Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2002, 07:21 AM   #1
cb911
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
Question using internal Hard Drive as an external HD...

i am down to my last 2GB of HD space, so i desprately need a bigger HD. i've got a 667 TiBook, and it's only got the 30GB (27GB formatted) HD. i could get a 60GB internal to replace the 30GB, but that would cost a bit. my other option is to get a external HD, or an iPod, but that would cost as well.

so i was thinking, is there any way i could use a internal HD sort of like a external HD? it would be alot cheaper- AU$200 for an 80GB HD.
could i have a internal just sitting in an empty tower, with adapters so i could use it as a firewire HD? is there any way i could get a internal HD to hook up to my Mac, just so i can back stuff up?
it doesn't matter how complex or obscure the idea of how to make it work, just post it. i just might be desprate enough to do it!
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0
Old Aug 5, 2002, 07:36 AM   #2
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Re: using internal Hard Drive as an external HD...

Quote:
Originally posted by cb911
i am down to my last 2GB of HD space, so i desprately need a bigger HD. i've got a 667 TiBook, and it's only got the 30GB (27GB formatted) HD. i could get a 60GB internal to replace the 30GB, but that would cost a bit. my other option is to get a external HD, or an iPod, but that would cost as well.

so i was thinking, is there any way i could use a internal HD sort of like a external HD? it would be alot cheaper- AU$200 for an 80GB HD.
could i have a internal just sitting in an empty tower, with adapters so i could use it as a firewire HD? is there any way i could get a internal HD to hook up to my Mac, just so i can back stuff up?
it doesn't matter how complex or obscure the idea of how to make it work, just post it. i just might be desprate enough to do it!

Hmm... is there a way for an internal HD to work like an external HD....

The answer is yes... and the answer includes an enclosure/bridge chip/powersupply.

I'm not sure why you think you have to go through so many hoops... enclosure/firewirecase/power costs about $100 US. Maybe cheaper.

arn

arn
arn is online now   0
Old Aug 5, 2002, 04:10 PM   #3
cb911
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
ok, thaks arn!

i'll have a look around for all that stuff. enclosure, bridge chip and power supply- now i know what to look for, thanks.
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0
Old Aug 5, 2002, 04:23 PM   #4
strider42
macrumors 65816
 
strider42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by cb911
ok, thaks arn!

i'll have a look around for all that stuff. enclosure, bridge chip and power supply- now i know what to look for, thanks.
there are several firewire and USb enclosures for ide drives out there, many work without drivers, all as one unit.
strider42 is offline   0
Old Aug 5, 2002, 04:36 PM   #5
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
If you can, look for an enclosure using the Oxford 911 chipset. It's the best chipset out there for external FW HDDs.


Lethal
LethalWolfe is offline   0
Old Aug 6, 2002, 01:44 AM   #6
cb911
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
ok, got it. adding to my list- Oxford 911 chipset.

know any links where i could find out more about this stuff? like a article on how to put one of these together?
and more importantly, what are some good Australian sites with all this kind of stuff?
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0
Old Aug 6, 2002, 02:23 AM   #7
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally posted by cb911
ok, got it. adding to my list- Oxford 911 chipset.

know any links where i could find out more about this stuff? like a article on how to put one of these together?
and more importantly, what are some good Australian sites with all this kind of stuff?

Yer making this more complicated than it is. All you do is buy a firewire enclosure and put yer HDD inside of it. Here is an example of what you want.


Lethal
LethalWolfe is offline   0
Old Aug 6, 2002, 04:42 PM   #8
cb911
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
Talking thanks LethalWolfe!

that's exactly what i needed!

but does anyone know an Australian site i could get it from? it would be a pain to get it from the US.
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0
Old Aug 6, 2002, 06:18 PM   #9
datalok
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
hey cb - i am here in Aus and I have a clearlight firewire enclosure with a 10 gb 2.5 inch hdd I am lookin to sell - anyway if you wanna email me I can tell you anything you want about firewire HDs - I have to say they are brilliant - I had a USB ORB drive that took 70 minutes to copy 2 GB - the 9GB Firewire takes about 8 minutes - would be even faster if i spent $50 on a power supply rather than use the port power. I even used to run different OSs on the firewire drive and boot directly from it .

Don't think this is a sales pitch - I am just very impressed with them.
datalok is offline   0
Old Aug 7, 2002, 01:49 AM   #10
cb911
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
hey datalok

where did you get your HD from? a store or a website? know any online Aus places with all that kind of stuff?
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0
Old Aug 7, 2002, 09:17 AM   #11
AlphaTech
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Natick, MA
Send a message via ICQ to AlphaTech Send a message via AIM to AlphaTech Send a message via Yahoo to AlphaTech
Hey cb911, if you put your internal hard drive outside your computer, what are you going to use inside the computer??

As for adding space/storage, why not get the external firewire enclosure for a 3-1/2" hard drive and use that to keep your files/data??? You could pick up whatever 3-1/2" ATA hard drive you want and toss it into the case. It's NOT a difficult thing to do either, and you could easily install a 120GB or 160GB drive into that case. The enclosures typically sell for about $100 (for a good one). I actually have a 40GB drive sitting inside this one and it works great (when I connect it and use it).

I'd say, leave the drive you have inside the PowerBook and just add storage to the firewire bus... that's what it's there for.
__________________
"Wake up, time to die"
800MHz PowerBook G4,1GB RAM, 40GB HD (internal) with 130GB in external drives
2002 Harley Davidson Softail Standard
main site:theTechPub
store site:store
AlphaTech is offline   0
Old Aug 7, 2002, 05:49 PM   #12
cb911
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
i'm not going to take out the HD i have in my Mac, i was think of getting a external FW case and putting a regular HD in it, thus making an external HD.

but i'm having second thoughts about that now. it looks like the FW case would be about AU$200, and i want a decent size HD, so i'll probably go for a 80GB. and the cheapest HD i could find is about AU$350. that makes it a total of AU$550 and i could get an external 80GB FW HD for AU$470!! here's the one i'm talking about: http://www.palaeographics.com.au/cgi...2&sid=3G1muFhx
i've still got to find out a bit more about the IceCube, but so far it looks like that's the easiest and cheapest way to go.
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install on external ssd THEN swap with internal hard-drive GenesisST OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Oct 22, 2013 07:40 PM
Cannot start from internal but can from external hard drive aduffy32 MacBook Pro 1 Apr 22, 2013 08:25 PM
Turning Internal Hard drive into External Hard Drive - Help Please Ne0the1 iMac 33 Jan 8, 2013 01:02 PM
Replacing an internal hard drive with a external Seagate expansion! pooriaia MacBook Pro 3 Oct 20, 2012 08:58 PM
External Hard Drive vs Internal for 2005 iMac shenandoah iMac 2 Oct 7, 2012 10:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC