Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2010, 11:20 PM   #1
hughfraser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
What happens if you don't eject a External HD right?

Hi,
I am considering switching from Windows later in the year so I am just in my research phrase.

I have heard you have to unmount an external HD right by clicking the eject icon in Finder, what will happen if I just unplug the USB or Firewire cable from the back of the iMac?

Hugh
P.S. Sorry if this is a silly question but still using Windows and the only time I have access at the moment is when I travel 20 Miles to my 'local' Apple Store.
hughfraser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2010, 11:22 PM   #2
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Usually, nothing. Unless you're writing data. The "eject" option is just there to be sure and it won't let you eject unless the drive is on standby and not moving.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / Verizon / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.2
- Mac mini C2D 1.83GHz / 4GB ram / 120GB HD / 10.8.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2010, 11:28 PM   #3
hughfraser
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thanks iParis, no doubt I will have plenty more super stupid questions before I get my iMac.
hughfraser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2010, 11:47 PM   #4
NewMacbookPlz
macrumors 68040
 
NewMacbookPlz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
It can vary...especially when going between OS X and Windows.

In my experience, I've had a couple times where I didn't "properly eject" from Windows and the disk wouldn't mount properly in OS X until I plugged it back in to the Windows box and ejected it via the safely remove prompt.

I haven't had much issue with OS X, but I always use the eject prompt just to make sure the disk isn't doing anything that I'd interrupt.
__________________
Collector's Edition 2.0ghz Aluminum MacBook, 8 GB iPhone EDGE, Canon 450D/50mm f1.8
NewMacbookPlz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2010, 12:05 AM   #5
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Windows behaves in exactly the same way as Mac OS X, aside from (in XP) hiding the "safely remove" option in a system tray icon rather than using a simple eject button.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2010, 12:13 AM   #6
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
Windows behaves in exactly the same way as Mac OS X, aside from (in XP) hiding the "safely remove" option in a system tray icon rather than using a simple eject button.
And the fact that the way Windows "ejects" or "safely removes" devices doesn't work half the time. I hate it when a PC says my hard drive or flash drive is busy, yet it isn't doing anything.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / Verizon / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.2
- Mac mini C2D 1.83GHz / 4GB ram / 120GB HD / 10.8.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2010, 12:19 AM   #7
hughfraser
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
And the fact that the way Windows "ejects" or "safely removes" devices doesn't work half the time. I hate it when a PC says my hard drive or flash drive is busy, yet it isn't doing anything.
I have had this a few times but I must say I do rather like Windows 7, I even used Vista (What was I thinking!)

Hugh
hughfraser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2010, 12:25 AM   #8
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughfraser View Post
I have had this a few times but I must say I do rather like Windows 7, I even used Vista (What was I thinking!)

Hugh
I liked Windows 7, until I got a Mac.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / Verizon / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.2
- Mac mini C2D 1.83GHz / 4GB ram / 120GB HD / 10.8.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happens if you don't eat? Dagless Community Discussion 48 Jun 29, 2011 03:53 PM
What happens if I don't pick up my reserved iPhone in-store? badlydrawnboy iPhone 6 Jun 15, 2010 02:07 PM
What happens if I don't wait the full 12-24 hours for the Zagg IS Screen protector? Tanaboon iPhone Accessories 1 Nov 30, 2009 02:42 AM
What happens if you don't have enougth money in your account on renewal day? MattJ11 iCloud and Apple Services 5 Jan 10, 2009 02:21 PM
What happens if you DON'T do Apple software updates? zub3qin MacBook Pro 15 Jul 3, 2007 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC