Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 8, 2004, 09:09 PM   #1
Tenesmus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Plugging in ipod w/FW HD on causes mass hysteria

So here's the deal:

Just bought a new 20 GB ipod today. I love it. Because of my small internal 10 GB HD on my old iMac DV (still back when they had 'flavors') I have an external firewire HD that I keep all my CDs archived on because I don't want 6 GB of my internal eaten up by that. Soo I plugged in the ipod today for the first time and the computer totally froze up, couldn't move the mouse, clock had stopped, nothing, the ipod froze up until i unplugged it. I had to reboot, and found that it works if i first have the ipod on, then I power up the HD. I can plug in the ipod if i first unmount the HD and shut it off (not sure if i really have to shut it off i just have been) let the ipod mount, then I turn on the HD and it works just fine.

Anyone have a fix or experience something similar???


TIA mates.
Tenesmus is offline   0
Old Sep 8, 2004, 09:21 PM   #2
smitty078
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
what OS? 9.x, 10.x.x ? 8.x?!
smitty078 is offline   0
Old Sep 8, 2004, 10:07 PM   #3
rainman::|:|
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: iowa
Send a message via Yahoo to rainman::|:|
I had this happen on my iMac DV+ as well. The solution for me was to plug the iPod in through the second port on the external drive... does yours provide one? I had also been considering buying a powered hub before I fixed it. Not sure if that will work or not...

paul
rainman::|:| is offline   0
Old Sep 9, 2004, 02:17 PM   #4
Tenesmus
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
I am running OS 10.3.5 with all the latest updates. I tried plugging the ipod into the 2 FW port on the back of the HD and it still locked everything up. I guess it's not a terrible pain to just unmount the HD before mounting th ipod, then remounting the HD, but it's extra work i dont want to do.
Tenesmus is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes 7.7/7.7.1 Beach Ball when plugging in iPod Touch totally_fly Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jul 30, 2008 09:20 PM
Using a plugged in iPod Howard Brazee iPod 6 Feb 9, 2007 01:53 PM
plug in iPod, iTunes stops! ero87 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Oct 24, 2006 06:29 AM
Plugged in iPod freazes Windows PC AtHomeBoy_2000 iPod 2 Nov 6, 2005 09:29 PM
iPod as FW HD question macguymike Macintosh Computers 5 Jan 3, 2004 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC