Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 25, 2010, 09:22 PM   #1
hypersapien
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Can Handbrake skip bad sectors?

Hello- I'm trying to rip the final disc of Dexter Season 1 (disc 4), which contains only the final episode and mostly bonus content. I'm getting bad sector errors that prevent me from completing this season. Are there any work arounds for this problem?

I just watched the disc normally, and the episode plays fine. When I use handbrake to rip this disc, its initial "scanning new source" dialogue only gets to 11 of 19 titles and then stays there.

Any ideas?
hypersapien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 09:41 PM   #2
GermanSuplex
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Try opening up the DVD and dragging the entire contents to your hard disk. (usually a VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folder) and see if you can get everything successfully copied.
GermanSuplex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2010, 09:49 PM   #3
hypersapien
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanSuplex View Post
Try opening up the DVD and dragging the entire contents to your hard disk. (usually a VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folder) and see if you can get everything successfully copied.
I'm trying that now, so far one VOB file didn't work. I'm going to copy as many files over as it lets me, and hope there is a way to rip the files that did successfully transfer.
hypersapien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 05:48 AM   #4
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Assuming that the disk is in good condition then bad sector errors are usually a type of copy protection that DVD's use to stop you copying them. Most DVD decrypting software can handle bad sector copy protection, eg AnyDVD for windows.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 09:26 AM   #5
hypersapien
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thanks for the advice guys, I finally got it to work and am now better prepared for the next time I face this.

First, I tried copying all the files from the dvd to my HD. Five of the largest .VOB files on the disc couldn't be copied over. I tried running hand brake on a couple of the largest .VOB files that did transfer, but they came out all scrambled. However, I could still make out that these select tracks were the ones that contained the episode I wanted.

Next I downloaded mac the ripper. MCTR allowed me to select the individual titles I wanted to rip rather than the whole disc, thus skipping the bad sectors. I don't know if there's a way to make this program output a .m4v file or not, but I got a repackaged folder of more .vob's and stuff. So I then ran handbrake on this new folder, and voila! Finally I have completed this series. =)
hypersapien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 12:23 PM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Note that in HandBrake you can use open source title specific to just scan and encode the exact title you want. Much like mtr or dtox. As long as the bad portion is not in the title you want to rip (which in this instance sounds like the case) hb will ignore anything but the title you specify.

http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Suppor...lespecificscan

Note: If you are using 0.9.4 or greater (which you should be imo) there is a shortcut. Any time the source browse window is open, after you choose your dvd, hold down the option key while clicking the "Open" button, that will tell the HandBrake MacGui to ask for the specific title next and then only scan that title number instead of the entire source.
dynaflash is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2011, 09:13 PM   #7
CAWjr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Note that in HandBrake you can use open source title specific to just scan and encode the exact title you want. Much like mtr or dtox. As long as the bad portion is not in the title you want to rip (which in this instance sounds like the case) hb will ignore anything but the title you specify.

http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Suppor...lespecificscan

Note: If you are using 0.9.4 or greater (which you should be imo) there is a shortcut. Any time the source browse window is open, after you choose your dvd, hold down the option key while clicking the "Open" button, that will tell the HandBrake MacGui to ask for the specific title next and then only scan that title number instead of the entire source.
OMG..I am running 0.9.5 and I just tried the Option trick. It worked like a champ! I will never again scan the entire disk. Thank you so much for that!!
CAWjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 12:25 PM   #8
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
No problem, scans are much shorter if you don't have hb scan the entire disk, especially on those 99 title disney flicks.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 04:17 PM   #9
giobox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Note that in HandBrake you can use open source title specific to just scan and encode the exact title you want. Much like mtr or dtox. As long as the bad portion is not in the title you want to rip (which in this instance sounds like the case) hb will ignore anything but the title you specify.

http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Suppor...lespecificscan

Note: If you are using 0.9.4 or greater (which you should be imo) there is a shortcut. Any time the source browse window is open, after you choose your dvd, hold down the option key while clicking the "Open" button, that will tell the HandBrake MacGui to ask for the specific title next and then only scan that title number instead of the entire source.
This is the most useful shortcut I've learned in a while. I have ripped hundreds of DVDs in Handbrake and not known about this. Thanks!
giobox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Zeroing a HHD with Disc Utility identify bad sectors? Droooooj Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 15, 2013 06:24 PM
Drive Genius keeps on returning small amount of bad sectors? Cubytus OS X 9 Nov 18, 2013 03:48 PM
Can a HDD with a few bad sectors slow down the whole computer significantly? Cubytus MacBook Pro 7 Oct 9, 2013 02:41 PM
Handbrake Chapter Skip TrenttonY Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Oct 5, 2013 05:32 PM
"Bad sectors" on MBP harddrive - confirm that I'm not being taken for a ride essex MacBook Pro 3 Jun 21, 2012 05:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC