Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 13, 2010, 06:40 AM   #1
fairbanx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
iMac G3 400 MHZ CPU accessory

My Kids are using an old iMac G3. When I open the iMac, I recognized, that one of the two pins (?), which holds the cpu-cooler is missed. I don't know the exact name of that, and wonder, where I can buy one to fit the cooler again into the right position. I don't wont to buy another logicboard to exchange the parts. Any suggestions? Thanks a lot
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 06:52 AM   #2
Badger^2
macrumors 68000
 
Badger^2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sacramento
Is there something wrong with their iMac?

you could buy an entire 400 mhz iMac for about $40.
__________________
27" 2.93 iMac/24 gigs/1 TB+24" Dell 2405
24" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/640 gig+20" Dell 2405
20" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2001
20" 2.13 iMac/3 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2007
Badger^2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 07:05 AM   #3
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badger^2 View Post
Is there something wrong with their iMac?

you could buy an entire 400 mhz iMac for about $40.
no, it run's great with Mac OS X 10.2.8. I tried Mac OS X Tiger, but the system freezes (512 MB RAM installed). maybe because of lack of cooling!?
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 07:09 AM   #4
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
badger means why not buy another one and use it for spares? G3 iMacs really are cheap right now, specially in america, have a look on craigslist
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 07:23 AM   #5
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
yes, I understand. but in germany there are not as cheap as in the US. mostly. ok, I bought mine some weeks ago for only 25 EUR. very cheap. but when I looked on the "bay", there are more expansive. an iMac g3 500 MHZ DV was sold yesterday for about >100 EUR.
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 07:25 AM   #6
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
dont look on ebay then, try craigslist as i suggested

or what about this > iMac G3 on german ebay 29 euros buy it now isnt much
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 07:34 AM   #7
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Thanks, not bad, but only "pick up" in cologne !

I still wonder, if these white "pins" are some standard pc parts? maybe not. I'm not in hurry, so I can watch out and grab another cheap one
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 11:04 AM   #8
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Can you replace it with a nut and bolt? I've done that before when I broke off the nylon pieces holding the heatsink on a Mac mini.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 02:45 PM   #9
fairbanx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
Can you replace it with a nut and bolt?
yes, I thought about it before, but I have to take off the complete logicboard. now I'm in contact with an ebay-seller, who might be able to send me those "rivet" for the GPU- (not CPU-) cooler. Thanks for your advice.
fairbanx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2010, 03:51 PM   #10
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
If I were you I'd just buy a new one, you can pick them up for 30 to 50 dollars! You could also post on this forum specially for Pre-Intel Macs: http://classicmac.freeforums.org/

Good luck!
mrsir2009 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen Flickering on iMac G3 DV after upgrade to Mac OS X Coolmatt49 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 19, 2011 02:43 AM
Feeler: G3 400 mhz Powerbook Pismo Veritas&Equitas Marketplace Archive 2 3 May 22, 2007 07:09 PM
G3 400 Mhz as a file server mail4asim Buying Tips and Advice 6 Mar 13, 2007 07:59 AM
For Sale IMac G3 400 mHz 10G DVD 64mb hodgens Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 0 Oct 21, 2003 10:33 PM
Powerrmac G3 400 mhz - hard drive - specs /max djniche Mac Help/Tips 6 Nov 16, 2002 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC