Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Old Mar 21, 2010, 05:35 PM   #1
camuk
macrumors newbie

Help on mac to Tv

Dear All.

This weekend I bought my first I Mac, well the problem is the whole family fell in love with the I Mac and before I knew it I had gone down to the local shop and traded in my apple tv to run a mac mini on my 42 inch tv.

Here in lies the problem (please bear in mind I am a mac newbie,) I m trying to connect the mac mini to the tv however it doesn't want to play.

At the minute when I connect the mini to a Pc monitor it displays the mac mini information. I then googled some info and downloaded chicken of the VNC on the I Mac to control the mac mini.

On the mac mini I downloaded display config X. Then disaster struck power cut. Ok thought I would restart however now the program is unable to open. I have re download, moved to the recycle bin, banged my head against the wall and I am no closer.

In my eagerness to connect I went with whatever I could get my hands on in the store.

So my set up is; mini div to dvi adapter, dvi cable to dvi adapter to pc connector, back of the tv.

I have the phono jack so I can sort the sound out but I can get any pictures up. Any thought or help with this issue as I am looking forward to the mini on the tv.

And yes it is overkill I think I am now officially an apple convert!
camuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 06:32 PM   #2
Ca$hflow
macrumors 6502

Check out this sticky

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=792106

I know it says macbook but it will work on the mini as well.
Old Mar 21, 2010, 09:06 PM   #3
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040

Quote:
Originally Posted by camuk View Post
Dear All.