Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2010, 12:36 PM   #1
bdougla63
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Local hostname has been changed? Why?

Hi everyone

Got this weird message on my G5 and I have no other computers networked to it.
"This Computer's local hostname "****computer.local" is already in use on this network. The name has been changed to "****-2.local" automatically

To change the local hostname open System Pref. and click sharing. Then click edit and type the name in the local hostname field."

Why would this happen?
bdougla63 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2010, 06:42 AM   #2
mikelangelo11
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
when another computer is on the network. Are you running a wireless network, or is the computer plugged directly into the the cable modem
mikelangelo11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 01:21 PM   #3
Pinkerton
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
I've had the same or a similar issue. My computer was constantly renaming itself with a (2) every time it booted, after a system lockup. I tracked the issue down to CD/DVD sharing... when turned off the problem went away.

When CD/DVD sharing was on, I could not change the name back to the original version, it would get rejected and immediately set back to the version with "(2)", displaying the message:

The name of your computer "Name" is already in use on this network. The name has been changed to "Name (2)" automatically.

With CD/DVD sharing turned off, I could name my computer whatever I liked, even back to the original name. Turning DVD/CD sharing back on again would instantly rename my Mac. It's very persistent bug!

Fortunately I found a fix. I was able to get rid of the problem by toggling Bonjour, as described here:

http://tech.karbassi.com/2007/11/06/...mdnsresponder/

To turn Bonjour off:

sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist

To turn it back on:

sudo launchctl load -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist

Toggling Bonjour (mDNSResponder) forced a reset of something on my system somewhere, and now I no longer see the issue on reboot, even with CD/DVD sharing turned on. I can turn sharing on and off at will, and my computer is never renamed. Success!

I don't think this problem has to do with CD/DVD sharing specifically... I think it's a bug in Bonjour. I've seen threads where people have complained about this issue because of printer sharing, or remote management! My guess is that a crash can cause a mDNSResponder config corruption, tricking Bonjour to share devices or services using the same name as your computer, forcing the name conflict.

In any case, I hope this fix works for you too. I know I'm a lot happier now that there isn't a lingering issue on my box!
Pinkerton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2010, 02:25 AM   #4
jerry333
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
This seems to be a problem with Snow Leopard Server. It can happen anytime you (or the system) changes or refreshes network settings, adds an alias, etc. To check:

scutil --get ComputerName
scutil --get HostName
scutil --dns

If the hostname is wrong use:
scutil --set <ComputerName|HostName> <correct value>

Of course, you have to be root to do this.
jerry333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2011, 08:22 PM   #5
cottcpa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
follow up on changes to local host name

Hi everybody, I'm experiencing a similar problem to that which was discussed here a few months ago. It all started when I changed my airport settings to make the network hidden and changed the security from WPA/WPA2 to WPA2. The same night I received the message about a change to the local host name (changed to "NAME-2"). I immediately changed the settings back to WPA/WPA2.

My firewall is on; stealth mode is on. I use little snitch as well. All sharing is turned off.

Today I had another incident of a change to my local hostname (now NAME-3) As far as I know, my IMAC is the only computer connected to the hidden network.

I ran the get-host-name function in terminal and it says that no hostname has been set.

I also noticed today that when I would wake my IMAC from sleep, there would be a brief moment where the screensaver appeared as a picture I've never seen before. Immediately after the username/password box opens followed by my normal screen saver.

I also noted twice today that my external hard drive ('time machine') was suddenly dragged quickly across the screen as if I dragged it myself; then disappeared from the windowpane as if I unplugged it. I have a few devices including this HD running through a single hub, but this hard drive was the only device turned on.

Please let me know if anyone can help me understand what's going on. I'm pretty unlearned when it comes to these things so will appreciate the help. All this in one day concerns me.
cottcpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 08:15 AM   #6
paisleypaper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Same question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdougla63 View Post
Hi everyone

Got this weird message on my G5 and I have no other computers networked to it.
"This Computer's local hostname "****computer.local" is already in use on this network. The name has been changed to "****-2.local" automatically

To change the local hostname open System Pref. and click sharing. Then click edit and type the name in the local hostname field."

Why would this happen?
This is the same thing that I have. The solutions suggested mention more than one computer or device to rename. That does not apply for me. There is just the one computer. Does that mean that some other unknown computer is getting in?? This just happened yesterday. Have not changed anything. Thanks for any assistance. I do not understand what this terminology means, and what I should do.

Last edited by paisleypaper; May 18, 2011 at 12:22 PM. Reason: additional info
paisleypaper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2012, 08:34 PM   #7
bill howell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Saginaw, Michigasn
Bill in Michigan

I have an iMac running 10.7.4 server that is connected to a lAN plus airport. I access printers and a server raid using the lag and sync an iPad, iPod and IPhone using airport. When airport is on I get the message:Hostname is already in use on network. Neme has been changed. All hostnames are unique on the WIFI and lan. The airport is set up as a bridge. When I turn airport off the message does not appear. When I turn Airport on it appears regularly.
I appears that the LAN router and Airport both assign ip numbers to the same machine.
An ideas on how to remedy this problem?
bill howell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check if a setting has been changed? zerocustom1989 iPhone/iPad Programming 1 Aug 6, 2010 10:22 PM
Today my mind has been changed... NiuFengLe iPad 23 Apr 1, 2010 12:38 PM
Power button has been changing the volume steve knight iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Mar 17, 2010 04:06 PM
Someone please help, Font has been changed. illuminous OS X 1 Nov 20, 2007 03:10 AM
Humanity has been changing the climate for 8000 years! Stelliform Current Events 16 Dec 12, 2003 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC