Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2010, 07:58 PM   #1
Lester52
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Could my router firmware or bios be infected?

Is it possible that my router firmware or bios could be infected? If I do a hard reset where I push the tiny button in would this wipe anything bad off that could be on there?
Lester52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 08:01 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
What router do you have?

And do you have a PC, or why are you talking about BIOS?

And why do you think they are infected?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 08:59 PM   #3
Lester52
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I had questions about router security and I was given a link to this page:

http://securitytube.net/Router-Hacki...%29-video.aspx

I went there and watched the video. But the website seems like a hacking website and I'm worried that I could have been hacked by going there.
Lester52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 09:08 PM   #4
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lester52 View Post
I had questions about router security and I was given a link to this page:

http://securitytube.net/Router-Hacki...%29-video.aspx

I went there and watched the video. But the website seems like a hacking website and I'm worried that I could have been hacked by going there.
Is your router password protected?
Is that password sufficiently long?

I have more than 20 characters for my router and wireless LAN passwords, which should be more than sufficient to protect myself. I also have Mac OS X on my computers, with a Firewall, so I am protected. But if one really wants to get inside, and has the resources and time, one could succeed in penetrating my security, but to what point?

Do you suspect to be infiltrated?

And you haven't answered my questions regarding what router and computer you use, as you mentioned the BIOS, which is not existing on Apple computers.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 09:20 PM   #5
Lester52
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I'm sorry for not answering your questions before. The router is a 2wire and while I do have PCs I haven't had the one PC I used on the internet connected to the router for months.

I'm very scared of that website I linked you to. I don't know if it can be trusted or not.
Lester52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 09:24 PM   #6
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lester52 View Post
I'm sorry for not answering your questions before. The router is a 2wire and while I do have PCs I haven't had the one PC I used on the internet connected to the router for months.

I'm very scared of that website I linked you to. I don't know if it can be trusted or not.
Do you suspect to be infiltrated or your security being compromised?

If you have taken all the steps to countermeasure the points the narrator in that first video told you about insecurities, then it is quite fair to say, you are safe.

No need to be overly anxious about it. Unless you suspect infiltration and have data that could compromise the company or country you work for, which could make you a target, but I assume, that is not the case.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 09:29 PM   #7
Lester52
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I have no evidence that anything has happened or will, but since the bad incident on windows which made me switch to Mac I've been paranoid about security issues. I also sometimes feel naked on the Mac since they don't require as much messing with as windows does.

Can you verify if SecurityTube is a safe website, and if http://securitytube.net/Router-Hacki...%29-video.aspx is safe to go to?
Lester52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 09:34 PM   #8
notjustjay
macrumors 603
 
notjustjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
The video is hosted from vimeo.com which is a trusted site -- perhaps not as popular as YouTube but of similar calibre. It's just a guy reading some PowerPoint slides.

Don't worry, there's nothing risky here.
__________________
.
notjustjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it Safari or my router being slow? whohasaquestion Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 12 Sep 20, 2011 11:08 PM
I want to cascade or connect my linksys 54G router to my airport express londy1215 Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 15, 2011 04:47 PM
Could my external memory drive be making my Imac slower? CyrusOz iMac 6 Jun 19, 2010 10:55 AM
Trojan question:Can I get one on my mac via a PC, or a possibly infected google doc? Lisboa OS X 11 May 6, 2010 08:36 AM
Could My OS Possible Be Preventing my iPhone From Connecting via USB? doebtown OS X 1 Aug 27, 2009 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC