Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:16 PM   #1
Darl Bundren
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Power outage, now iMac dead?

Hey, all. I put my i5 to sleep around midday, came home from work @ 4, and my iMac would not respond to keyboard, mouse, or power button mashing. My wife noted the power had gone out upon seeing the microwave clock.

Any idea what's up?

I checked the outlet (her Macbook was plugged into the other receptacle), and there's still power going to my machine.

Ugh.
Darl Bundren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:39 PM   #2
Sir Cecil
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
First thing to try is... unplug all peripherals like hard drives etc. Unplug the iMac at the wall outlet. Then press and hold the power button for ten seconds, then release. Then plug in the power socket and then switch on the Mac.

That's what Apple told me after my machine blacked out after a power cut and wouldn't restart. And it worked.

I must say, the iMacs do seem exceptionally sensitive to power fluctuations. I've been through this procedure three times in a few weeks, but never with any other Mac.
__________________
17" Macbook Pro (2.53, i5); 24" Apple LED Display; Apogee Duet 2-channel audio interface; Focal CMS65 powered monitors.

Last edited by Sir Cecil; Mar 30, 2010 at 07:46 PM.
Sir Cecil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:47 PM   #3
Darl Bundren
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Cecil View Post
First thing to try is... unplug all peripherals like hard drives etc. Unplug the iMac at the wall outlet. Then press and hold the power button for ten seconds, then release. Then plug in the power socket and then switch on the Mac.

That's what Apple told me after my machine blacked out after a power cut and wouldn't estart. And it worked.

I must say, the iMacs do seem exceptionally sensitive to power fluctuations. I've been through this procedure three times in a few weeks, but never with any other Mac.
I just tried it a couple of times. No dice.

The computer did make a very faint noise or two when I would depress the power button, but no life as far as I can tell.

If I have Apple Care, am I okay on this? Will they repair my machine in a situation like this that was more than likely caused by power?
Darl Bundren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:54 PM   #4
unixfool
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via ICQ to unixfool Send a message via Yahoo to unixfool
Man...

Sorry to hear your bad news. Your systems appears to be affected by the power outage. Not that it'll help you now, but you should ALWAYS invest in surge protection, especially for high end equipment. I'm betting that Applecare or the basic warranty won't cover such issues...if they don't, I'd be surprised. It should be listed somewhere in the warranty clause.
__________________
-=[ unixfool ]=-
http://whitemacbook.blogspot.com/
iMac 27" 3.06GHz | White MB CD 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD | Graphite PMac G4 500MHzx2, 1GB RAM, 100GB HDD | White iPad Mini 64GB Wifi
unixfool is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:54 PM   #5
Sir Cecil
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Well, all I'd tell them is that the machine was unresponsive when you returned home. I wouldn't tell them you suspect a power surge because a) that might be incorrect and b) it allows them to deflect blame.
You just want it operating. If it's within the return period and they can't provide a simple solution, you should be given a replacement. If it's a few months old, they're obliged to fix it.
__________________
17" Macbook Pro (2.53, i5); 24" Apple LED Display; Apogee Duet 2-channel audio interface; Focal CMS65 powered monitors.
Sir Cecil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:56 PM   #6
unixfool
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via ICQ to unixfool Send a message via Yahoo to unixfool
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Cecil View Post
Well, all I'd tell them is that the machine was unresponsive when you returned home. I wouldn't tell them you suspect a power surge because a) that might be incorrect and b) it allows them to deflect blame.
You just want it operating. If it's within the return period and they can't provide a simple solution, you should be given a replacement. If it's a few months old, they're obliged to fix it.
How in the world are they obliged to fix something like that? They aren't responsible for power damage and to instruct someone to tell a 'white' lie is kinda bad, IMO. Why would they be obliged? I'm curious, really. Why would they be obliged to fix it yet you tell the OP to lie?
__________________
-=[ unixfool ]=-
http://whitemacbook.blogspot.com/
iMac 27" 3.06GHz | White MB CD 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD | Graphite PMac G4 500MHzx2, 1GB RAM, 100GB HDD | White iPad Mini 64GB Wifi
unixfool is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:58 PM   #7
Darl Bundren
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixfool View Post
Man...

Sorry to hear your bad news. Your systems appears to be affected by the power outage. Not that it'll help you now, but you should ALWAYS invest in surge protection, especially for high end equipment. I'm betting that Applecare or the basic warranty won't cover such issues...if they don't, I'd be surprised. It should be listed somewhere in the warranty clause.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Cecil View Post
Well, all I'd tell them is that the machine was unresponsive when you returned home. I wouldn't tell them you suspect a power surge because a) that might be incorrect and b) it allows them to deflect blame.
You just want it operating. If it's within the return period and they can't provide a simple solution, you should be given a replacement. If it's a few months old, they're obliged to fix it.
I do not think it was a power surge; I think the power was interrupted at some point. I will get a surge protector; oddly enough, that outlet was the only one in the house with stereo/tv/computer stuff plugged in that was not protected.

I will take it down to the local Mac folks and tell them it was unresponsive. I'm hoping it is an easy fix.
Darl Bundren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:10 PM   #8
Darl Bundren
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Ha! It's back!

I did the unplug/power off replug/power on, but after I pushed the power button it made a faint noise, so I held the power button down again until I heard it shut down (I was holding my ear very close to the screen expecting to get electrocuted at any moment!) and then powered it back on, and it started up.

Sir Cecil, thank you for your assistance--you are indeed royalty in my book.

And unixfool, thanks for reminding me to take care of surge protection.
Darl Bundren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:10 PM   #9
Sir Cecil
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixfool View Post
How in the world are they obliged to fix something like that? They aren't responsible for power damage and to instruct someone to tell a 'white' lie is kinda bad, IMO. Why would they be obliged? I'm curious, really. Why would they be obliged to fix it yet you tell the OP to lie?

I don't see it even as a white lie. All he knows for sure is that he came home and his iMac isn't working. It's not as if there are scorch marks on the plug or anything like that. So he is guessing there might have been an outage of some kind. He should let the experts decide what's wrong with it and have them investigate the cause under warranty.
I would say that if it's within the return period, they would simply exchange it without even checking it.
If not, their diagnostics will reveal if there was a power interruption or not, so there's no need for the victim to present guesses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darl Bundren View Post
Ha! It's back!

Good. Glad all has ended happily.
__________________
17" Macbook Pro (2.53, i5); 24" Apple LED Display; Apogee Duet 2-channel audio interface; Focal CMS65 powered monitors.

Last edited by Nermal; Mar 30, 2010 at 08:26 PM. Reason: consecutive posts
Sir Cecil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:14 PM   #10
Darl Bundren
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
And, as I was shutting down my PC, I noted that there were windows updates, so I guess it'll be shutting down for the next twenty minutes.
Darl Bundren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:18 PM   #11
InfoSecmgr
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Cecil View Post
First thing to try is... unplug all peripherals like hard drives etc. Unplug the iMac at the wall outlet. Then press and hold the power button for ten seconds, then release. Then plug in the power socket and then switch on the Mac.

That's what Apple told me after my machine blacked out after a power cut and wouldn't restart. And it worked.

I must say, the iMacs do seem exceptionally sensitive to power fluctuations. I've been through this procedure three times in a few weeks, but never with any other Mac.
I wouldn't know if they are sensitive or not, I've always run mine through a UPS. Good policy no matter what the computer, right?
InfoSecmgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:44 PM   #12
Darl Bundren
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfoSecmgr View Post
I wouldn't know if they are sensitive or not, I've always run mine through a UPS. Good policy no matter what the computer, right?
Sounds like a plan.
Darl Bundren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 09:12 PM   #13
unixfool
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via ICQ to unixfool Send a message via Yahoo to unixfool
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfoSecmgr View Post
I wouldn't know if they are sensitive or not, I've always run mine through a UPS. Good policy no matter what the computer, right?
YEP!
__________________
-=[ unixfool ]=-
http://whitemacbook.blogspot.com/
iMac 27" 3.06GHz | White MB CD 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD | Graphite PMac G4 500MHzx2, 1GB RAM, 100GB HDD | White iPad Mini 64GB Wifi
unixfool is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 09:13 PM   #14
unixfool
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via ICQ to unixfool Send a message via Yahoo to unixfool
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darl Bundren View Post
Ha! It's back!

I did the unplug/power off replug/power on, but after I pushed the power button it made a faint noise, so I held the power button down again until I heard it shut down (I was holding my ear very close to the screen expecting to get electrocuted at any moment!) and then powered it back on, and it started up.

Sir Cecil, thank you for your assistance--you are indeed royalty in my book.

And unixfool, thanks for reminding me to take care of surge protection.
No prob! Glad it wasn't toast, though!
__________________
-=[ unixfool ]=-
http://whitemacbook.blogspot.com/
iMac 27" 3.06GHz | White MB CD 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD | Graphite PMac G4 500MHzx2, 1GB RAM, 100GB HDD | White iPad Mini 64GB Wifi
unixfool is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 12:09 AM   #15
ewm3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
iMac 27 'shut down'

Hi all
I have been a pc user for years but bought an iMac 7 a couple of months ago. I've had the same problem. Went to start it up this morning and nothing happened. Faint 'scratching' sound from the computer then nothing. Black screen. Checked power; all OK. We have surge protection and all other equipment is working fine. Contacted supplier and they went through the suggestions here. No joy. So, back to supplier and back to my old laptop pc!
I am disappointed that this has happened. Otherwise, its a great machine and I didn't find the learning curve too steep.
I have to say that I do miss (NOT!) the Windows updates!
Eric in Adelaide
ewm3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27" won't start up after power outage. Vuccappella iMac 14 Mar 12, 2014 04:56 AM
Automatic reboot after power outage UtahWJR Mac Pro 2 Apr 8, 2013 02:22 PM
iPad: Power outage during iPad restoration class77 iPad 4 Dec 27, 2012 05:06 AM
Dead Power Supply in 2011 iMac 21 MacSignal iMac 0 Sep 13, 2012 02:34 PM
Late 2009 iMac, Power outage, Strange behavior? ohsnap Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 18, 2012 09:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC