Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2010, 04:30 PM   #1
flynz4
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Using a USA 3G iPad overseas

I suspect we do not know yet... and once we do know... I suspect that we will not like the answer.

My question: If we have a USA iPad 3G, and if we travel overseas to a location that is served locally with iPad plans... will we be able to get a local activation?

I suspect USA iPads are locked to AT&T... but it would be quite valuable if we could buy a micro-sim and get a plan in various geographies.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 04:39 PM   #2
wingnut8
macrumors 65816
 
wingnut8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I would assume you could just buy a sim wherever you would be.
__________________
13" MacBook Air| 13" MacBook Pro | 17" MacBook Pro | 32GB iPhone 4| 64GB white Verizon iPad 2
wingnut8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 04:45 PM   #3
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
I suspect USA iPads are locked to AT&T... but it would be quite valuable if we could buy a micro-sim and get a plan in various geographies.
Jobs specifically said in the keynote that the iPad is unlocked so you can use any compatible micro-sim anywhere in the world.
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 04:45 PM   #4
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
I suspect USA iPads are locked to AT&T.
They're apparently not locked, but of course you'll need a micro SIM from your operator of choice and it remains to be seen how many will provide these.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 05:11 PM   #5
avaloncourt
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Spring View Post
Jobs specifically said in the keynote that the iPad is unlocked so you can use any compatible micro-sim anywhere in the world.
Yep, that's correct. The problem is finding an operator who has microSIMs available. That's not going to be widely available until international distribution gets into full swing.


From Wikipedia:
Quote:
The following carriers currently or in the near future (in the past only H3G) will manufacture micro-SIM cards for their cellular networks.
AT&T Mobility
T-Mobile[1]
Orange[9]
O2 (Telefónica)[9]
NTT docomo[10][11]
H3G
avaloncourt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 10:27 PM   #6
TXCraig
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
They're apparently not locked, but of course you'll need a micro SIM from your operator of choice and it remains to be seen how many will provide these.
Good lord! Has Apple decided to use a non standard size SIM card? Why on earth would they do that? They have PLENTY of room in this device!
TXCraig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 10:32 PM   #7
avaloncourt
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
You have to ask why? It's Apple. They chose a non-typical SIM card size which allows them to control the marketplace for a limited time. They didn't want people with iPhones (or any other phone) pulling their SIM card out and putting it in the iPad. It's all about control.

If you do some searching online you'll find discussion about how to properly cut down a standard SIM to meet micro dimensions. Some SIMs are constructed to prevent this but others aren't.

For the non-adventurous types, they'll just have to wait for other carriers and options to surface. You'll also notice there are no Canadian carriers in that list with microSIMs.
avaloncourt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 03:40 AM   #8
wackymacky
macrumors 65816
 
wackymacky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: sent to 17.019528,-25.06721 for the next 6 weeks for my sins
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXCraig View Post
Good lord! Has Apple decided to use a non standard size SIM card? Why on earth would they do that? They have PLENTY of room in this device!
Micro-SIM is accutually standard. It'll likey become the main form of sims with in a few years.

Apple have just decided to do so early.

I partly susspect it is to stop people use thier iPhone sims.
wackymacky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 03:47 AM   #9
.Andy
macrumors 68030
 
.Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Mergui Archipelago
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXCraig View Post
They have PLENTY of room in this device!
How many tear downs have you seen ?
__________________
Each man's death diminishes me, for I am involved in mankind. Therefore, send not to know for whom the bell tolls, it tolls for thee.
.Andy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 07:12 PM   #10
jjw415
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
You do not have to look for a carrier overseas that has sim cards in the new micro size. There are several firms that now sell 'micro sim cutters' for maybe $20-30, which will nicely chop your standard mobile device mini sim down to micro sim size. Or you can do it yourself with some scissors and a paper template for a micro sim; there are a number of YouTube videos showing you how. Then just pop it in your 3G iPad and you should be good to go with respect to cellular data service.

In case you are wondering about the very idea of swapping in a sim card from a carrier in another country, Walter Mossberg, the Wall Street Journal's tech reporter, was recently asked a question from a reader about using their iPad overseas -- and Mossberg then queried Apple about this. Here's the exchange:

Q:
If you buy a U.S. 3G iPad and take it to Europe, can you swap in a 3G SIM card from an authorized iPad carrier there to avoid AT&T roaming fees?
A:
I haven’t tried it, but Apple says the answer to this is yes. The company told me that if you insert a SIM from one its partner carriers, the carrier settings get set automatically when you plug in the SIM, though in some cases you might need to have connected your iPad to iTunes recently for this to work correctly. Apple adds that you can even use a SIM from a non-partner carrier, though in that case, you’d have to manually enter the carrier settings on the iPad. Note, however, that the iPad uses a new, smaller size of SIM card that not all carriers sell yet.

Once you solve this last sim card size-problem, as I noted you can easily do, then there should be no difficulties.

Last edited by jjw415; Aug 21, 2010 at 07:18 PM.
jjw415 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 07:53 PM   #11
sapporobaby
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 3 earth minutes from your location....
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
I suspect we do not know yet... and once we do know... I suspect that we will not like the answer.

My question: If we have a USA iPad 3G, and if we travel overseas to a location that is served locally with iPad plans... will we be able to get a local activation?

I suspect USA iPads are locked to AT&T... but it would be quite valuable if we could buy a micro-sim and get a plan in various geographies.

/Jim
The answer has been out for quite a while. You just didn't bother to use the search. The reason I know the answer has been out a while is because I posted the answer. Next time use the search. It is your best friend.
sapporobaby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 08:55 PM   #12
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sapporobaby View Post
The answer has been out for quite a while. You just didn't bother to use the search. The reason I know the answer has been out a while is because I posted the answer. Next time use the search. It is your best friend.
Wow. You do realize this thread started in March. Lol.
Lay off the hate.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 09:45 PM   #13
J&JPolangin
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Japan...at the waters edge...
Here in Japan, Softbank is the iPhone carrier (on and off base) and if you buy a 3G iPad on base Softbank won't let you use your iPad on their 3G network... you have to get a pocket wifi unit from them and carry that with you...
__________________
2011 21" iMac, AEBS, 2009 2.0Ghz nVidia 9400M WB 4GB RAM & 64Gb SSD, 2011 13" MBP w/ 512Gb SSD/8Gb RAM, 2013 11.6" MBA & iPad3 64gb 4G
PC's: X6, H60, 12Gb RAM, 3x1Tb HDD, 128Gb SSD
J&JPolangin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 03:03 AM   #14
sushi
Moderator emeritus
 
sushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: キャンプスワンピー [Japan]
Quote:
Originally Posted by J&JPolangin View Post
Here in Japan, Softbank is the iPhone carrier (on and off base) and if you buy a 3G iPad on base Softbank won't let you use your iPad on their 3G network... you have to get a pocket wifi unit from them and carry that with you...
Yep as of now. But it's supposed to change. Although I wouldn't hold my breath.

FWIW if you purchase an iPad 3G in Japan at say Yodobashi Camera, you can use an AT&T micro-SIM while in the states.
__________________
You only live twice, once when you are born, and when you look death in the face. *Basho style poem from 007 YOLT.
sushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 04:44 AM   #15
J&JPolangin
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Japan...at the waters edge...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sushi View Post
Yep as of now. But it's supposed to change. Although I wouldn't hold my breath.

FWIW if you purchase an iPad 3G in Japan at say Yodobashi Camera, you can use an AT&T micro-SIM while in the states.
...thanks for the info.... I used above as an excuse to return the iPad I had gotten (64Gb 3G - $738 on sale)... just a day too late

Seriously though, I missed being able to put the iPad in my pocket like my iPod Touch... if they put 3G in the iPT that would be great (but I doubt it will ever happen)!
__________________
2011 21" iMac, AEBS, 2009 2.0Ghz nVidia 9400M WB 4GB RAM & 64Gb SSD, 2011 13" MBP w/ 512Gb SSD/8Gb RAM, 2013 11.6" MBA & iPad3 64gb 4G
PC's: X6, H60, 12Gb RAM, 3x1Tb HDD, 128Gb SSD
J&JPolangin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 10:06 PM   #16
sushi
Moderator emeritus
 
sushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: キャンプスワンピー [Japan]
Quote:
Originally Posted by J&JPolangin View Post
Seriously though, I missed being able to put the iPad in my pocket like my iPod Touch... if they put 3G in the iPT that would be great (but I doubt it will ever happen)!
I hear you. I use my iPhone for portable use as I always have it with me. An iPod touch would be a nice alternative -- especially with Skype over 3G.

Recently I find myself using my iPad 3G more often such as right now on my trip into Tokyo on the train. Very convenient.
__________________
You only live twice, once when you are born, and when you look death in the face. *Basho style poem from 007 YOLT.

Last edited by sushi; Aug 25, 2010 at 10:12 PM.
sushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 10:17 PM   #17
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Quote:
Originally Posted by J&JPolangin View Post
you have to get a pocket wifi unit
Actually I start to regret that I got the 3G version of iPad. The WiFi with the portable wifi modem would be better. I could use it with my MBP or iP4. The iP4 would then also allow FaceTime via wifi/3g. 18 month to go.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 10:47 PM   #18
KevinC867
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Saratoga, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Actually I start to regret that I got the 3G version of iPad. The WiFi with the portable wifi modem would be better. I could use it with my MBP or iP4. The iP4 would then also allow FaceTime via wifi/3g. 18 month to go.
But if you're willing to jail-brake your iPad, it can provide the same function as a modem+router for the price of the $20 MyWi app (or possibly the cheaper iTether app?).

I did this recently on a trip to Norway. I picked up a Netcom micro-sim and purchased a month of unlimited 3G service for $40. MyWi allowed me to access the internet from my laptop, IP4 and a family member's iPad in addition to my own iPad. It worked brilliantly. I even used the WiFi network created by MyWi for local video streaming from my laptop to my iOS devices via AirVideo.
KevinC867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 01:27 AM   #19
sushi
Moderator emeritus
 
sushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: キャンプスワンピー [Japan]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Actually I start to regret that I got the 3G version of iPad. The WiFi with the portable wifi modem would be better. I could use it with my MBP or iP4. The iP4 would then also allow FaceTime via wifi/3g. 18 month to go.
I was thinking of the same, but now that I've used my iPad in Japan and in the US via an AT&t micro-SIM, I'm vey happy with having a 3G model.

Unfortunately with the current Pocket WiFi devices, you are limited to a much shorter battery life -- 3-4 hours -- than the iPad 3G. Plus you now have two devices to carry, to charge and to keep track of.

Also, the iPad 3G includes GPS which comes in handy when traveling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinC867 View Post
But if you're willing to jail-brake your iPad, it can provide the same function as a modem+router for the price of the $20 MyWi app (or possibly the cheaper iTether app?). <snip>
Another option.
__________________
You only live twice, once when you are born, and when you look death in the face. *Basho style poem from 007 YOLT.
sushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 01:44 AM   #20
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Quote:
Originally Posted by sushi View Post
I was thinking of the same, but now that I've used my iPad in Japan and in the US via an AT&t micro-SIM, I'm vey happy with having a 3G
Yes, actually I also choosed the 3G with travel in mind, too. What disappoint me is the SIM lock in Japan (only). You know yourself that there was no chance to get a 3G w/o a contract with SB. At least I switched that one to 100MB as I'm mostly on WiFi
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 02:16 AM   #21
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinC867 View Post
But if you're willing to jail-brake your iPad
Don't really like JB. Did that old devices where I don't care about actual firmware anymore. Just to play and learn. I like to be actual with "production" devices. But thanks for the tip.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 03:36 AM   #22
J&JPolangin
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Japan...at the waters edge...
...yeah, I didn't want to carry the additional wifi device...
__________________
2011 21" iMac, AEBS, 2009 2.0Ghz nVidia 9400M WB 4GB RAM & 64Gb SSD, 2011 13" MBP w/ 512Gb SSD/8Gb RAM, 2013 11.6" MBA & iPad3 64gb 4G
PC's: X6, H60, 12Gb RAM, 3x1Tb HDD, 128Gb SSD
J&JPolangin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 04:51 AM   #23
saxondale.
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England/China
You can use any micro sim but you'll find that most companies require a debit/credit card from that country, with the billing address linked to a place in that country. So it's certainly possible but not practical.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II 35mm f/1.4L - 24-70mm f/2.8L - 70-200mm f/4L
Flickr
saxondale. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 06:22 AM   #24
BaronStein
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NY
Ok, here is what I've experienced.

I'm currenly outside of US, doing an intern at Turkey, and I brought my 3G ipad with me.

I bought a prepaid 3G plan from a local GSM carrier. Cut it to be the exactly same size with my micro-sim from At&T. What happened is that the At&T Data menu is disappeared from settings screen. There are two options now, one for enabling celular data and choosing carrier. When you enable the celular data iPad automatically chooses the carrier and done. Works flawlessly, even simpler than US. No activation or anything necessary. Just cut the card, put it into the slot and go.

However, there are few drawbacks. First of all, my all-time favorite app, Pandora does not work here, like Hulu, Netflix, ABC etc. And Youtube is currently blocked by government in Turkey, which sucks.

Btw, 3G coverage and speed is far better than At&T here.
__________________
Baronstein Watches You!
BaronStein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 09:57 AM   #25
KevinC867
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Saratoga, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaronStein View Post
Ok, here is what I've experienced.

I'm currenly outside of US, doing an intern at Turkey, and I brought my 3G ipad with me.

I bought a prepaid 3G plan from a local GSM carrier....

Btw, 3G coverage and speed is far better than At&T here.
Great info - Thanks! I'm leaving for Turkey in a couple of weeks. I will be in Istanbul and visiting small towns on the south-west coast near Marmaris. Can you give me a few more details regarding carriers and cost? Would I have any difficulty in purchasing a plan as a non-Turkish resident?
KevinC867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SIM Unlocking Virgin Mobile USA iPhone 4S for use overseas penpal1278 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 7 Jul 26, 2013 08:15 AM
All iPads: I was thinking of buying an iPad from overseas... McEvoy iPad 6 Jul 2, 2013 11:18 AM
iPad: Need help with ipad/Hulu overseas Lend27 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Apr 2, 2013 12:23 AM
iPad 4 for use overseas hashashyin iPad 0 Oct 25, 2012 11:29 AM
Using a ATT iPad overseas (France/Italy) oscsjc iPad 2 Sep 26, 2012 10:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC