buy it now isnt much
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 08:34 AM   #7
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Thanks, not bad, but only "pick up" in cologne !

I still wonder, if these white "pins" are some standard pc parts? maybe not. I'm not in hurry, so I can watch out and grab another cheap one
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 12:04 PM   #8
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Can you replace it with a nut and bolt? I've done that before when I broke off the nylon pieces holding the heatsink on a Mac mini.
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 03:45 PM   #9
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
Can you replace it with a nut and bolt?
yes, I thought about it before, but I have to take off the complete logicboard. now I'm in contact with an ebay-seller, who might be able to send me those "rivet" for the GPU- (not CPU-) cooler. Thanks for your advice.
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 04:51 PM   #10
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
If I were you I'd just buy a new one, you can pick them up for 30 to 50 dollars! You could also post on this forum specially for Pre-Intel Macs: http://classicmac.freeforums.org/

Good luck!
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does 400 Mhz memory work in a G5 Dual Core 2.3? Mac Hammer Fan PowerPC Macs 3 Apr 11, 2013 08:58 AM
1600 MHz RAM running at 1333 MHz mapleleafer Mac mini 2 Dec 17, 2012 01:56 PM
48 GB RAM 1333 MHz in flashed Mac Pro 5,1 working as 1066 MHz Spacedust Mac Pro 27 Oct 14, 2012 03:30 PM
Memory upgrade necessary on 2012 MBP 15 Base? 8GB or 16GB? 1333 MHz or 1600 MHz? cherishzm MacBook Pro 9 Jun 26, 2012 05:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC