Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 20, 2002, 05:34 PM   #51
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally posted by mc68k




and elvis, vile, etc. thanks to all those crazy unix nerds.

I would recommend the book that pimentoLoaf suggests. I read it through on a recent 9-day vacation an have learned lots. I have the opposite problem as you guys w/emacs. I was going to suggest vi, but I know of almost no one who can use it properly. It is very powerful though.

For example, to get rid of the ^M's at the end of every line you could have typed:
Code:
:%s/.$//g
vi does have a lot to remember. I tried emacs and it made me appreciate vi. But the battle will always rage on just like Ford vs. Chevy, etc.
I would rather use ed than vi, even if vi is a shell for ed. Recently, while using cygwin, I couldn't get vi to work and I resorted to Notepad. Then, the instructor asked me to help other people use vi.

My first 32-bit C compiler was Mark Williams C on the Atari ST and they had what they called micro shell and micro emacs. Before Win3.0, I used Epsilon on DOS because it was so close to emacs. Then, there was PerfectWriter on CP/M, which also used the key bindings of emacs. Borland's editor can also be configured that way.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2002, 05:37 PM   #52
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by bousozoku


I would rather use ed than vi, even if vi is a shell for ed. Recently, while using cygwin, I couldn't get vi to work and I resorted to Notepad.
vi is a shell for ex. ed seems even more basic than ex. I like vi better than Word, hands down. No formatting, just the way I like it.
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2002, 06:52 AM   #53
pimentoLoaf
macrumors Demi-God
 
pimentoLoaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The SimCity Deli
Those of you who have clicked my F@H name and wondered about that reeeeal early date of my joining, take a lookie here.

Sad, though, how I can specify in the Windows F@H how I'd like to generate G@H data but I can only handle F@H on me Mac.

(The G@H client is the old DOS program; still works, and I'm crunching a 56-rotamer wu right now from early August; once that's done, it'll back to a p180 that has a 12-day return.)
__________________
Porkchops and bacon, my two favorite animals....Homer Simpson
pimentoLoaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2002, 07:59 PM   #54
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
so after leaving the machine on all night and part of the day I've actually got 41 frames done - it seems to be doing about one frame every 20+ minutes. Hows this compair to some of you others?

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2002, 08:40 PM   #55
firewire2001
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet
so after leaving the machine on all night and part of the day I've actually got 41 frames done - it seems to be doing about one frame every 20+ minutes. Hows this compair to some of you others?

D
i seem to get 1 frame ever 14 minutes on my 1ghz machine.. (amd t-bird)...

and sumthing like 25+ minutes on my 400 mhz celeron... ive really not checked much..

-f
firewire2001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2002, 09:27 PM   #56
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
My G3/400 is currently doing one every 26 minutes and the dual G4/800 finishes a frame every 7 minutes.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2002, 12:35 AM   #57
dnte42
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Send a message via AIM to dnte42
Seems I go anywhere from 6 minutes to 20 minutes with my 733. Depends on what else is going on and what protein I'm working on.
dnte42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2002, 12:51 PM   #58
pimentoLoaf
macrumors Demi-God
 
pimentoLoaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The SimCity Deli
It depends on the protein size how fast your system will crunch it. Small proteins, like p606 on my 500mhz g3 iBook right now, take about a day; huge proteins, like p180 on 366mhz mobilePentium II Toshiba will take about 8 days to send back results.

The work units are not like those of SETI wherein the data are utterly consistent (more or less) between one or another.

And the folks at Stanford have some new code that's optimized for Pentiums, dubbed Gromacs, that's being tested right now and should allow for even bigger proteins than p180 to be handled.
__________________
Porkchops and bacon, my two favorite animals....Homer Simpson
pimentoLoaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2002, 05:14 PM   #59
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Well, I've done 2 now - one for 2 points and one for .6 - the latter was finished in less than a day and it looks like the next one will be just as fast, probably finishing early AM - if I don't use the computer, which I will later.

Is there anyway to tell what the protein is if you're using the terminal version?

So I think I'm hooked and will keep this going as long as possible.

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2002, 05:34 PM   #60
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet
Is there anyway to tell what the protein is if you're using the terminal version?
Here's a sample output from my FAHlog.txt file in my ~/Library/Folding@home subdirectory:

[22:54:28] ..."
[22:54:28] keyfile:
[22:54:28] "#parameters ./opls.prm
[22:54:28] #verbose
[22:54:28] NOVERSION
[22:54:28] ARCHIVE
[22:54:28]
[22:54:28] #cutoff 16.0
[22:54:28] #taper ..."
[22:54:28]
[22:54:28] - Couldn't get size info for dyn file: work/wudata_05.dyn
[22:54:28] Starting from initial work packet
[22:54:28]
[22:54:28] Protein: P200_villin
[22:54:28] - Run: 2634022912 (Clone 1291845632, Gen 184549376)
[22:54:28] - Frames Completed: 0, Remaining: 100
[22:54:28] - Dynamic steps required: 500000
[22:54:28]
[22:54:28] Writing local files:
[22:54:28]
[22:54:28] parameters work/wudata_05.prm
[22:54:28] - Writing "work/wudata_05.key": (overwrite) successful.
[22:54:28] - Writing "work/wudata_05.xyz": (overwrite)

The bolded part is the protein that you are folding. You can check the info on the protein here

It is updated hourly with stats like project #, server IP, # of atoms, deadline, credit, and even a brief description of each protein.

Glad to hear you like folding as much as the rest of us.
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2002, 06:15 PM   #61
pimentoLoaf
macrumors Demi-God
 
pimentoLoaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The SimCity Deli
I'm crunching a p145 (which may be a p146, due to an administrative error) and the deadline is 4 days. Alas, my iBook 500 is only at 12% after 18 hours; put another way, my Mac will return the data after the deadline.

Most of the deadlines are based on a 500MHz Celeron PC in the Folding lab. Data returned after the deadline is quite literally thrown away, which seems to me really bad science. Berkeley's SETI never throws out data; if someone doesn't return something after awhile, it sent to someone else.
__________________
Porkchops and bacon, my two favorite animals....Homer Simpson
pimentoLoaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2002, 11:12 PM   #62
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Is the crunching time counted or the amount of time upon receit of the file? I used my machine quite a lot, so on the first one, it took several days. I'd have to agree that's a waste of processing time. Hopefully future releases of the software fix this.

Is there any where to give suggestions/send feedback?

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2002, 01:14 PM   #63
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
We're still somewhat short on members.

Certainly someone has a nice Mac OS X-compatible machine which could run this in the background. I noticed that Ars Technica has hundreds of members on their team, in contrast to the 86 on MacRumors team.

Anyone wanna show their pride?
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 08:27 AM   #64
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
why don't we put it in our sig - get people interested - with links to our ranking page on folding?

make it one line for simplicity

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:18 AM   #65
Tiauguinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Tiauguinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Nice idea Dukestreet... Going to put it on my sig right away!
__________________
Join MR Folding Team (3446)
Tiauguinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:03 AM   #66
Rower_CPU
Thread Starter
Moderator emeritus
 
Rower_CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
You mean you'll have some thing more than just your flossing propaganda in your signature duke? Amazing!

I'll jump on the bandwagon...
__________________
Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding!
Rower_CPU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:26 AM   #67
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
I added mine, have you? Show some team spirt fools.
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 04:14 PM   #68
Tiauguinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Tiauguinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Netherlands
How do I make my sig like yours? I know only to post the entire adress... Please teach me how to do it...
__________________
Join MR Folding Team (3446)
Tiauguinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 04:36 PM   #69
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by Tiauguinho
How do I make my sig like yours? I know only to post the entire adress... Please teach me how to do it...
Folding

Pretend your quoting this message and the code will be there instead of the link. I think that's the best way to see it. That's how I learned.
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:04 PM   #70
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Duke...I see you've made some headway with your folding. No longer number 75.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 09:32 PM   #71
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Quote:
Originally posted by bousozoku
Duke...I see you've made some headway with your folding. No longer number 75.
ha, well, i updated my old machine to jaguar and got it going so I now have two machines running it a 450 G4 and the 667 TiPB

not fantastic, but hey, its working ok so far - i'm 51st!

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:39 PM   #72
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet


ha, well, i updated my old machine to jaguar and got it going so I now have two machines running it a 450 G4 and the 667 TiPB

not fantastic, but hey, its working ok so far - i'm 51st!

D
You've bypassed my G3 machine and you're working toward my dual G4. Stop that. I'll have to buy more memory or something to stay ahead.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:28 PM   #73
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by dukestreet
not fantastic, but hey, its working ok so far - i'm 51st!
Good work! Try to pass up that overclocker.
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2002, 11:42 PM   #74
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Ha, well, i'm thinking i'm going to be getting a dual 800 or 1Ghz for my sawtooth - that should make more of a difference.

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2002, 12:03 AM   #75
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally posted by mc68k
Good work! Try to pass up that overclocker.
No overclockers here! Maybe that stuff flies where you are, but not in my house.

Besides, Jaguar seems to slow down my G3. Probably, it's a lack of memory. Looks like G4 memory isn't too bad right now.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacRumors Folding@home Team Reaches One Billion Points MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 47 May 21, 2014 11:10 PM
Mac Rumors Folding team hits the 1 Billion Milestone costabunny Current Events 1 Nov 5, 2013 06:09 PM
Folding@Home Mobile Monitoring ChristianJapan iPad Apps 0 Sep 5, 2013 08:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC