Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 29, 2010, 12:14 PM   #1
Markrad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Recording from a turntable

I have a Beogram 500 turntable. I purchased appropriate cable to connect to Rolls phono preamp. Apple store sold me iCable to run from preamp to mic input. While turntable running, I clicked record but got no signal. Can someone please tell me specific steps to accomplish my goal of getting old lp music into iTunes??? Thanks very much.

Mark
Markrad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2010, 12:15 PM   #2
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
You'll need software to help you, for free (I believe) you can use Audacity.

Edit: Just googled and found this (which looks real good and reinforces my thoughts to use Audacity):
http://www.macinstruct.com/node/131
__________________
Because I'm a smartass.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2010, 04:25 PM   #3
savanahrose
macrumors 6502a
 
savanahrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: just this side of heaven, CHARLESTON SC
Thank you for that link. I was wondering how to do that. This helps out tremendously. Now to just get off my duff and get it done.
__________________
Rose
savanahrose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2010, 06:19 PM   #4
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markrad View Post
I have a Beogram 500 turntable. I purchased appropriate cable to connect to Rolls phono preamp. Apple store sold me iCable to run from preamp to mic input. While turntable running, I clicked record but got no signal. Can someone please tell me specific steps to accomplish my goal of getting old lp music into iTunes??? Thanks very much.

Mark
What recording software are you using? Garage Band, I assume?

You need to make a real instrument tack inside GB and assign the line-in jack to the track. Possable your problem has you had the internal mic asigned?

Someone suggested Audicity. That might be simply to use. But GB comes with every Mac.

One more thing: Are you just rying to record or do you want the best audio quality? If the latter look into an extrnal USB interface
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 05:45 PM   #5
Markrad
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thanks for the comments. What is a "real instrument tack" and how is it set up? Currently, output rca cables connect the TT to the input of the preamp. The iCable runs from the output jacks to the mic input. Does that sound right? I downloaded Audacity but had no better luck getting a signal. What else should I check? Thanks for the help.

Mark
Markrad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 05:54 PM   #6
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markrad View Post
Thanks for the comments. What is a "real instrument tack" and how is it set up? Currently, output rca cables connect the TT to the input of the preamp. The iCable runs from the output jacks to the mic input. Does that sound right? I downloaded Audacity but had no better luck getting a signal. What else should I check? Thanks for the help.

Mark
FIrst you need to learn to use the software. Put awaythe turn table and preamp and simply record yo voise usinthe mac's built-in mic. Lean to edit out the parts you don't need ad both ends and save to iTunes and burn discs. Lean to set the levels right and so on. Then connect the turn table.

The cables are good unless you are after a true pro-grade recording. For normal iPod listening the Mic's input jack will be fine.

You have to select an audio input device, Select the built-in microphone. St the gain up untill it picks up some sound. Look for the "audio midi setup" app in the apps folder to make the selections.


In garage band before you can record you must first make a track (the plus button does this.) Gb allows you touse manymics and each go to it's own track. But you have just one setereo souse going to a pair of stereo tracks. So creat just one. from within GB you need to say which mic or juac goes with your new track.

Checkout Apple's web site. There are, under suport, some tutorials and of course the user manual
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting a Turntable to an iMac MrGuder iMac 1 Feb 18, 2014 03:41 AM
Recording webcam video with screen recording software? kat.hayes Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 2 Jan 3, 2014 11:41 AM
Turntable Launches People-Powered Radio App 'Piki' MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 3 Apr 13, 2013 08:31 AM
Stanton T92 Turntable Digital Output to iMac connection eskymosteez Digital Audio 1 Dec 18, 2012 09:39 PM
Turntable.fm - will there be an updated version for the new iPhone 5? 212rikanmofo iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 26, 2012 04:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC